Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
153 Reviews
1234.980395
Write A Review
April 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 7, 2012

I was really impressed with the way FEBS cares for all their birds and you can tell that all their feathered residents are happy, healthy and absolutely adore their caretakers. FEBS makes sure that al... more

April 10, 2013

I am overwhelmed by the work that the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary does. Never have I seen so much compassion and love devoted to such a wonderful cause. The birds that come to this sanctuary need tons of attention, love, and caring and they ALL get just that. It's amazing! So many of these birds would never have had an opportunity to live a happy, healthy, quality life of just 'being a bird' had it not been for this organization. All the birds that make FEBS their 'Forever Home' thrive here even the ones that come in bad shape. With lots of love and attention they all relax, recover, and settle in with their new family - human AND feathered! Because of the passion and compassion that FEBS maintains my fiance and I have sponsored one of the birds there! This is an organization that I can stand behind and support! I hope you decide to as well!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012

I was really impressed with the way FEBS cares for all their birds and you can tell that all their feathered residents are happy, healthy and absolutely adore their caretakers. FEBS makes sure that all the birds that come to live at their Sanctuary are healthy and happy and have plenty of interaction which is the thing that they need the most. They also provide an environment where birds can just be birds. The giant flight aviary that they have allows the birds to fly as they would in nature. FEBS also does not breed or adopt out. The birds that go to FEBS go there either because they've been abused, their stressed out or their families can not provide for them well enough anymore for whatever situation. When these birds go to FEBS they are arriving at their 'Forever home' where they can be a bird once again. I love this organization!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a special place to put our Catalina Macaw Neo, due to plucking his feathers, after seeing a few of them, we were not happy, the last one to see was FEBS, when we got ... more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I saved a blue and gold name Sammy from the hands of breeders we took Sammy to FEBS in bad conditions Pat took her with opens arms its been four weeks and she looks amazing!!!! Thank you Pat for your great heart!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 12, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a special place to put our Catalina Macaw Neo, due to plucking his feathers, after seeing a few of them, we were not happy, the last one to see was FEBS, when we got there we met Pat, Pat was very knowledgeable about the birds, I spoke to her for a while, walked thru the area, and we felt in love!!!! Neo is so happy now!!! He has lots of feather friends and looks awesome!!! This place is awesome, we visit every weekend to nee Neo and all of is friends...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My search for a sanctuary started when I decided that I needed to go away for college. I'm currently living in south Florida, and I'm transferring to Florida State University for the next few years. I had wanted to place Dewey (my pineapple conure) for a while now, since after I rescued him from being shipped to a breeder at a pet store, I began to notice my allergies getting far worse. I would house him outside and school and work kept me too busy for the kind of attention I know a parrot like him deserves.

My idea of a new home for him definitely did not include passing him to another family or person. I wanted him to interact with other conures or parrots like him. I wanted him to be in a flight cage, in the open where he can feel free to spread his wings if he pleased.

From what I would find online, it seemed like sanctuaries and other places were just so full and I didn't have much hope for finding a happy place for Dewey to live in. After I found FEBS I was so happy to learn that not only would they take Dewey in and put him in the kind of environment I idealized for him, but he wouldn't be adopted out to anyone ever again. I'm happy to know that he will eventually bond with another little friend or friends and those will be his partners for life.

Patricia showed me around and I felt very comfortable and happy with Dewey's new home. She's excellent with keeping me updated on how Dewey is doing and I'm so thankful for FEBS!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been associated with FEBS for over 10 years and am at awe at the work they do. By not adopting Parrots, but instead giving them their freedom I feel this will be the best Sanctuary for my Birds when I can no longer take care of them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first discovered Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary when I search the internet for an established and credentialed bird sanctuary where my beloved 16 year old African Gray parrot, Jocko, could live out her life in a safe and secure close-to-nature environment with personalized care. It is also most important to me that she would never be sold, given away, or used for breeding. Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary was the only sanctuary that met all my criteria. I had to make the heart breaking decision to re-home Jocko because my health was in decline due to a lung condition. I was becoming so weak and frail that I didn't expect to be strong enough to care for her much longer. Her remaining life expectancy was about 44 more years! I was 74 years old. It was through the internet search for a bird sanctuary that we learned about "Bird Keeper's Lung" (Alergic Alveolitis) caused by allergic reaction to powdery bird dander which African Grays produce. My family and I recognized that this is what was slowly taking away my life! Separation from Jocko was the only choice we had. We contacted Patricia Norton at FEBS and she accepted Jocko at once. She helped us with information about flying with a parrot, and directed us to a pet-friendly hotel near the sanctuary. Within 2 weeks we arrived with Jocko. When we drove through the gate into the facility at Wesley Chapel, Jocko started happily bobbing her head at the sound of hundreds of exotic birds squawking and screeching. Patricia gave us a tour of the meticulously clean grounds and we had the opportunity to see for ourselves her interaction with the birds. She knows many of them by name and lovingly cares for them all as her own. I was at peace saying good-bye to Jocko knowing she would have a wonderful home there and would have the freedom to be who she is and live with other African Grays in a secure environment where she could even fly. I couldn't have re-homed her anywhere else. Jocko is still in an acclimation room with another gray because she pulls out her feathers and cannot withstand cold temperatures. Patricia is giving her special care and will be monitoring her feather growth until the plucking has diminished enough for her to be safely released into one of the aviaries. She sends me updates every few weeks and has even sent a picture mail photo of her. She has lived there since June 25th this year. I am happy to say that my health has dramatically improved! I have regained my strength and breathe normally. I am sure that my breathing issue was due to allergic reaction to powdery bird dander. I am so thankful and glad to be alive and well. Thank you, Patricia Norton, Board of Directors, Trustees, volunteers, donors, and staff of Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary!! You have given Jocko a great home in bird paradise, and you have saved my life!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

