Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
153 Reviews
1234.980395
| 1 2 3...14 |
Write A Review
July 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 8, 2013

In early 2013, it became abundantly clear that our beloved 20 year old Yellow Nape was no longer getting the attention she so richly deserved. I was working long hours and my wife worked from home and... more

July 11, 2014

Patricia Norton (and her staff at Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary) is just an extraordinary individual that has given her life to the rescue of exotic birds. She tirelessly works to care for over 300 birds on a daily basis in addition to her ongoing fundraising efforts to support the needs of the birds and sanctuary grounds. We took our beloved yellow Nape "Alex" to her 18 months ago and I Thank God everyday for Patricia and FEBS. There is no finer exotic bird rescue in the United States and I wholeheartedly will continue to support Patricia and FEBS for life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

In early 2013, it became abundantly clear that our beloved 20 year old Yellow Nape was no longer getting the attention she so richly deserved. I was working long hours and my wife worked from home and did not truly have time for Alex who was my bird from the start. I was quite distraught but realized that placing her was best in the long run for all of us. I did not ever want her to be adopted but instead placed in a "sanctuary" where she could live her life with other birds.

I looked all over the country and was so blessed to find Patricia and FEBS. After multiple calls and emails, final plans were made to take Alex to Florida.

I boarded the plane, sitting in the last row against the window with Alex on my lap. She drew quite a crowd! Landing in Orlando, I got my rental car and off to FEBS I ventured. Knowing this was my last time with Alex, I put her on my shoulder (her favorite place to ride in the car), turned up the radio and off we went.

Arriving 75 minutes later at FEBS, I was greeted by Patricia and given a tour. We put Alex in her acclimation cage and I decided I'd better go. I was absolutely overwhelmed with grief! I know, she's just a bird but unless you've had one, you just don't get it.

Over the next few weeks, Patricia kept me updated on how Allie was doing and sent some photos. All good in her getting acclimated to Florida, the other birds, the food, everything. It was amazing to me how Patricia had a plan for getting Allie comfortable one step at a time.

About 45 days later, I got additional photos of Allie in the AMAZON Flight with all the other Amazons. She could finally "just be a bird". Incredible relief to me.

There is no better place that Alex could be than FEBS. I'm grateful every single day for the care and sanctuary that Patricia and her devoted staff and volunteers provide. I plan on going to visit over the holiday! Thank you, FEBS!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 15, 2013

Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary continues to do great work in helping abandoned or neglected parrots. Recently through the help of a supporter they were able to rescue a parrot that was poorly treated ... more

July 11, 2014

Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary continues to exceed my expectations as they work hard to expand their facility. They have used your generous donations to purchase land that has the potential to let them double the number of birds that they can care for. With an ever increasing number of birds that are relinquished or abandoned because of economic issues, they are bursting at the seams and need the space. They are creative and successful in approaching and getting help from local businesses. Any dollar donated here is well spent and maximized.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary continues to do great work in helping abandoned or neglected parrots. Recently through the help of a supporter they were able to rescue a parrot that was poorly treated and had plucking issues. This bird is now happy and growing new feathers. This is just one of many success stories for this organization. Check out their website, subscribe to their blog and learn about all they do. Then contribute what you can so they can expand their work. We do!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2012

My husband and I were recently excited to find a quality sanctuary for exotic birds (parrots) close to our home. We had been looking for a place to place our parrots when our health no longer allows us to properly care for them. Many pet parrots live for 60-80 years and are shuffled from person to person as their owners become debilitated or pass on. FEBS gives these birds a forever home where they can be birds. They are housed in outdoor cages and flights where they can fly, call each other and interact with their own species. The grounds and cages are immaculate and the director, Patricia Norton, is extrememly knowledgable. FEBS has an impressive Board of Directors and a good volunteer and donor network. They are currently looking to buy a larger property and expand because there are many more birds that need homes than they can accomodate.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

FEBS truly cares about the birds they take in and they treat every single member of the flock like their very own personal pet. I've seen first hand the love and affection they show these birds and the high standards of cleanliness, healthy feeding & watering practices and even so far as which cage they will place birds based on their personality. FEBS really knows what they are doing and they are an honest team. It makes my heart happy knowing my two conures have such a loving forever home where they can "just be a bird"! Thank you FEBS!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing to change

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014

more

July 7, 2014

My CAG is a beautiful 16 year old, or there abouts, who came to live with us 6 years ago after her owner left her to return to France. Plucked naked and scared of her own shadow then, she is now a vibrant, fully feathered, fully flighted part of our family.

