Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
153 Reviews
1234.980395
| 1 ... 6 7 8...14 |
Write A Review
November 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We had a blue and gold Macaw named Tango who now resides with the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary. We love our bird but realized that he needed more space and socialization. After talking with FEBS staff extensively and visiting we felt it was a good fit for him. They do so much for these magnificent animals that I highly recommend that you support them in their mission.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is an awesome place for all feathered friends. Its been a year now my cockatoo, LAURA has been placed with FEBS and we are both happy. I am able to visit her whenever I can. I am very impress with the job Pattricia is doing. The birds are well-cared for, and there are always volunteers helping with feed, and cleaning of the cages. I wouldn't want my loving cockatoo to be anywhere else. If you are looking to donate, time, food, and chew toys, I recommened directing it here.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have watched this Sanctuary go from 6 Parrots to over 300 and the way that they are doing this is amazing. Great place, great for the Birds. With over 2.3 million birds in private homes, it is so necessary for a place in Florida, where birds are breed at alarming numbers, to have a rescue/Sanctuary for them.I hope they get lots of support!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2001

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

This is a place that is need of support! They are doing fantastic work and filling a huge need! I support Pat and her efferts! If I win the Lotto I will certainly set these people up!!!!! Great Place for Exotic Birds!!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

November 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

FEBS is a life saver! For years I hoped that one day my Blue and Golds would be able to be as they were born to be....FREE...Freedom to fly and just be birds not prisoners.......I flew my 2 Blue and Golds and a 55 year old Green Wing from CA to FEBS in Florida and stayed a week myself as they got settled into their new forever home. I am so happy to see them as happy as they are. I have gone back to visit twice since they moved to their forever home and one of the Blue and Golds and the Green Wing have fallen madly in love while in the big flight cage and will not even come to me now! This is exactly what I wished for them, to be birds and not attached to any one human..........FEBS is the only sanctuary I know that will not adopt out or breed so I know my babies will be forever happy! :) I thank Pat for being so understanding and allowing about people visiting their birds. That was also a big factor in my decision because many so called sanctuarys will not let anyone on the premisies. I can't wait to see them again very soon! Summer, Southern California

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Harley, a beautiful Jenday Conure, lived with my husband and me for fifteen years. Most of those years were filled with the love and attention of children, grandchildren, other family, and friends as well as our love, care and devotion. Harley was out of his cage most of the time and had the run of our home...he was used to some freedom. After we both retired, we moved a few hundred miles away from friends and family. We began taking long trips; sometimes we could bring Harley, many times we could not. We found neighbors and a pet shop and a vet hospital where he could stay; however, he was never out of his cage on these occassions and he was with strangers. We finally decided we were not being fair to him, forcing him to live in a cage most of the time, especially with strangers. So, I started looking on-line and I found the Florida Exotic Bird Sancutary. I contacted Pat and she was wonderful, assuring me that releasing Harley in the sanctuary would be freeing him to be a bird again, and not a pet! My husband and I went to the sanctuary on our next trip to Florida. We were so happy with the way Pat put Harley's cage by another conure and said he would be slowly released when he was comfortable with other birds. The Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary is a blessing for all those birds that are ready to be free. Thank you Pat and all your helpers for all you do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful facility with awesome individuals that work it. The birds are so fortunate to have this kind of care and so are the individuals who find themselves unable to care for their birds. Great job!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

All I can say is "wow". I was so impressed when we visited this Sanctuary with a friends that boards her birds there when she goes North in the summer. It was amazing clean and the birds were pretty friendly too. Pat dedication is unreal. Anyone that has wondered what to do with their birds, this IS the place for them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

MY Family has known Patiricia and FEBS for over a year. When we met we really wanted a Bird, after meeting Patricia and having her tell us the "real Deal" with owning such a pet, we did not make that purchase. We Love the work that they are doing and the education they provide is invaluable!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

I placed my green cheeked conure with FEBS in the fall of 2010. I had adopted him three years prior and could not get his screaming under control. No matter how much attention I gave him, he wanted more. I felt that I was not giving him the best life he deserved and decided that being with other birds would probably be the best option for him. It has been wonderful for him. He is still the sweet little boy I know. But, he is in a better place with other green cheeks, and he can be just a bird. Up until recently, I also volunteered at FEBS one day a week. Feeding and interacting with the birds was such an enriching experience for me. I think I got more out of it than the birds. I hope to volunteer again in the future. As the popularity of exotic birds increases, there is going to be a need for places like FEBS. Birds live a long time and are a huge responsibility. FEBS is the standard by which bird sanctuaries should be measured. No breeding, no adoption, just a safe haven for birds to live out their lives and be with other birds. A great place!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Learn about and interact with over 300 Rescued Parrots! Volunteer