When my sister had to give up her bird I was almost as upset as she was! I loved the bird, but it was clear to me, as a frequent visitor, that he was no longer happy at home. One day my sister discovered that he had shredded all her patio furniture covers to make a nest inside a cupboard. My heart broke as I watched him sit inside it and call out to the mate who would never come. Finally, my sister decided that he needed to be with other birds. But, where would he find a home as loving as the one he was in? I found FEBS on line and drove to visit. I was so impressed with Patricia, the staff and of course the flight cages that I called my sister at once and told her that her bird would love it here. He does! I've visted him twice and he is extremely happy "just being a bird" and squawking his heart out with the other parrots! Of course, this is because Patricia devotes herself to FEBS and makes sure all of the birds do well and get a chance to 'just be birds.'

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

My story is similar to many others that i have read. We purchased "Lou" from a pet store about 15 years ago.. He is a white eyed conure and he had the run of the house. We never clipped his wings so he did a lot of flying. He was a very loved member of our family. As he grew older I noticed that he began to screech and bite us. In the spring his biting got even worse and he would search for places to build a nest. One time in particular in flew into my face and bit my lip so hard i thought that I would have to go to the emergency room. As my kids went to college, Lou would sit in the window all day and squawk . I knew that he was very lonely because now he was home all day alone. When you buy a bird when your kids are young, people don't realize that their children will move away and the poor bird is the one who suffers. As painful as it was I began looking for a sanctuary for Lou. I went to some places that were truly awful and I knew that I could never leave Lou at one of these so called "rescues". My sister lives in Florida and she told me about Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary.She went to visit it and was so impressed that we drove Lou down from CT. I cried as we left but Pat was wonderful and made me realize that it was the right choice. My sister has visited him twice and so did my husband and I. While he was very happy to see us he was not at all interested in coming home with us. At our house he would fly on our shoulder so we wouldn't leave. Instead Lou flew back onto his perch and was not upset at all. He seemed to know that we loved him and he was still a part of our lives but FEBS was now his home.. Both times we showed up unannounced and everything was clean and water and food dishes were full. I will keep visiting Lou but I know now that he is very happy where he is and he didn't bite me once!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

There are not enough words of praise in the dictionary to describe how I feel about this sanctuary. Ms. Norton has been more than generous with her time with me explaining exactly how the sanctuary operated and how my precious bird would be handled on his arrival. I had raised this bird from the egg and our bond was obvious to anyone who saw us. Unfortunately, that all ended when he reached sexual maturity. As year after year passed, I knew that I wanted more for him than life in a cage and little interaction with humans or other birds. What I found at Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary was a place that was peaceful with a natural environment where birds could fly free and do what they do best...be birds!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We have two FIDS (feathered kids) Mango, an Eclectus Parrot and Kiko a Blue Throated Macaw. They stayed at FEBS, in the boarding facility for two months this year while we were remodeling our townhome. It was not easy for us to leave them, even if it was temporary. After we dropped them off, I left in tears feeling so sorry for all the birds that were there abandoned by their owners. We came back each weekend to visit our birds and during that time we got to know Pat and her staff and got to see what good people they were and how much they cared about all the parrots. I discovered how wrong I was to think the birds were abandoned. They had instead moved on to find many new feather friends! Thanks to Pat and her staff for making the Sanctuary truely a place where a bird is free "to just be a bird". When the time comes that we can no longer care for our birds, I know they will have a very good home at FEBS.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We owned two wonderful, robust Moluccan cockatoos, Jiminy and Cricket, who have life expectancies longer than ours. They were just reaching their prime, andwe were beginning to show our years. They were wearing us out! For more than a year, we searched for a good home for them, but found nobody who had the commitment to give them a loving place to live for a long time. Finally we found FLORIDA EXOTIC BIRD SANCTUARY on the internet. We drove up to Wesley Chapel, and were delighted with what we saw! Jiminy and Cricket have been living at FEBS for several years now, and we and they couldn't be happier! There's nothing like FEBS in Florida. It deserves your support in every way you can think of! Nickie and Jim Haggart, Fort Myers, FL.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Learn about and interact with over 300 Rescued Parrots! Volunteer