Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
153 Reviews
1234.980395
| 1 ... 3 4 5...14 |
Write A Review
April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

My wife & I have placed our moluccan Cockatoo with Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary 2 1/2 years ago after searching in Florida for a place we could visit on a regular basis, since then we are so grateful... more

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Pat & her staff including the Board of directors has accompolished so much at FEBS since my wife & I
have been involved there. Its just a joy to walk through the sanctuary and see that all these beautiful birds
have a place to be cared for. It takes a special person to take on such a huge
responsibilty and make it happen, our prayers are with you Pat.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012

My wife & I have placed our moluccan Cockatoo with Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary 2 1/2 years ago after searching in Florida for a place we could visit on a regular basis, since then we are so grateful that we found FEBS, We visit on a regular basis and we want everyone to know what a wonderful job Pat Norton has done caring for these beautiful birds she has in her care,

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

A rare and needed gift for birds that are no longer able to reside with their human companions. The work that FEBS does to assist those birds that have lost their people is priceless and selfless. The world is a better place for our feathered friends becuase FEBS cares enough to make that so! Keep up the great work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Not only do we donate but my baby actually lives there now. It's a great thing that febs is doing for all those birds. I have been a couple of times to visit and if I lived closer I would definitely volunteer. All the volunteers I have met are wonderful and Patricia is amazing. The fact that they don't breed or adopt out is why I chose them this way I knew he had a forever home. They also put birds in colonies together so it's a more natural habitat. If I ever win the lotto I would buy them the new land so they could continue to save more birds. Lots of love to febs!!!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

FEBS has been a godsend. My wife and are are getting on in age and will be retiring out of the Country. Taking our African Grey Parrots Samantha and Moe was not an option without putting them through months of quarantine. We searched high and low and came across this fabulous sanctuary. No doubt about it, giving up our parrots was definitely one of the most heart breaking experiences of our lives-- similar to the feeling one has when experiencing the death of a loved one-- it leaves a big hole in your heart. But meeting Pat and touring the facility took away a lot of the pain. We know our parrots are in good hands and a lot happier being with their own species. We now know that when we are long gone from this Earth, our parrots will be taken care of in good hands. We think of our parrots everyday. We raised our Grey Samantha for 20 years since she was a tiny baby. We rescued our Grey Moe from a very bad situation two years ago (his previous owner abandoned him to a dark secluded room after her husband died-- she said Moe was the husband's bird and she didn't know how to care for him). Parrots are very special and precious creatures and should never be sold as pets. They belong in the jungle! Pat understands this and is committed to keeping them from breeding in captivity. We are relieved to know that our parrots Samantha and Moe will not be sold, adopted, forced to perform tricks, or used for breeding. Instead they will be housed in large outdoor aviaries with other birds and allowed to enjoy the sun and rain as nature intended.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

