Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
153 Reviews
1234.980395
| 1 ... 5 6 78 |
Write A Review
November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

In April 2011 my husband was diagnosed with stage 4 cancer. A few months later he began to search for a "Forever Home" for his blue and gold macaw, Harley. We knew I couldn't keep her by myself as she would have to be home alone too much while I was at work. What a blessing FEBS and Pat Norton have been! Harley now lives in a huge 1500 sq ft outdoor home with 35 other macaws. She now flies and plays with her own kind. I miss her ( and I miss her dad) but I know both are in a better place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

As age related health issues became an issue as to how well we could provide a quality social life to Sugar (Mollucan cockatoo) we began our 2 year search for a quality home . After checking adaption ... more

April 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After 2 years of searching and investigating I found FEBS. Several visits reenforced my hopes for a sanctuary that had large flights, was clean, not overcrowded and fed the birds a great diet. I placed Sugar, Mollucan cockatoo, there to have a happy social life with room to fly and never be sold or bred. During my recent visit I was invited into the cockatoo flight where I was instantly welcomed by friendly birds that wanted to perch on me and be stroked. I know without doubt that I've placed my love of 20 years with the finest sanctuary. Bless Pat norton and her dedicated staff

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As age related health issues became an issue as to how well we could provide a quality social life to Sugar (Mollucan cockatoo) we began our 2 year search for a quality home . After checking adaption sites from Florida to Washington state we twice visited FEBS and found it to be a beatifully maintained facility staffed by hard working and very compassionate people under the leadership of Pat Norton. The adapted birds of all species enjoy a life in large flights. Surprisingly in spite of the number of birds, Pat and her staff know each one by name. Sugar was carefully introduced into a large flight with other cockatoos and is now enjoying life as a family member. This was an extremely dificult decision to part with him as we had him from the time he was a 14 gram neonate til now(22 years). It is comforting to know that he will always be fed, cared for and never be sold to anyone as a breeder or pet. Hopefully in the near future FEBS will find a larger property so they can expand their mission.Let us not forget that they need our continued support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

This is the most caring place of exotic birds I know of and I have visited a few. My beautiful sulphur is there and I know she loves being with others of her kind. My circumstances did not allow me to keep her, I was the third human she lived with. We are so glad she has a permanent home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary took in two of my Macaws when I could no longer keep them due to family illness. Now they have each bonded with a copanion and are flying free in the Macaw flight aviary. They are living as Macaws were meant to live, not in a timy cage. This is a wonderful organization!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

My sweet Jazzy now has a place to live in peace with other birds, doing bird things! Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary is a great place where people care! Thank you Pat!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

I’ve had my Blue and Gold Macaw, ‘Perikeen’, for eighteen years – nearly his entire life has been spent with me and my husband. He doesn’t care for strangers, he doesn’t like change in his routines and we enjoy his company (most of the time) and love him (all of the time). Certainly no one could accuse us of abusing him – he had three cages: one in the house where he spent his nights eating dinner and snacks with us, watching TV, doing dishes (he loved helping with the dishes!) and playing games; another was outside in a covered porch where he could see us as we came and went all day – since we work from home, he always had someone talking to him, interacting with him all day long; the last one was a large cage hanging from a tree where he could see all around him, see the sky and the ground, see the other birds and wildlife in the area, as well as see us anytime we were outside.

He pretty much had the “Life of Riley” – he’d get treats throughout the day, had interaction with us almost constantly and had more toys to play with than most children, but still we worried that he wasn’t happy. He would have screaming fits daily – just scream and scream and scream and nothing would satisfy him during those times. He would also bite us without provocation – just ‘cause he felt like it or was in a bad mood, perhaps out of frustration or boredom. I guess if I lived in a cage, or even three cages, I’d probably feel like biting someone, too.

My husband and I had discussed placing him into a sanctuary in the past – wondering if he would be happier there with the other birds, out in a large flight cage where even he, the klutziest bird known to man, might be able to fly (and land) like a real bird. But, other than do a little research online, I never pursued it – until this year. As happens with most changes in life, this one was brought on by changes in our circumstances, so, the decision was made – Perikeen would be getting a new home.

