Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
140 Reviews
1234.978575
| 1 ... 3 4 5...8 |
Write A Review
November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

There are not enough words of praise in the dictionary to describe how I feel about this sanctuary. Ms. Norton has been more than generous with her time with me explaining exactly how the sanctuary operated and how my precious bird would be handled on his arrival. I had raised this bird from the egg and our bond was obvious to anyone who saw us. Unfortunately, that all ended when he reached sexual maturity. As year after year passed, I knew that I wanted more for him than life in a cage and little interaction with humans or other birds. What I found at Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary was a place that was peaceful with a natural environment where birds could fly free and do what they do best...be birds!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We have two FIDS (feathered kids) Mango, an Eclectus Parrot and Kiko a Blue Throated Macaw. They stayed at FEBS, in the boarding facility for two months this year while we were remodeling our townhome. It was not easy for us to leave them, even if it was temporary. After we dropped them off, I left in tears feeling so sorry for all the birds that were there abandoned by their owners. We came back each weekend to visit our birds and during that time we got to know Pat and her staff and got to see what good people they were and how much they cared about all the parrots. I discovered how wrong I was to think the birds were abandoned. They had instead moved on to find many new feather friends! Thanks to Pat and her staff for making the Sanctuary truely a place where a bird is free "to just be a bird". When the time comes that we can no longer care for our birds, I know they will have a very good home at FEBS.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We owned two wonderful, robust Moluccan cockatoos, Jiminy and Cricket, who have life expectancies longer than ours. They were just reaching their prime, andwe were beginning to show our years. They were wearing us out! For more than a year, we searched for a good home for them, but found nobody who had the commitment to give them a loving place to live for a long time. Finally we found FLORIDA EXOTIC BIRD SANCTUARY on the internet. We drove up to Wesley Chapel, and were delighted with what we saw! Jiminy and Cricket have been living at FEBS for several years now, and we and they couldn't be happier! There's nothing like FEBS in Florida. It deserves your support in every way you can think of! Nickie and Jim Haggart, Fort Myers, FL.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We had a blue and gold Macaw named Tango who now resides with the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary. We love our bird but realized that he needed more space and socialization. After talking with FEBS staff extensively and visiting we felt it was a good fit for him. They do so much for these magnificent animals that I highly recommend that you support them in their mission.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

FEBS is a life saver! For years I hoped that one day my Blue and Golds would be able to be as they were born to be....FREE...Freedom to fly and just be birds not prisoners.......I flew my 2 Blue and Golds and a 55 year old Green Wing from CA to FEBS in Florida and stayed a week myself as they got settled into their new forever home. I am so happy to see them as happy as they are. I have gone back to visit twice since they moved to their forever home and one of the Blue and Golds and the Green Wing have fallen madly in love while in the big flight cage and will not even come to me now! This is exactly what I wished for them, to be birds and not attached to any one human..........FEBS is the only sanctuary I know that will not adopt out or breed so I know my babies will be forever happy! :) I thank Pat for being so understanding and allowing about people visiting their birds. That was also a big factor in my decision because many so called sanctuarys will not let anyone on the premisies. I can't wait to see them again very soon! Summer, Southern California

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Harley, a beautiful Jenday Conure, lived with my husband and me for fifteen years. Most of those years were filled with the love and attention of children, grandchildren, other family, and friends as well as our love, care and devotion. Harley was out of his cage most of the time and had the run of our home...he was used to some freedom. After we both retired, we moved a few hundred miles away from friends and family. We began taking long trips; sometimes we could bring Harley, many times we could not. We found neighbors and a pet shop and a vet hospital where he could stay; however, he was never out of his cage on these occassions and he was with strangers. We finally decided we were not being fair to him, forcing him to live in a cage most of the time, especially with strangers. So, I started looking on-line and I found the Florida Exotic Bird Sancutary. I contacted Pat and she was wonderful, assuring me that releasing Harley in the sanctuary would be freeing him to be a bird again, and not a pet! My husband and I went to the sanctuary on our next trip to Florida. We were so happy with the way Pat put Harley's cage by another conure and said he would be slowly released when he was comfortable with other birds. The Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary is a blessing for all those birds that are ready to be free. Thank you Pat and all your helpers for all you do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

When I became pregnant with our first child, I knew it was time to find our 25+ DYH Amazon a new home. He would scream constantly and was very aggressive towards me, although not my husband, since this was his bird. I did not realize just how unhappy my bird was until I started researching sanctuaries and came across FEBS. Once you think about it, it makes perfect sense. Birds are not meant to be caged. Even though the website looked great, I was still very hesitant to take my bird to a sanctuary. I just wasn't sure what would really go on there and would my bird truly be happy there. However, I didn't want to just pass him along to another family who would eventually get burnt out of him, so in the end I chose FEBS for Dinero's forever home. I am so glad I did. Pat dedicates her life to caring for those birds. I truly knew I made the right decision when we went to visit the sanctuary a year later and Dinero did know us, but seemed absolutely happy and didn't seem to miss us at all! Thank you FEBS!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It was heartbreaking to realize that it wasn't fair to keep our Goffin Cuckatoo any longer. We tried everything to keep her happy at our home but realized that is was unfair to her. After carefully and diligently researching sanctuaries for our bird we felt confidant that we made the right decision to set her "free" at FEBS. I couldn't believe how compassionate, educated and dedicated Pat Norton was these beautiful birds. She is truly an angel to our feathered friends.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Hello There !! That is the only thing my beautiful ring-necked parrot can say, but I listened for it every morning and it started my day off with a smile---one of the most difficult decisions I have ever had to make was to find a new home for Samantha when I could no longer take care of her. I I could not bear the thought of her being caged since she had been able to fly in the past 10 years in her own room--I am sure I was led to find THE FLORIDA EXOTIC BIRD SANCTUARY on the internet, and after learning about this wonderful group of people who take care of sick-mistreated birds- and those who need a new home, I was so relieved and delighted ---!! Sam has been with FEBS for 16 months now and is happy-being able to fly free as all birds should. I thank God for FEBS--and hope they can expand their facilities tp allow many more birds to fly free !!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Aussie, a wild caught Moluccan cockatoo, was provided sanctuary by Pat Norton and the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary in February of 2009. Unlike most cockatoo's, in her 20+ years she had only one home before she came to live with me. Wanting the best situation for her, I began looking for a sanctuary where she could live her life on her terms, being a bird with others of her own species. After talking to a number of sanctuaries and visiting those I could, I found FEBS and Aussie's new home! Pat is one of those special, unselfish people who does much more than provide a home for birds. She is involved in the community and goes into the schools. The sanctuary would like to build more of the large flights that the macaws currently enjoy and I hope she gets the support she deserves to provide more birds with the joy of flight. Please consider donating to FEBS and providing the help these birds need.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

| 1 ... 3 4 5...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Learn about and interact with over 300 Rescued Parrots! Volunteer