Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
153 Reviews
1234.980395
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

This is by far the best bird sanctuary that I have ever actually volunteered at and observed the love and compassion that the owner and president Patricia Northern puts into it seven days a week . She dedicates her life to these beautiful and loving parrots . The birds are like children needing love and care it will bring tears to your eyes all they want is love and to be a bird and that is what they get at FEBS .
Being a parrot owner and on disability I know the love and attention it requires to take proper care of them and some day I may have to place my sweet boy at FEBS . I hope I will be able to care for him through out his life but if not I will have peace in my mind and heart knowing he is in the best hands with pat and FEBS .. It also is expensive to take care of the parrots feeding them and medical attention when necessary and they jump right on it if they need medical care . I don't think most people know what all is involved in taking care of a parrot and the costs that go along with it . If you are looking or thinking about placing your bird I hope this letter helps you make your mind up , as well as donations are always welcome and needed for our feathered children .. Thank you .
Michele P.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Tell the world some way so we can get more money and spoil the birds as much as we can you never can have enough money .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 3, 2013

more

November 3, 2013

I found FEBS because I was planning a trust for my birds and wanted to feel comfortable in knowing they would be going to a good place should anything happen to me. After reviewing the FEBS website I was so impressed I made a visit to see if it was one of those places that was "just too good to be true".

Well, it IS good and it IS true! I can't tell you how impressed I was at seeing the sanctuary with my own eyes. So impressed that I drive 2 hours one way to volunteer to do what I do at home...clean cages and feed and water birds! But what a wonderful feeling it is to know that I'm doing just this small thing to help these glorious creatures!

Pat, the founder, is a wonderful person with a big heart and an even bigger vision. She runs a tight ship to make sure that the birds are #1 priority in regard to cleanliness, meeting their needs, and letting them live as they should...as flock birds! What a joy it was to see them pairing up to preen, snuggle, and nap.

She also has an acclimation period for newcomers so they get used to new surroundings, sounds, and "meeting" other birds of their own breed before they enter the aviary. It's important to Pat that they experience as little stress as possible during the transition. Now THAT'S a person that knows what she's doing!

If you're thinking about donating to something worthwhile, this is the place. It's as easy as sponsoring one of the birds or you can get the "wish list" and ear mark for one of the many needs of the sanctuary.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be that they are flooded with donations and sponsorships

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

My wife & I have placed our moluccan Cockatoo with Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary 2 1/2 years ago after searching in Florida for a place we could visit on a regular basis, since then we are so grateful... more

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Pat & her staff including the Board of directors has accompolished so much at FEBS since my wife & I
have been involved there. Its just a joy to walk through the sanctuary and see that all these beautiful birds
have a place to be cared for. It takes a special person to take on such a huge
responsibilty and make it happen, our prayers are with you Pat.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012

My wife & I have placed our moluccan Cockatoo with Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary 2 1/2 years ago after searching in Florida for a place we could visit on a regular basis, since then we are so grateful that we found FEBS, We visit on a regular basis and we want everyone to know what a wonderful job Pat Norton has done caring for these beautiful birds she has in her care,

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We made the difficult decision to place our African Grey at FEBS. I spent almost a year researching sanctuaries. We released him into a flock under Pat's direction, and returned several times to ensure his adjustment and the quality of his care. We have also volunteered. We are so impressed with both Pat and Leslie's dedication. They are are amazing! The commitment to all the parrots at FEBS is unparalleled anywhere.
After our Grey joined the new FEBS flock, his negative behaviors stopped and he became a relaxed confident parrot. From making a decision we agonized over, within a couple months, we realized it was the best thing we could have ever done for him. Seeing him so content in a natural setting, where he can fly around, forage for his food and communicate with his flock has totally altered my feelings about keeping wild parrots confined as pets. Pat loves the parrots and they love her.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

I placed my green cheeked conure with FEBS in the fall of 2010. I had adopted him three years prior and could not get his screaming under control. No matter how much attention I gave him, he wanted more. I felt that I was not giving him the best life he deserved and decided that being with other birds would probably be the best option for him. It has been wonderful for him. He is still the sweet little boy I know. But, he is in a better place with other green cheeks, and he can be just a bird. Up until recently, I also volunteered at FEBS one day a week. Feeding and interacting with the birds was such an enriching experience for me. I think I got more out of it than the birds. I hope to volunteer again in the future. As the popularity of exotic birds increases, there is going to be a need for places like FEBS. Birds live a long time and are a huge responsibility. FEBS is the standard by which bird sanctuaries should be measured. No breeding, no adoption, just a safe haven for birds to live out their lives and be with other birds. A great place!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been apart of this Sanctuary my entire life. I am the son of the Founder. My mom has worked very hard for the birds well fair and I am proud of her for making a difference when most people just stand back and talk about a problem. I love the birds and love being a part of FEBS family

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I have been long time volunteers for the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary. Their mission to rescue unwanted and abused birds has made a difference all over the United States. There have been many times where birds arrive in bad condition and are nursed back to health health, then introduced in one of the many aviaries onsite. By not fostering or adopting out, these birds have a chance to live happy and healthy lives. Keep up the good work FEBS!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I moved in across the street last year, and fel in love with all the birds that were in their care. I go over from time to time to help feed and play with a lot of birds in their care. It is such a wonderful place to be. the staff is so nice and really care for our feathered friends, all the cages are clean, with lots of perches and toys for the birds. In closing I would like to say that the staff at febs are the best.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I moved in across the street from febs in nov. of 2011. After about a week I really wanted to go over and see what this was. I found a parodise of all different kinds of exotic birds. I just fel in love with the place, I started volunteering my time to help feed and interact with the birds. What a great place to place a parrot, they get to spend their time with other birds and still get the attention from people, which they crave. Placing a parrot here will be the best decision and bird lover could make.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

FEBS is such a wonderfull place to place your bird , It's hard to put into words the love and care and affection that pat and her staff and volunteers put into at febs . The birds can be birds there and get the love that they need at the same time . Its a very clean and safe place for them and pat has so much medical backround you can feel assured you bird is in good hands .. I dont know what would happen to all our featherd friend if febs was not there for them , they are going to expand to help take in more birds so donations are greatly appriciated . Thank you michele

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Learn about and interact with over 300 Rescued Parrots! Volunteer