Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
153 Reviews
1234.980395
Write A Review
November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

When I became pregnant with our first child, I knew it was time to find our 25+ DYH Amazon a new home. He would scream constantly and was very aggressive towards me, although not my husband, since this was his bird. I did not realize just how unhappy my bird was until I started researching sanctuaries and came across FEBS. Once you think about it, it makes perfect sense. Birds are not meant to be caged. Even though the website looked great, I was still very hesitant to take my bird to a sanctuary. I just wasn't sure what would really go on there and would my bird truly be happy there. However, I didn't want to just pass him along to another family who would eventually get burnt out of him, so in the end I chose FEBS for Dinero's forever home. I am so glad I did. Pat dedicates her life to caring for those birds. I truly knew I made the right decision when we went to visit the sanctuary a year later and Dinero did know us, but seemed absolutely happy and didn't seem to miss us at all! Thank you FEBS!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It was heartbreaking to realize that it wasn't fair to keep our Goffin Cuckatoo any longer. We tried everything to keep her happy at our home but realized that is was unfair to her. After carefully and diligently researching sanctuaries for our bird we felt confidant that we made the right decision to set her "free" at FEBS. I couldn't believe how compassionate, educated and dedicated Pat Norton was these beautiful birds. She is truly an angel to our feathered friends.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Hello There !! That is the only thing my beautiful ring-necked parrot can say, but I listened for it every morning and it started my day off with a smile---one of the most difficult decisions I have ever had to make was to find a new home for Samantha when I could no longer take care of her. I I could not bear the thought of her being caged since she had been able to fly in the past 10 years in her own room--I am sure I was led to find THE FLORIDA EXOTIC BIRD SANCTUARY on the internet, and after learning about this wonderful group of people who take care of sick-mistreated birds- and those who need a new home, I was so relieved and delighted ---!! Sam has been with FEBS for 16 months now and is happy-being able to fly free as all birds should. I thank God for FEBS--and hope they can expand their facilities tp allow many more birds to fly free !!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We have been looking for a home for our Hyacinth Macaw for some time now. Not just any home would do. We are getting up in years and would feel much better if we knew that if anything happens to us, FEBS will be the perfect home for her! Thank you for being there for us and for the great work you folks are doing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been apart of this Sanctuary my entire life. I am the son of the Founder. My mom has worked very hard for the birds well fair and I am proud of her for making a difference when most people just stand back and talk about a problem. I love the birds and love being a part of FEBS family

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Aussie, a wild caught Moluccan cockatoo, was provided sanctuary by Pat Norton and the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary in February of 2009. Unlike most cockatoo's, in her 20+ years she had only one home before she came to live with me. Wanting the best situation for her, I began looking for a sanctuary where she could live her life on her terms, being a bird with others of her own species. After talking to a number of sanctuaries and visiting those I could, I found FEBS and Aussie's new home! Pat is one of those special, unselfish people who does much more than provide a home for birds. She is involved in the community and goes into the schools. The sanctuary would like to build more of the large flights that the macaws currently enjoy and I hope she gets the support she deserves to provide more birds with the joy of flight. Please consider donating to FEBS and providing the help these birds need.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

My little Hahn's macaw has been with Pat for over a year now. he is very happy! I lo0ve visiting.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I am so glad I found this avian sanctuary as my birds may outlive my husband and me. We hope to visit the sanctuary next year when we are in the area. We have a 20 year old moluccan cockatoo who doesn't see very well despite cataract surgery. She is a plucker and we have spent lots of money and time (making vests to protect her chest) to get her to this age. She does not eat seed or pellets, and she eats only home cooked meals like pasta, sweet potato, eggs, etc. Now we know and feel more secure that there is a place that could take care of her if she outlives us. The sanctuary will be in our will.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

After my Mom died last year and we were left with the legal matters resulting in these situations, I decided it was time to ensure my two amazons would be well taken care of should something happen to me. The only way to do that was to find a sanctuary that met my standards in a place that provided a natural environment, with no adoption options; nor breeding and quality standards for their care and well being. And a big plus with their efforts in eduacationing the public concerning exotic birds. I researched the internet and found FEBS to be the place. I contacted them through email and Patricia responded right away. I was able to schedule a tour and was very excited about what I saw and learned concerning their organization. I will be completing all the proper documentation and will be donating to and supporting FEBS to ensure my beloved amazons will have a place to go, best suited for their happiness, when I can no longer provide for them. I am so grateful FEBS exists. "Henry" & "Khaki" have been my only outstanding concern and now that weight has been lifted off my shoulders. Thank you so much Patricia for all you do!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I HAD TWO RESCUED BIRDS FOR 14 YEARS AND AS PART OF MY RESCUE I LET THEM FREE FLY. THEY LIVED IN MY GARAGE WITH THIER OPENED CAGES AND DURING THE DAY WITH THE GARAGE DOORS OPENED. THEY LOVED TO HANG OUT IN THE BACK YARD AND HAD, I THINK, A WONDERFUL LIFE (I HAD TO GO AND GET THEM MANY TIMES AFTER FLYING AWAY). MY AGE MADE ME LOOK FOR A PERMANENT HOME FOR THEM. I PICKED THIS SANCTUARY BECAUSE IT WAS CLEAN , PROVIDED GOOD FOOD, AND HAD A BIG FLIGHT CAGE WITH MANY BIRDS FOR MY SANCHEZ. I WANTED A YEARS TRIAL PERIOD AND MY FIRST VISIT AFTER 3 MONTHS CONVINCED ME THAT I MADE THE RIGHT CHOICE. MY BIRDS KNEW ME AND CAME TO ME RIGHT AWAY. WE LOVED EACH OTHER...... BUT THEN THEY LET ME KNOW THAT THEY WERE HAPPY. THEY LIKED BEING WITH THE OTHER BIRDS . I CAME AWAY SATISFIED THAT I MADE THE RIGHT DECISION. I EXPECT MY FUTURE VISITS WILL CONFIRM THIS BELIEF.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Learn about and interact with over 300 Rescued Parrots! Volunteer