Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
153 Reviews
1234.980395
| 1 ... 4 5 6...14 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We had a cockatoo foor over 12 years. Due to a personal situation within our family, we moved out of our home to allow one of our children to move in. Our bird, Kyoshi, could not move with us. We found FEBS and felt such relief that Kyoshi would have a great home for life. My wife and I volunteer weekly plus I am on the Board of Directors. Thank you FEBS, Bob

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After living with our African Grey for 23 years, my husband came to the conclusion that our parrot deserved to live the rest of her life in the most natural and safe environment we could provide. After extensive research, Inez has been at the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary for the past 3 years and is positively thriving! Thank you, Pat, your staff and volunteers for the amazing work you do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We found Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary via the internet. We were the proud owners of Paco, a beautiful Double Yellow Head Amazon. We picked him out when he looked like an embryo! We loved, spoiled and lived him for about 17 years. We started looking for a home for him when he constantly ran us out of the house with his constant screaming. If I wasn't holding him, he was screaming.

We wanted to be sure he had a good home and would not be abused or passed around from one home to another. We made a visit to Pat's place after finding it on the internet. My husband and I knew this would be a good home for Paco and he would actually be able to be a bird for a change! Relatively free to fly and interact with others of his species.

We both cried leaving him and every time we go for a visit, I cry but I know he is in an awesome place where he will be taken care of and can live out his days comfortably.

We are so grateful to Pat & all her volunteers for the great work they do with these birds.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 14, 2012

I wasn't ready to deal with it but I knew I was going to be way too ill to take care of my Amazon parrot. She is adorable but doesn't like to be alone Pat and the staff made the transition as painle... more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I "rescued" my parrot from a pet store when she was less than six months old I did my best to provide the best care possible for my bird Unfortunately not being able to be home most of the time led to an unhappy bird It was a hard decision to place her but it has turned out to be the best possible solution the place and the people are fantastic

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

I wasn't ready to deal with it but I knew I was going to be way too ill to take care of my Amazon parrot. She is adorable but doesn't like to be alone Pat and the staff made the transition as painless as possible for me I can now feel comfortable knowing my friend will be safe and cared for They havemade an impossible situation possible

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

The Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary took in our Sun Conure Dexter. My family is so happy and thankful Dexter has a home that he will enjoy and be safe. This organization is amazing and provides an amazi... more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

A truly amazing organization and very thankful for the sanctuary taking care of our sun conure. Will always be a donor to the Exotic Bird Sanctuary.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012

The Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary took in our Sun Conure Dexter. My family is so happy and thankful Dexter has a home that he will enjoy and be safe. This organization is amazing and provides an amazing home for birds. It is very well run and we are very lucky to have them. I would again like to thank the FEBS for everything they do. Forever Grateful

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We made the difficult decision to place our African Grey at FEBS. I spent almost a year researching sanctuaries. We released him into a flock under Pat's direction, and returned several times to ensure his adjustment and the quality of his care. We have also volunteered. We are so impressed with both Pat and Leslie's dedication. They are are amazing! The commitment to all the parrots at FEBS is unparalleled anywhere.
After our Grey joined the new FEBS flock, his negative behaviors stopped and he became a relaxed confident parrot. From making a decision we agonized over, within a couple months, we realized it was the best thing we could have ever done for him. Seeing him so content in a natural setting, where he can fly around, forage for his food and communicate with his flock has totally altered my feelings about keeping wild parrots confined as pets. Pat loves the parrots and they love her.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 7, 2012

We had the opportunity to make the right decision for our difficult Umbrella Cockatoo to place him with Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary and we are lucky enough to be able to visit him. I did alot or re... more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Our family has had the blessing of being able to visit our Umbrella Cockatoo Bogie at FEBS for over a year now. Bogie is doing wonderful and the work and effort that FEBS has put into the birds and property in the last year is unbelievable. This group is truly "in it for the birds". The quality of care, housing and interaction with the birds by FEBS is too great to put into words.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012

We had the opportunity to make the right decision for our difficult Umbrella Cockatoo to place him with Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary and we are lucky enough to be able to visit him. I did alot or research before placing him and after meeting Pat and seeing the care and professionalism that are involved at FEBS we know in our hearts that our feathered baby will live out the rest of his life as he was meant to. Because we get to make monthly visits I can attest to the care, cleanliness and compassion all of the birds get.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

My name is Ruthie and in September of 2006 I adopted my Blue & Gold Macaw from my terminally I'll brother.I cared for her for six years. During this time I realized how cruel it is to put these beauti... more

April 15, 2013

Patricia and the other caregivers and volunteers have been such a blessing to my Blue and Gold Macaw. She has been in the FEBS for almost a year and is thriving! Thanks to this sancturary, my life has been freed up and Betty Boop can enjoy other birds and flight as she was intended to do. Thanks again, Patricia! GOD BLESS!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Ruthie and in September of 2006 I adopted my Blue & Gold Macaw from my terminally I'll brother.I cared for her for six years. During this time I realized how cruel it is to put these beautiful animals in a cage. I began looking for as place where she could interact with other birds and be free. Florida Exotic Bird Sancuary was that place, and in June 2012 at the age of 19 years old, it became her new home. My brother has passed on, but I'm sure he would be pleased. Thank you, FEBS and Pamela for adopting my "little girl!"

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary is an excellent example of what a sanctuary should be. Where "Birds can be Birds". I have looked at many rescues and sanctuaries for my birds, in the event of my passin... more

April 15, 2013

Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary is very dedicated to the preservation of all exotic birds. "birds can be birds" in the flight aviaries. Please help them meet thier goals to accomplish this. I can highly recommend this sanctuary. Keep up the good work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012

Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary is an excellent example of what a sanctuary should be. Where "Birds can be Birds". I have looked at many rescues and sanctuaries for my birds, in the event of my passing; Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary is the right place for the security and safety concerns that I may have about my birds remaining in a forever home. Birds are well-fed, free flighted and well taken care of with personal attention give to them. It is well organized with caring, responsible, honest people in charge of caring for the birds and highly motivated in raising funds for the security of their birds needs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

We had to give up our African Grey, Smokey, and our Quaker, Joe. We went back to the sanctuary and released them into one of their very large flite cages. Smokey, a little bit on the shy side, sat on a perch and observed her new surroundings. Joe flew right to a female Quaker, and within minutes they were preening on each other. We left them feeling sad, but glad they were in such a happy safe place. We went back a couple of months later and even Smokey had snuggled up with a fellow! They are well cared for and so very happy. We cannot thank FEBS enough for taking our babies and providing them such a good home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Learn about and interact with over 300 Rescued Parrots! Volunteer