Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
153 Reviews
1234.980395
Write A Review
May 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 17, 2012

I placed my Sun Conure, Cheeto, with FEBS just this morning. While I am heartbroken that I will no longer have her in my daily life, I am thrilled to have found such an amazing place for her. I 'owned... more

May 9, 2013

It's been less than a year since I took my Sun Conure 'Cheeto' to FEBS. When I made the decision to place her with FEBS I was devastated because I worried she wouldn't be happy--that she would miss me and couldn't possibly live without me. BOY WAS I WRONG! Cheeto is now in a LARGE flight cage with other conures and is doing GREAT! I went to visit her last weekend and she remembered me, gave me kisses, and sat on my shoulder. It was bittersweet but I will never regret placing her at FEBS. Patricia and her staff are truly amazing, they go out of their way to keep you updated on your bird and do everything they can to get other birds sponsored. I'm just happy that Cheeto and all the other lucky birds at FEBS can just be birds.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 17, 2012

I placed my Sun Conure, Cheeto, with FEBS just this morning. While I am heartbroken that I will no longer have her in my daily life, I am thrilled to have found such an amazing place for her. I 'owned' Cheeto for nearly 3 years and she was so irrevocably bonded to me that she would have nothing to do with anyone else. If she was not perched on my shoulder at all times she was screaming and calling out for me. Needless to say this caused problems during the work week and I ended up realizing that my keeping her was selfish. She deserves the kind of care and life she will be getting with FEBS--a life I could never have provided for her. Thank GOD for FEBS! I am so happy to have found FEBS and Patricia.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

Our Blue and Gold maccaw, Lola, had been spending time outside of her cage most of her life until one day she flew off and we had trouble getting her back. After that, she was inside of her cage and seemed to hate that, and so did we. My heart ached for her and I did some research online and found that Florida Exotic Sanctuary was our best chance of providing her an environment that is the closest she'll ever be to her natural environment; however, the idea of not seeing her everyday was sad for me so we started by leaving her there for a week, and then came to visit her, then two weeks up to four weeks. After the trial period she seemed so happy and relaxed, it would have been a sin to take her out of that environment. Thanks to Patty, her patience with us and her love and understanding of these birds we could come to terms with parting with our bird and understand that she needs more than just human interaction to be happy. She can now fly, she is among others of her kind and she is blossoming like she would have never had she stayed in the environment that we were able to provide. Thanks, FEBS! Thanks, Patty!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

This is a wonderful refuge for exotic birds that have lost their homes. The birds intermingle with their own species, are well fed, and have large flight cages that are clean and well maintained. I ... more

April 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

What a wonderful organization. I had to part with two of my birds and was thrilled to find this sanctuary. I feel good knowing my brid babies are living in a humane and natural bird habituate. The owner is compasionate and dedicated to allowing birds to be birds with cages large enough for them to spread their wings. I personally do not feel it should be legal to breed and keep exotic birds as pets, but for those that are here we should do what we can to create a safe and caring environment.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