I started searching for a place
where she could go when I am no longer here for her. I visited Patricia and the Sanctuary after some careful research. How exciting to see all those beautiful creatures flying, eating and happy!

My main focus was, of course, on the Grey Aviary and was surprised as each Grey came over to the enclosure to say hello or get a scratch. Friendly, talking and unassuming they just seemed to be greeting me.

I spent about 2 hours there and lots of time asking Patricia lots of questions. At the end of the day, we have decided that we will not rehome Ashye, but allow her to spend the rest of her days with a flock of her own kind, knowing she will be well cared for.

These are special creatures that need a place to call home forever, and your donations can only make their lives better....I know Ashye will be thankful!

Peg

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I met Patricia and the birds at FEBS a couple of weeks ago. I must say how impressed I am with the sanctuary and Patricia's vision for FEBS. I plan to relocate my babies to FEBS in the near future knowing I'm doing the best thing for them. I want them to be birds, to live with other birds, and to be able to fly. I have found the place where I can give them that gift.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2013

more

November 3, 2013

I found FEBS because I was planning a trust for my birds and wanted to feel comfortable in knowing they would be going to a good place should anything happen to me. After reviewing the FEBS website I was so impressed I made a visit to see if it was one of those places that was "just too good to be true".

Well, it IS good and it IS true! I can't tell you how impressed I was at seeing the sanctuary with my own eyes. So impressed that I drive 2 hours one way to volunteer to do what I do at home...clean cages and feed and water birds! But what a wonderful feeling it is to know that I'm doing just this small thing to help these glorious creatures!

Pat, the founder, is a wonderful person with a big heart and an even bigger vision. She runs a tight ship to make sure that the birds are #1 priority in regard to cleanliness, meeting their needs, and letting them live as they should...as flock birds! What a joy it was to see them pairing up to preen, snuggle, and nap.

She also has an acclimation period for newcomers so they get used to new surroundings, sounds, and "meeting" other birds of their own breed before they enter the aviary. It's important to Pat that they experience as little stress as possible during the transition. Now THAT'S a person that knows what she's doing!

If you're thinking about donating to something worthwhile, this is the place. It's as easy as sponsoring one of the birds or you can get the "wish list" and ear mark for one of the many needs of the sanctuary.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be that they are flooded with donations and sponsorships

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

Placing our four beloved Amazon parrots at the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary (FEBS) was the best decision that my husband and I have ever made for our birds. We wanted to ensure that our parrots (two of whom have minor special needs) would always have the best care and environment to ensure their health and happiness long term, especially if they were to survive us or our ability to care for them. Because we have no family member or friend who could care for our birds if we were unable to do so, I began to search for the best avian sanctuary that would accept them when that time came. Several long-established rescues were willing to accept our parrots, but none met all the criteria that are important to us. Then, after a 6-year search, we found FEBS. We soon realized that FEBS offers all the advantages we’d hoped to find for Maria, Gonzo, Lucy, and Bella, and that the environment there is better for them than the best we could provide in our home. We decided to apply for their immediate placement and were grateful that they were accepted for residence there. In July of this year, we transferred our birds to FEBS. With Pat Norton’s advice and guidance, their flight on the airline she recommended was smooth and without problems. We provided funding so that a large outdoor flight cage (21 feet long, 12 feet wide, and 8 feet high) could be built for our parrots, and in that cage, they can really fly! They have many toys to play with and an excellent diet, and they are free to socialize at all times with each other and with four other compatible Amazons who now share their cage. Our parrots receive the medical care they require (an avian veterinarian regularly visits FEBS), and I can see from their current photos that their feather condition has improved since they left our home, probably because of the misting system that FEBS provides and the high humidity in Florida (both of which benefit those tropical birds). We look forward to installing a Web cam in our parrots’ cage so that we can log on and “visit” them at any time. We have great confidence in Pat Norton’s knowledge about parrot psychology, behavior, and care and in her commitment to providing the best environment for FEBS birds. We look forward to her updates about our Amazons, and we remain delighted with our decision to place our parrots at FEBS. If you would like more information about our experience in doing so, please ask Pat for our contact information.

