Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
156 Reviews
1234.980775
Write A Review
March 31, 2015

more

March 31, 2015

I love Patricia and all the people at Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary. They have a pair of my birds I could no longer care for myself. I trust them and that isn't easy with birds you love and are family. I appreciate them and what they also do in avian education. I am so thankful that I found them. It was worth the very long drive from states away. Pam
March 30, 2015

more

March 30, 2015

I cared for my Cockatoo, Beasley, for over 20 years. Once I saw Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary, I knew I had found his forever home - one where he could really BE a bird and not just a pet. Beasley has been living there now for almost a year and he is looking forward to a new aviary where he can fly like he was never able to as a pet. This is a truly unusual organization. Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary doesn't just take parrots that people can no longer care for, they guarantee that parrot a home that will never change. Many parrot sanctuaries re-home the birds they receive, but not Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary. The parrots that come to live here will never have to be a pet and subject to someone's whims, no matter how kind, again.
July 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

When it is no longer possible to keep a large parrot in a home the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary is a godsend. Because of bird breeders, many people now own Macaws and other large birds as pets. Oft... more

July 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When we had to give up our male Blue and Gold Macaw, Elvis, three years ago, we found this wonderful sanctuary. Every visit back has confirmed our expectations. The folks at the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary do a magnificent job with their charges. We cannot thank them enough.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012

When it is no longer possible to keep a large parrot in a home the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary is a godsend. Because of bird breeders, many people now own Macaws and other large birds as pets. Often, after many years, these birds become too aggressive to continue as companion animals. That is when the large aviaries and expert staff at the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary come to the rescue. We had to surrender Elvis, our blue and gold macaw, after ten years. We had originally received Elvis as a rescue, and as we had already had another smaller parrot for many years, we felt capable of caring for him. All went well until he reached approximately the age of 18 - our sweet bird became too aggressive to handle. It was heartbreaking for us, but we know he is happy and well cared for. It was very important to us that he would not be up for adoption. These birds live a long time, and there are many of them out there who will need the sanctuary this organization provides.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

A year ago I made the most difficult decision I've ever had to make in my 5 decades of life. I had raised my greenwing macaw from her hatch date, February 2003. We were bonded or so I thought. At age eleven she started displaying signs of sexual maturity and was becoming increasingly aggressive towards me. Greenwings are pretty much one person birds so I was the only one that could handle her without getting bit, but as I said, she was becoming dangerously aggressive, jealous of the other animals and my husband. On top of that, taking her to the vet for the quarterly wing clipping and beak grinding was starting to grind on my guilt. What was I doing to this poor creature? She was a bird with natural bird instincts and here I was trying to domesticate her. That's when Pat Norton swooped into my life on the internet, and cooed those magic words, "We allow your bird to just be a bird." Like I said, it was the hardest thing for me to let go of a creature that I thought that I would have forever. But Pat Norton's kind nature, the existence of the sanctuary and it's volunteers not only made my decision easier but possible. I still miss my bird, but a simple phone call or texted picture dries up whatever tears I may shed. I made the right decision and the best choice for my bird. I am so glad that I found FEBS!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be able to move in with my bird! The place is amazing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My very good friend, Dude, a 20 year old miligold macaw, has been in the compassionate and capable care of FEBS since late 2011. He is thriving there and has even become paired with a very cute, he tells me, Blue & Gold female macaw. As a retiring veterinarian, I searched and researched situations that would allow Dude the future he deserved, even though he could not follow us into our next life chapter. I am forever grateful for the extraordinary commitment the FEBS staff and volunteers make to assure birds like Dude a 'forever' home when it is most needed. I also am thankful for the other caring donors who make the continuation and expansion of this good work possible.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