So, back to the computer I went looking up parrot sanctuaries and one that caught my attention was the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary. One reason I focused on this organization was that it was close to where I lived, so the idea of visiting Perikeen while he was there was feasible, but the most important reason they drew my attention was the obvious love and caring they exude for the birds in their care which is evident in the pictures, videos and the words of their Mission Statement.

After emailing and talking to Patricia Norton a few times, a day was set up when I could come visit the sanctuary before bringing our baby there. The thirty minute drive to the sanctuary was filled with tears and apprehension. I didn’t know what to expect, I didn’t want to make a mistake – this was my bird’s life, his future – I didn’t want to be wrong about where I placed him. I wanted him to have a long and happy life – not one lived in a small cage in a dark room somewhere with a breeder making more pet parrots or with anyone that didn’t understand his moods, who might get upset with him if he bit them or screamed at the top of his lungs for an hour straight.

“Anxious” and “emotional” didn’t begin to describe my feelings when I arrived at FEBS that afternoon. When I opened my door and stepped out of the car, I was greeted with the screeching, calling and talking of what sounded like hundreds of birds of all descriptions – it was truly amazing that this parrot ‘oasis’ exists here amongst other homes in rural Pasco County. And the neighbors complain to us about Perikeen’s screaming! Ha!

It was early spring and the temperatures were still cool – Pat had a lot of parrots in cages in the big double garage of her house. As I walked through the aisles of birds in the garage I noticed a few things:

• First, clean – all the cages were kept clean, there weren’t bird droppings or bad smells coming from the garage, despite the number of birds in there at the time.
• Second, food and water – every bird had ample food and clean water in their cage – it was obvious that they weren’t skimpy with the rations and kept the water cleaned daily.
• Third, happy – all the birds seemed perfectly happy – they talked, each with their own favorite word or phrase as you walked through, some wanted to be touched and petted – they weren’t afraid, they weren’t frightened of people.

After meeting Pat, she explained that the garage was where all the birds start out so she and her fellow bird lovers can get a feel for the bird, for their personality and to make sure they have adjusted well, are eating right and that the change has not gotten them sick. She showed me how they were kept warm in the winter and cool in the summer and how she was aware of which birds got along and which ones didn’t and arranged them accordingly. She told me the birds were left for a while in their own, familiar cages, with their own, familiar toys and food to make the transition easier.

Then, she took me on a tour of the outside cages and flights and told me stories about many of the birds, calling them by name as we went. She explained the process of transitioning the birds from the garage and getting them used to the flight cage, getting them used to being around other birds and used to the openness of it before actually releasing them (in groups so one bird doesn’t get beat up by the others) into the flight cage. The more she talked, the more impressed I was with her knowledge and her feelings for the birds – it was apparent that the sense I’d gotten of caring from the web site truly mirrored the woman running this sanctuary. I was still emotional, I couldn’t stop tears from glistening in my eyes at the thought of turning my baby over to someone else, but I felt certain that, if anyone could make my sometimes schizophrenic, klutzy, overfed, hilarious, lovable, screaming, hambone of a baby into a real bird, it would be Pat.

Finally, the day came to bring Perikeen to the sanctuary. I’d had two weeks to dwell on it, worry about it, cry over it and finally come to grips with it – Perikeen hadn’t. So, into the carrier he went – not willingly mind you, but after a few scratches and bites, he went in. His cage, toys and food went in the back of the truck and down the road we went. The trip was again filled with tears and me telling him how sorry I was that I had to do this and how much I loved him and I promised to visit him at his new home. We sang his favorite songs and I said all his favorite words and phrases as we drove to his new home. I prayed that I was doing the right thing – I hoped he would forgive me.