Jane Vail (Mark Vail, husband)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 23, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 10, 2012

My much loved Blue and Gold now lives at Pat's sanctuary. Hardest decision ever made but the best one ever made too... He loves it there. He is free to fly and now has a girlfriend mate. I don't h... more

July 23, 2013

Three years ago I brought by Blue and Gold Macaw to live at the sanctuary. I have visited a few times and he is happy, content and, I think, in love.... I could not have picked a better place for my beloved bird and knowing he is happy makes me happy. I now donate regularly to Pat's sanctuary as a way to take care of him and other birds that are so kindly adopted by Pat. I hope that everyone understands how hard it is to take care of these wonderful creatures and helps to keep the sanctuary going.

Best Regards,

Nearly New Thrift
Benefiting Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary...

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 10, 2012

My much loved Blue and Gold now lives at Pat's sanctuary. Hardest decision ever made but the best one ever made too... He loves it there. He is free to fly and now has a girlfriend mate. I don't have to worry because I know Pat takes good care of her birds. I will always love him but I know I did the right thing. thank you pat...

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 17, 2012

I placed my Sun Conure, Cheeto, with FEBS just this morning. While I am heartbroken that I will no longer have her in my daily life, I am thrilled to have found such an amazing place for her. I 'owned... more

May 9, 2013

It's been less than a year since I took my Sun Conure 'Cheeto' to FEBS. When I made the decision to place her with FEBS I was devastated because I worried she wouldn't be happy--that she would miss me and couldn't possibly live without me. BOY WAS I WRONG! Cheeto is now in a LARGE flight cage with other conures and is doing GREAT! I went to visit her last weekend and she remembered me, gave me kisses, and sat on my shoulder. It was bittersweet but I will never regret placing her at FEBS. Patricia and her staff are truly amazing, they go out of their way to keep you updated on your bird and do everything they can to get other birds sponsored. I'm just happy that Cheeto and all the other lucky birds at FEBS can just be birds.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 17, 2012

I placed my Sun Conure, Cheeto, with FEBS just this morning. While I am heartbroken that I will no longer have her in my daily life, I am thrilled to have found such an amazing place for her. I 'owned' Cheeto for nearly 3 years and she was so irrevocably bonded to me that she would have nothing to do with anyone else. If she was not perched on my shoulder at all times she was screaming and calling out for me. Needless to say this caused problems during the work week and I ended up realizing that my keeping her was selfish. She deserves the kind of care and life she will be getting with FEBS--a life I could never have provided for her. Thank GOD for FEBS! I am so happy to have found FEBS and Patricia.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

Our Blue and Gold maccaw, Lola, had been spending time outside of her cage most of her life until one day she flew off and we had trouble getting her back. After that, she was inside of her cage and seemed to hate that, and so did we. My heart ached for her and I did some research online and found that Florida Exotic Sanctuary was our best chance of providing her an environment that is the closest she'll ever be to her natural environment; however, the idea of not seeing her everyday was sad for me so we started by leaving her there for a week, and then came to visit her, then two weeks up to four weeks. After the trial period she seemed so happy and relaxed, it would have been a sin to take her out of that environment. Thanks to Patty, her patience with us and her love and understanding of these birds we could come to terms with parting with our bird and understand that she needs more than just human interaction to be happy. She can now fly, she is among others of her kind and she is blossoming like she would have never had she stayed in the environment that we were able to provide. Thanks, FEBS! Thanks, Patty!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Learn about and interact with over 300 Rescued Parrots! Volunteer