Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
150 Reviews
1234.985
| 1 ... 4 5 6...8 |
Write A Review
November 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

FEBS is a life saver! For years I hoped that one day my Blue and Golds would be able to be as they were born to be....FREE...Freedom to fly and just be birds not prisoners.......I flew my 2 Blue and Golds and a 55 year old Green Wing from CA to FEBS in Florida and stayed a week myself as they got settled into their new forever home. I am so happy to see them as happy as they are. I have gone back to visit twice since they moved to their forever home and one of the Blue and Golds and the Green Wing have fallen madly in love while in the big flight cage and will not even come to me now! This is exactly what I wished for them, to be birds and not attached to any one human..........FEBS is the only sanctuary I know that will not adopt out or breed so I know my babies will be forever happy! :) I thank Pat for being so understanding and allowing about people visiting their birds. That was also a big factor in my decision because many so called sanctuarys will not let anyone on the premisies. I can't wait to see them again very soon! Summer, Southern California

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Harley, a beautiful Jenday Conure, lived with my husband and me for fifteen years. Most of those years were filled with the love and attention of children, grandchildren, other family, and friends as well as our love, care and devotion. Harley was out of his cage most of the time and had the run of our home...he was used to some freedom. After we both retired, we moved a few hundred miles away from friends and family. We began taking long trips; sometimes we could bring Harley, many times we could not. We found neighbors and a pet shop and a vet hospital where he could stay; however, he was never out of his cage on these occassions and he was with strangers. We finally decided we were not being fair to him, forcing him to live in a cage most of the time, especially with strangers. So, I started looking on-line and I found the Florida Exotic Bird Sancutary. I contacted Pat and she was wonderful, assuring me that releasing Harley in the sanctuary would be freeing him to be a bird again, and not a pet! My husband and I went to the sanctuary on our next trip to Florida. We were so happy with the way Pat put Harley's cage by another conure and said he would be slowly released when he was comfortable with other birds. The Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary is a blessing for all those birds that are ready to be free. Thank you Pat and all your helpers for all you do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

When I became pregnant with our first child, I knew it was time to find our 25+ DYH Amazon a new home. He would scream constantly and was very aggressive towards me, although not my husband, since this was his bird. I did not realize just how unhappy my bird was until I started researching sanctuaries and came across FEBS. Once you think about it, it makes perfect sense. Birds are not meant to be caged. Even though the website looked great, I was still very hesitant to take my bird to a sanctuary. I just wasn't sure what would really go on there and would my bird truly be happy there. However, I didn't want to just pass him along to another family who would eventually get burnt out of him, so in the end I chose FEBS for Dinero's forever home. I am so glad I did. Pat dedicates her life to caring for those birds. I truly knew I made the right decision when we went to visit the sanctuary a year later and Dinero did know us, but seemed absolutely happy and didn't seem to miss us at all! Thank you FEBS!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It was heartbreaking to realize that it wasn't fair to keep our Goffin Cuckatoo any longer. We tried everything to keep her happy at our home but realized that is was unfair to her. After carefully and diligently researching sanctuaries for our bird we felt confidant that we made the right decision to set her "free" at FEBS. I couldn't believe how compassionate, educated and dedicated Pat Norton was these beautiful birds. She is truly an angel to our feathered friends.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Hello There !! That is the only thing my beautiful ring-necked parrot can say, but I listened for it every morning and it started my day off with a smile---one of the most difficult decisions I have ever had to make was to find a new home for Samantha when I could no longer take care of her. I I could not bear the thought of her being caged since she had been able to fly in the past 10 years in her own room--I am sure I was led to find THE FLORIDA EXOTIC BIRD SANCTUARY on the internet, and after learning about this wonderful group of people who take care of sick-mistreated birds- and those who need a new home, I was so relieved and delighted ---!! Sam has been with FEBS for 16 months now and is happy-being able to fly free as all birds should. I thank God for FEBS--and hope they can expand their facilities tp allow many more birds to fly free !!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Aussie, a wild caught Moluccan cockatoo, was provided sanctuary by Pat Norton and the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary in February of 2009. Unlike most cockatoo's, in her 20+ years she had only one home before she came to live with me. Wanting the best situation for her, I began looking for a sanctuary where she could live her life on her terms, being a bird with others of her own species. After talking to a number of sanctuaries and visiting those I could, I found FEBS and Aussie's new home! Pat is one of those special, unselfish people who does much more than provide a home for birds. She is involved in the community and goes into the schools. The sanctuary would like to build more of the large flights that the macaws currently enjoy and I hope she gets the support she deserves to provide more birds with the joy of flight. Please consider donating to FEBS and providing the help these birds need.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

My little Hahn's macaw has been with Pat for over a year now. he is very happy! I lo0ve visiting.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I HAD TWO RESCUED BIRDS FOR 14 YEARS AND AS PART OF MY RESCUE I LET THEM FREE FLY. THEY LIVED IN MY GARAGE WITH THIER OPENED CAGES AND DURING THE DAY WITH THE GARAGE DOORS OPENED. THEY LOVED TO HANG OUT IN THE BACK YARD AND HAD, I THINK, A WONDERFUL LIFE (I HAD TO GO AND GET THEM MANY TIMES AFTER FLYING AWAY). MY AGE MADE ME LOOK FOR A PERMANENT HOME FOR THEM. I PICKED THIS SANCTUARY BECAUSE IT WAS CLEAN , PROVIDED GOOD FOOD, AND HAD A BIG FLIGHT CAGE WITH MANY BIRDS FOR MY SANCHEZ. I WANTED A YEARS TRIAL PERIOD AND MY FIRST VISIT AFTER 3 MONTHS CONVINCED ME THAT I MADE THE RIGHT CHOICE. MY BIRDS KNEW ME AND CAME TO ME RIGHT AWAY. WE LOVED EACH OTHER...... BUT THEN THEY LET ME KNOW THAT THEY WERE HAPPY. THEY LIKED BEING WITH THE OTHER BIRDS . I CAME AWAY SATISFIED THAT I MADE THE RIGHT DECISION. I EXPECT MY FUTURE VISITS WILL CONFIRM THIS BELIEF.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

We sold our house and moved full time in our RV and were going to be doing a lot of traveling and could not take Harley, our 8yr old Double Yellow Head Amazon with us. We found FEBS and Pat and couldn't be happier with our choice. Harley is blooming with her new mate Oliver and she is getting all the fresh air and attention she deserves.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

In April 2011 my husband was diagnosed with stage 4 cancer. A few months later he began to search for a "Forever Home" for his blue and gold macaw, Harley. We knew I couldn't keep her by myself as she would have to be home alone too much while I was at work. What a blessing FEBS and Pat Norton have been! Harley now lives in a huge 1500 sq ft outdoor home with 35 other macaws. She now flies and plays with her own kind. I miss her ( and I miss her dad) but I know both are in a better place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 4 5 6...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Learn about and interact with over 300 Rescued Parrots! Volunteer