Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
153 Reviews
1234.980395
Write A Review
April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Not only do we donate but my baby actually lives there now. It's a great thing that febs is doing for all those birds. I have been a couple of times to visit and if I lived closer I would definitely volunteer. All the volunteers I have met are wonderful and Patricia is amazing. The fact that they don't breed or adopt out is why I chose them this way I knew he had a forever home. They also put birds in colonies together so it's a more natural habitat. If I ever win the lotto I would buy them the new land so they could continue to save more birds. Lots of love to febs!!!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

FEBS has been a godsend. My wife and are are getting on in age and will be retiring out of the Country. Taking our African Grey Parrots Samantha and Moe was not an option without putting them through months of quarantine. We searched high and low and came across this fabulous sanctuary. No doubt about it, giving up our parrots was definitely one of the most heart breaking experiences of our lives-- similar to the feeling one has when experiencing the death of a loved one-- it leaves a big hole in your heart. But meeting Pat and touring the facility took away a lot of the pain. We know our parrots are in good hands and a lot happier being with their own species. We now know that when we are long gone from this Earth, our parrots will be taken care of in good hands. We think of our parrots everyday. We raised our Grey Samantha for 20 years since she was a tiny baby. We rescued our Grey Moe from a very bad situation two years ago (his previous owner abandoned him to a dark secluded room after her husband died-- she said Moe was the husband's bird and she didn't know how to care for him). Parrots are very special and precious creatures and should never be sold as pets. They belong in the jungle! Pat understands this and is committed to keeping them from breeding in captivity. We are relieved to know that our parrots Samantha and Moe will not be sold, adopted, forced to perform tricks, or used for breeding. Instead they will be housed in large outdoor aviaries with other birds and allowed to enjoy the sun and rain as nature intended.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

FEBS saved my bird's life. I was Maggie's fifth owner (that we know of). My nephew had rescued this green mealy parrot about 6 years ago. The bird was a psychological basket case and most of his body feathers had been self-plucked. I adopted him about 3 years ago to see if he could be tamed and handled. His physical condition had improved but his mind was still damaged. In good conscious, I could not sell or even give him away to another owner. I thought my only option was to have him put to sleep. Then I discovered FEBS. What great people, providing such a needed service in our community; a safe, loving home for life for unwanted exotic birds!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Peewee, my African Grey parrot is now living at FEBS. I took him there exactly a week ago so he is still "acclimating". At first I was very sad to leave him but he actually warned me very clearly NOT to take him home when I tried to take him out of his cage to say goodbye! He must have been loving the sound of the other LOUD parrots also in the acclimation room.
I have had Peewee for 15 years, since he was a hand-fed baby. He has been a really BIG part of my life and our family, going to school with me when I taught, eating with the family, moving from room to room and perch to perch, hanging out on the porch, teasing my sons, and traveling on vacations. My sons have all grown and gone. I am the only one of his "flock" left at home and more and more I realized that I was not giving him all that he needed plus I knew I needed to make arrangements for him should anything happen to me. Parrots almost always outlive their "owners" and quite often family members are understandably not willing to care for "the bird".
No matter how much I loved him, fed him well, cared for all his needs (and more) I still would never be able to let him be a "bird", flighted, socializing with others of his own kind, hanging out with African Greys!
When I found FEBS I realized it was exactly what I had been searching for. What a JOY to see how well he will be taken care of as well as to know he will fly with a flock of African Grey Parrots ! I can't wait to see this happen and one of the BEST things is that I can stay involved in his life. I'll be driving over about once a month, bringing toys I am making for all the birds, baking "birdie" bread for everyone and spending time in his flight cage as well as lending a hand for the day wherever needed.
I can';t say enough about how welcomed I felt when I toured there and when I took Peewee.
Since leaving him last week I have spoken and texted with Pat to hear how he is doing. (He is in his own cage from home, eating, chewing his toys and has begun his fabulous barking-he has several dog barks and a great cat meow!) I am looking forward to being there as they put him in the aviary, to see him eventually fly, make new friends and maybe even fall in love! They will never breed or adopt the birds out so my choice of FEBS for his life will stay that way.
Peewee is lucky. His sponsorship will be taken care of for life. Please considering sponsoring some of the other birds who have so generously and lovingly been rescued by this great sanctuary.
I am looking forward with excitement ( and, yes, nostalgia) to this new adventure for both me and my companion bird!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was pretty heart broken that I couldn't tolerate living with my screaming Sun Conure. He was a great little bird, very loving and well behaved. But his screaming became unbearable and we had to find him a new home. I was so unsure about handing him off to a stranger, but once we visited FEBS and saw the other Sun Conures flying in their cage I knew he deserved the chance to just be a bird. Patricia was great and she rassured us he would be ok. I was so amazed at the attention given to the birds and was surprised to see every available space in her kitchen taken up by fresh produce, fruit, and nuts. Patricia and her volunteers are dedicated to giving these birds the best life possible. Although we will never own another bird, we will always be a supporter of FEBS and all they do for exotic birds. We hope to see them meet all their financial goals this year. They deserve it!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am so happy I found febs. It is my parrots new home. So glad they too him into there family and I know he is loved and happy! Thank you so very much febs for all your love and hard work for these animals. I wish I could visit marcus more. Looking at pictures just dont do justice. But they let me know that he is in great hands. Cant thank febs enough! Miss you marcus but glad has to see how great your life has become.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After living with our African Grey for 23 years, my husband came to the conclusion that our parrot deserved to live the rest of her life in the most natural and safe environment we could provide. After extensive research, Inez has been at the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary for the past 3 years and is positively thriving! Thank you, Pat, your staff and volunteers for the amazing work you do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We found Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary via the internet. We were the proud owners of Paco, a beautiful Double Yellow Head Amazon. We picked him out when he looked like an embryo! We loved, spoiled and lived him for about 17 years. We started looking for a home for him when he constantly ran us out of the house with his constant screaming. If I wasn't holding him, he was screaming.