At the sanctuary, I expected Perikeen to be trembling and nervous – he hates change and hasn’t even SEEN another parrot in the last 18 years, but, to my shock and amazement, he seemed curious and happy. We got his cage set up and he settled in it, talking animatedly to me, Pat and Magic – her amazing helper. Magic showed me the scars, scrapes and bites on his arms from the birds and laughed – “love bites” he called them – amazing. For his part, Perikeen didn’t offer to bite anyone (although Pat didn’t give him much of a chance – she’s no dummy!); he looked around at the other birds and asked everyone “how are ya doin’?” as he bobbed his head up and down while his pupils contracted and expanded with excitement usually reserved for sugary treats.

When I finally got in my car to leave, I yelled “Bye!” to him out the window and he told me “Bye! B-Bye!” over and over as I drove out the gate. I cried all the way home, but at the same time I was really hopeful that he’d be happy there. His initial reaction wasn’t what I had expected – he wasn’t scared, he wasn’t trembling – he seemed joyful and curious. The time that Magic and Pat spent with him, with us, gave me confidence that, if anything did happen – if he wasn’t adjusting, they would know it and tell me and I could come and get him and bring him back home.

For the next few days I got emails from Pat telling me that he was doing well – he was eating, he was talking . . . he was doing fine. I didn’t go back to see him, I was afraid that if I did that it would somehow disrupt this period of adjustment for him, but Pat keep me in the loop on his progress and assured me that he was doing fine. Over time, she moved him from his cage in the garage to one of the smaller cages in the flight pen, then one day she emailed to say that she’d let him out into the large flight. I was amazed – it had only been a little over a month. She said he was well suited to it because he wasn’t timid – timid birds took longer, but Perikeen was perfect – he was doing really well.

I waited a while longer before going to visit him – I wanted him to be comfortable in the flight pen before I went there to see him; again afraid that I might disrupt his progress, which sounded amazing. Finally, a day came and I took that drive again – this time there were no tears, only hopeful anticipation and perhaps a little apprehension. Would he even remember me? It sounded like he’d come so far – changed so much, I wondered if he’d remember me at all. It would be ok if he didn’t, as long as he was happy, but it would also be sad . . . like one of your children moving out on their own – it’s both a happy and a sad occasion.

Pat walked with me to the flight pen and we entered together. There were several B&G’s in there and I wondered how in the world I’d be able to tell which one he was – they all looked pretty much the same. We eliminated a few that Pat knew for sure weren’t him and that left only a couple of possibilities. I walked towards the first one and called his name, but that one scurried up the wire of the tall cage and away from me. “I hope that wasn’t him!” I thought before turning to the other one who was perched at the highest point of the cage on the opposite wall. As I turned around and called his name again, that one started bobbing his head up and down and I knew – that was my baby! Then he asked, “How are ya’ doin’?!” and there was no doubt left. My baby, my klutz of a bird that had never been off the ground more than six feet, was up at the top of a twenty foot cage looking down at me! How cool is that!?

I walked over and placed my hand against the wire and called him and he climbed all the way down to get on my hand as if we’d never been apart. As I rained kisses down on his head he half whispered-half hissed, “kisses, kisses, kisses . .” to me. Perikeen and I sat and ‘talked’ for nearly an hour in the flight cage. I sat down, he perched calmly on my leg and I pulled out one of his favorites – cucumber. To my surprise, he didn’t want it – he wanted to play the old game: You give it to me and I throw it down and make you pick it up and we do that for as long as the human is dumb enough to keep doing it . . .  As we sat there playing the ‘toss down – pick up’ game, two other Blue and Golds flew down and landed on my shoulders! Oh my goodness! THEY wanted the cucumber, even if Perikeen didn’t! So, I gave them each a piece and we all four sat there enjoying each other’s company for a good while.