FEBS saved my bird's life. I was Maggie's fifth owner (that we know of). My nephew had rescued this green mealy parrot about 6 years ago. The bird was a psychological basket case and most of his body feathers had been self-plucked. I adopted him about 3 years ago to see if he could be tamed and handled. His physical condition had improved but his mind was still damaged. In good conscious, I could not sell or even give him away to another owner. I thought my only option was to have him put to sleep. Then I discovered FEBS. What great people, providing such a needed service in our community; a safe, loving home for life for unwanted exotic birds!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Peewee, my African Grey parrot is now living at FEBS. I took him there exactly a week ago so he is still "acclimating". At first I was very sad to leave him but he actually warned me very clearly NOT to take him home when I tried to take him out of his cage to say goodbye! He must have been loving the sound of the other LOUD parrots also in the acclimation room.
I have had Peewee for 15 years, since he was a hand-fed baby. He has been a really BIG part of my life and our family, going to school with me when I taught, eating with the family, moving from room to room and perch to perch, hanging out on the porch, teasing my sons, and traveling on vacations. My sons have all grown and gone. I am the only one of his "flock" left at home and more and more I realized that I was not giving him all that he needed plus I knew I needed to make arrangements for him should anything happen to me. Parrots almost always outlive their "owners" and quite often family members are understandably not willing to care for "the bird".
No matter how much I loved him, fed him well, cared for all his needs (and more) I still would never be able to let him be a "bird", flighted, socializing with others of his own kind, hanging out with African Greys!
When I found FEBS I realized it was exactly what I had been searching for. What a JOY to see how well he will be taken care of as well as to know he will fly with a flock of African Grey Parrots ! I can't wait to see this happen and one of the BEST things is that I can stay involved in his life. I'll be driving over about once a month, bringing toys I am making for all the birds, baking "birdie" bread for everyone and spending time in his flight cage as well as lending a hand for the day wherever needed.
I can';t say enough about how welcomed I felt when I toured there and when I took Peewee.
Since leaving him last week I have spoken and texted with Pat to hear how he is doing. (He is in his own cage from home, eating, chewing his toys and has begun his fabulous barking-he has several dog barks and a great cat meow!) I am looking forward to being there as they put him in the aviary, to see him eventually fly, make new friends and maybe even fall in love! They will never breed or adopt the birds out so my choice of FEBS for his life will stay that way.
Peewee is lucky. His sponsorship will be taken care of for life. Please considering sponsoring some of the other birds who have so generously and lovingly been rescued by this great sanctuary.
I am looking forward with excitement ( and, yes, nostalgia) to this new adventure for both me and my companion bird!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was pretty heart broken that I couldn't tolerate living with my screaming Sun Conure. He was a great little bird, very loving and well behaved. But his screaming became unbearable and we had to find him a new home. I was so unsure about handing him off to a stranger, but once we visited FEBS and saw the other Sun Conures flying in their cage I knew he deserved the chance to just be a bird. Patricia was great and she rassured us he would be ok. I was so amazed at the attention given to the birds and was surprised to see every available space in her kitchen taken up by fresh produce, fruit, and nuts. Patricia and her volunteers are dedicated to giving these birds the best life possible. Although we will never own another bird, we will always be a supporter of FEBS and all they do for exotic birds. We hope to see them meet all their financial goals this year. They deserve it!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary (FEBS) is a very-very special place filling a most urgent need. People from all over Florida and indeed the country believe, usually for a short while, that they want an exotic bird in their lives, but soon, they realize that these amazing bird were never meant to be stuck in a cage (no matter how big) and once the bird becomes lonely or depressed and acts our and/or just acts like a bird does, they become expendable. These amazing creatures that can live as long or longer than most of us. They didn't choose this life and for most parrots, it only gets worst for them as the years go by. That is why FEBS is so special and critically needed. At FEBS, the staff has a true passion for these poor animals, many of them neglected or abused. Outside of living in the wild like they were meant to but cannot now because they are dependent on humans for survival, the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary is the next best thing for the helpless creatures. I implore anyone who reads this to visit the sanctuary, and the next time you see a bird flying wild, think of these precious animals and instead of getting your usual Starbucks that week, send a donation to FEBS - and let us all thank them for the incredible, much-needed safe harbor they offer the birds in their good care.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 7, 2012

I never knew how intelligent these birds are, I had only seen them in cages where they maybe knew a few words. In the flight aviary however they were amazing, they all have their own personality and ... more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary is a fantastic place for the birds and is run by a caring, dedicated staff. It is great to see the birds interacting and playing in conditions that are not possible in most homes. It is fun to visit, they are amazingly intelligent.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012

I never knew how intelligent these birds are, I had only seen them in cages where they maybe knew a few words. In the flight aviary however they were amazing, they all have their own personality and it was obvious how attached they are to the caretakers. It was an eye-opening experience and well worth the trip. The birds love mixed nuts and it is easy to send them a bag right from the FEBS web site.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am so happy I found febs. It is my parrots new home. So glad they too him into there family and I know he is loved and happy! Thank you so very much febs for all your love and hard work for these animals. I wish I could visit marcus more. Looking at pictures just dont do justice. But they let me know that he is in great hands. Cant thank febs enough! Miss you marcus but glad has to see how great your life has become.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Learn about and interact with over 300 Rescued Parrots! Volunteer