This is a wonderful refuge for exotic birds that have lost their homes. The birds intermingle with their own species, are well fed, and have large flight cages that are clean and well maintained. I applaud the good deeds, dedication and hard work necessary to make this operation a success.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My Sulphur Cockatoo had no place to go because we moved to a smaller home and it was quite difficult to keep her in our small living room in her large cage. We had fostered her in the hope to find a forever home but were disappointed when we started looking untill we visited FEBS. We were impressed at the concern for the birds by the cartaker and finally we knew we had found our "SNOW" a forever home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My Moluccan Cockatoo, Snuggles, lived with me for seven years. I love him dearly. For a cockatoo, Snuggles is the most well behaved I have ever seen., I love him dearly. I truly thought we would be together forever. But then my daughter moved back in unexpectedly, and shortly thereafter my grandson was born. My grandson has several health issues, asthma for one, being allergic to birds another. When his pediatrician diagnosed him, I knew I had to find a place for Snuggles to live out the rest of his life. I would not give him to a stranger and no one I knew and trusted would take him. I had to find a place where I knew he would be safe and happy. It took awhile, but I came across the FEBS website. I knew this was the place for Snuggs. The sanctuary is very far from me, I live in Holly Hill, Florida, and I knew when I placed him I would probably not get to see him very often. Eventually I decided not to be selfish and do what's best for Snuggles. At FEBS, Snuggles is with other Moluccans in a very large, clean outdoor enclosure. He has a girfriend named Cami-Sue. He can scream as loud and as long as he wants to. Basically, he gets to be a bird, not a pet. He's happy and I could not ask for anything more. I have peice of mind and that is priceless.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We have an umbrella cockatoo named Aussie. When we first purchased Aussie as a baby, we were naive of the needs of an adult umbrella cockatoo. As Aussie got older, and started exhibiting typical mature big bird behaviors it became apparent that we would be unable to accomodate him in a residential neighborhood. He needed room to just be a bird. We made the difficult decision to start looking for an appropriate home for Aussie. I had read some real horror stories of birds that for whatever reason had to leave their first home and then went the rounds of owner to owner and or pet shop, ofter with terrible results. He deserved more than that. Then I found FEBS on the internet. Within a few days, I talked with Pat and arranged a visit of the facility. My wife and I were immediately struck by the pleasant grounds and facilties. The birds had room to stretch their wings and fly and squawk. The more we talked to Pat and heard and saw her vision for a "forever home" and a true sanctuary for the birds, we knew that we had found a home for Aussie. Aussie has been at FEBS for several months now and whenever I go to visit him, he appears healthy and seems quite happy. I can not say enough good things about FEBS and Pat. I go there as often as I can to volunteer my building skills and will continue to do so because I believe in what FEBS is doing for our feathered friends.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Words cannot express the gratitude my family and I feel when it comes to Pat and everyone at FEBS. Picture having to place a beloved family member in a "home" because you can no longer care for them. The anxiety, heartbreak, and worry can be overwhelming. This is what my family experienced when we realized we could not longer care for our African Grey Parrot. We found FEBS online and contacted Pat. From our very first communication with her, we felt like we were corresponding with a family member.
We paid a visit to the sanctuary and spent about 2 hours with Pat . She comforted us when we cried and made us laugh at some of the stories behind the birds at FEBS. I don't know who she does it, but Pat knows each bird by name and their back story! Amazing!
After much thought we decided the best place for our parrot would be at FEBS. We have never regretted the decision....wish we would have found FEBS sooner. FEBS is life changing....not just for the birds that come to live in the sanctuary, but for people like me and my family we LOVE our animals but through circumstances beyond our control, we could no longer keep our parrot.
The best part is that we are able to visit anytime we want and we feel as part of the great organization!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I had a vision of finding bird paradise for my Blue Crowned Conure, Skipper, a year ago, and was fortunate to discover and become involved with FEBS. FEBS's mission of allowing birds to be birds in a natural habitat was aligned with my vision, and when meeting Pat, I soon realized that FEBS was the real deal. It has been wonderful to see my Conure acclimated to his new large cage with other birds in his pecking order, and to see that he has now bonded with a mate. His acclimation process took several months and was carefully managed by Pat and her expertise. I am delighted to be my bird's on-going sponsor and to be welcomed as a support to this extraordinary sanctuary that has a broad vision of expansion and education. This nonprofit is a gem that deserves to be well-funded so that it can fulfill it's important to improve the plight of our extraordinary feathered friends. LWM

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We have been searching for a safe, well maintained sanctuary in which to place our three birds who will outlive us. Our biggest fear was that they would be shuttled from home to home at the whim of new owners who don't understand birds or their needs. The Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary is everything we could hope for. When I visited I found the birds well fed and happy with toys to play with and companions of their own species. They all looked fully feathered and well adjusted. We are confident we couldn't find a better place for a forever home for our three feathered children.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

A rare and needed gift for birds that are no longer able to reside with their human companions. The work that FEBS does to assist those birds that have lost their people is priceless and selfless. The world is a better place for our feathered friends becuase FEBS cares enough to make that so! Keep up the great work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Learn about and interact with over 300 Rescued Parrots! Volunteer