FEBS is a TRUE sanctuary in every sense of the word. We placed our cockatoo with them because we saw the love and care that every bird receives AND we knew that our bird would never have to leave the sanctuary. None of these birds are "nameless" creatures to any of the staff and every staff member takes time with these awesome birds. Every need is met for every bird. They are fed balanced diets, housed in clean and temperate environments, given regular medical care, and they are LOVED. Patricia Norton is lovingly called "Bird Mother" because she is a mother to these birds...they are all her babies. FEBS, Patricia Norton, and all of the staff are dedicated to the nurture and well being of these magnificent birds.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 21, 2013

Our Blue & Gold Macaw, Tango, was placed with FEBS in 2012. He has blossomed in the outdoor aviary with fellow macaws and is living the life! more

July 11, 2014

Our Macaw, Tango, is a permanent resident at FEBS and absolutely loves it. No more feather plucking and anxiety now that he has a flock to live with!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it even bigger!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 21, 2013

Our Blue & Gold Macaw, Tango, was placed with FEBS in 2012. He has blossomed in the outdoor aviary with fellow macaws and is living the life!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

FEBS provided the ideal answer to our dilemma: What would best meet the needs of our macaw with anxiety issues that we could not alleviate? We adopted Tango from a rescue but after a year realized we were all going to go insane with the screaming. We cared for him dearly and knew that returning him to the rescue was not in his best interests. After some extensive searching, I found FEBS, and it instantly felt right. We made arrangements to take him to the sanctuary in July 2012. The birds are obviously well cared for, and it's the perfect environment. Before my eyes, I saw Tango's dry, peeling beak respond to the humidity by looking black and healthy overnight. We met some wonderful volunteers who were very understanding and sympathetic. We keep in touch with Patricia for updates and recently received the bittersweet news that she can no longer identify him, meaning his feather plucking has ended, and he's fully integrated into the flock. I'm happy for him. It was awful leaving him, and we still miss his antics and "kisses" - but we know he is in a much better place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

Our sweet macaw, Crackers, needed more help and care than we were able to provide for her. To give her up broke our hearts. The really good and professional care that Patricia and FEBS gives her, gives us much hope for her future. Crackers has grown fond of several of the volunteers and is adjusting well, from an "only child" to a riot of over 400 very vocal parrots. Patricia has worked with us to keep us informed of Crackers' progress and we look forward to each visit. We are helping to fund the Special Needs flight aviary for the new property in Hudson, and will truly exhale when Crackers is able to join her new "flock" of buddies and fly and play, and as FEBS advocates, "just be a bird."

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organizational structure is very professional and Patricia and the Board make sound, logical, and fiscally realistic long (and short) -term goals. The volunteers are wonderful. But more well-paid full time employees would be a great addition and give Pat some breathing room! She is 24/7 and we are grateful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

FEBS truly cares about the birds they take in and they treat every single member of the flock like their very own personal pet. I've seen first hand the love and affection they show these birds and the high standards of cleanliness, healthy feeding & watering practices and even so far as which cage they will place birds based on their personality. FEBS really knows what they are doing and they are an honest team. It makes my heart happy knowing my two conures have such a loving forever home where they can "just be a bird"! Thank you FEBS!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing to change

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014

more

July 7, 2014

My CAG is a beautiful 16 year old, or there abouts, who came to live with us 6 years ago after her owner left her to return to France. Plucked naked and scared of her own shadow then, she is now a vibrant, fully feathered, fully flighted part of our family.

I started searching for a place
where she could go when I am no longer here for her. I visited Patricia and the Sanctuary after some careful research. How exciting to see all those beautiful creatures flying, eating and happy!

My main focus was, of course, on the Grey Aviary and was surprised as each Grey came over to the enclosure to say hello or get a scratch. Friendly, talking and unassuming they just seemed to be greeting me.

I spent about 2 hours there and lots of time asking Patricia lots of questions. At the end of the day, we have decided that we will not rehome Ashye, but allow her to spend the rest of her days with a flock of her own kind, knowing she will be well cared for.

These are special creatures that need a place to call home forever, and your donations can only make their lives better....I know Ashye will be thankful!

Peg

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Learn about and interact with over 300 Rescued Parrots! Volunteer