The entire time I was there with him, Perikeen never once offered to bite me, never once screamed, didn’t mind the other macaws there with us, wasn’t scared, wasn’t intimidated – he was happy. It was like he was welcoming me to his new home – showing me around, introducing me to his new friends. He had lost some weight, he had gained muscle – he looked good, healthy and strong and he acted like this was where he belonged. At that moment I knew I had done the right thing – I probably should have done it sooner, for his sake, but it was one of the hardest and scariest things I’ve ever done in my life. Sometimes we need some larger force to push us to overcome our fears, to do the scary thing – that’s what happened to me. Looking back, I wish I’d had the courage to do the right thing for HIM sooner, even if it was painful for a while (isn’t change always painful?) the payoff was more than worth it.

When the time came to leave, I took Perikeen and kissed him goodbye, told him I loved him and tossed him up into the air. He flew across the cage and landed on the opposite side of the enclosure – it was the first time I’d seen him actually fly in all of his eighteen years. He was a real bird, now – finally – and my heart expanded with the joy of it. Knowing that, even though it wasn’t the life he was made for – flying free, foraging and living in the jungles of South America, it was so much closer to that life than he’d ever been before – closer than I would have ever been able to get him without the FEBS and their wonderful, knowledgeable and caring staff.

I didn’t need his forgiveness, after all . . . except, perhaps, for not allowing him this freedom sooner.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Trixi & Beaker are my feathered children. Both Scarlet Macaws, we as a family have been "snow-birding" between NY and FL for a number of years. They were troopers, suffering through the 21-23 hr drive not once, but twice yearly! They enjoy lots of outdoor time in FL and a little flight time here, but when we get to NY, they get a nice view, but no outdoor or flight time :( Beaker, the male in the pair, is a picker... basically, he's naked except for his tail, wing an head feathers. This year we found out about FEBS and decided our kids deserved summer camp! We went to the sanctuary, not 15 minutes from our FL home, and toured the facility and met Pat. INSTANTLY I knew my babies would have a GREAT SUMMER and I knew where they would be able to go should something arise that we could no longer care for them. WHAT RELIEF! I know there are MANY, MANY birds living among we humans that suffer a long, boring, if not worse, life. I believe Pat and the entire FEBS organization are doing a fabulous thing offering birds (and their humans) an opportunity to live a HAPPY and HEALTHY bird's life! Dana & Tom T.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

We feel very fortunate that we were able to place our Maccaw Sky at the Santcuary. We had him for Eight years and love him dearly but felt that he was not happy in our house and was becoming very aggressive. Because of our jobs we were spending more time away from home. I searched for over a year to find a better home for him and prayed for the right answer. If I gave him to another owner I was afraid he would end up getting passed from person to person and he would still not be happy or end up abused. Being able to place Sky at the Sanctuary I feel that my prayers were answered. He is much happier being with the other birds and is well taken care of there. I can't say enough about the staff and the care Sky has recieved since he has been at the sanctuary. My hope is that they will be able to expand so that many other birds can find a happy home there and they will have all the resources that they need.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

My Muloccan Cockatoo, Sydney was with me for over 15 years,then came Gabriel, a gorgeous blue and gold Macaw, and his friend Seth, a small ring neck parrot...they were given to me by another girl who could no longer care for them. We all happily moved to Florida, where I envisioned a happier, warmer climate for them, and me, and a lot more freedom. It wasn't the case, as I didn't have the time, (or neighbors patience) to devote to them. I found FEBS and Pat, and I was amazed at the beauty, and cleanliness of the area, and impressed by her and the staffs dedication to the birds.And the determination and visions for even more space and freedom for these beautiful birds. Although at times I miss them I know they are happier here, and well taken care of. And we can visit them anytime. Thank you FEBS !!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

Our wonderful cockatoo, Ito, who was part of our family for more than 25 years moved to his new home in January of 2011. We were extremely fortunate to find this sanctuary which we researched and visited before making our selection. I cannot speak highly enough of Pat and her dedication to the birds. She treats each one as a unique individual. Our bird is now a much more relaxed and happy animal and every time I visit I become more reassured that this was the best decision for him. It is a great place with a dedicated wonderful staff and volunteers. We still miss him but know that he is happy and in good hands.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Learn about and interact with over 300 Rescued Parrots! Volunteer