We wanted to be sure he had a good home and would not be abused or passed around from one home to another. We made a visit to Pat's place after finding it on the internet. My husband and I knew this would be a good home for Paco and he would actually be able to be a bird for a change! Relatively free to fly and interact with others of his species.

We both cried leaving him and every time we go for a visit, I cry but I know he is in an awesome place where he will be taken care of and can live out his days comfortably.

We are so grateful to Pat & all her volunteers for the great work they do with these birds.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 14, 2012

I wasn't ready to deal with it but I knew I was going to be way too ill to take care of my Amazon parrot. She is adorable but doesn't like to be alone Pat and the staff made the transition as painle... more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I "rescued" my parrot from a pet store when she was less than six months old I did my best to provide the best care possible for my bird Unfortunately not being able to be home most of the time led to an unhappy bird It was a hard decision to place her but it has turned out to be the best possible solution the place and the people are fantastic

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

I wasn't ready to deal with it but I knew I was going to be way too ill to take care of my Amazon parrot. She is adorable but doesn't like to be alone Pat and the staff made the transition as painless as possible for me I can now feel comfortable knowing my friend will be safe and cared for They havemade an impossible situation possible

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 7, 2012

We had the opportunity to make the right decision for our difficult Umbrella Cockatoo to place him with Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary and we are lucky enough to be able to visit him. I did alot or re... more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Our family has had the blessing of being able to visit our Umbrella Cockatoo Bogie at FEBS for over a year now. Bogie is doing wonderful and the work and effort that FEBS has put into the birds and property in the last year is unbelievable. This group is truly "in it for the birds". The quality of care, housing and interaction with the birds by FEBS is too great to put into words.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012

We had the opportunity to make the right decision for our difficult Umbrella Cockatoo to place him with Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary and we are lucky enough to be able to visit him. I did alot or research before placing him and after meeting Pat and seeing the care and professionalism that are involved at FEBS we know in our hearts that our feathered baby will live out the rest of his life as he was meant to. Because we get to make monthly visits I can attest to the care, cleanliness and compassion all of the birds get.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Learn about and interact with over 300 Rescued Parrots! Volunteer