Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
140 Reviews
1234.978575
| 1 ... 9 10 11...13 |
Write A Review
November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

My Muloccan Cockatoo, Sydney was with me for over 15 years,then came Gabriel, a gorgeous blue and gold Macaw, and his friend Seth, a small ring neck parrot...they were given to me by another girl who could no longer care for them. We all happily moved to Florida, where I envisioned a happier, warmer climate for them, and me, and a lot more freedom. It wasn't the case, as I didn't have the time, (or neighbors patience) to devote to them. I found FEBS and Pat, and I was amazed at the beauty, and cleanliness of the area, and impressed by her and the staffs dedication to the birds.And the determination and visions for even more space and freedom for these beautiful birds. Although at times I miss them I know they are happier here, and well taken care of. And we can visit them anytime. Thank you FEBS !!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

Our wonderful cockatoo, Ito, who was part of our family for more than 25 years moved to his new home in January of 2011. We were extremely fortunate to find this sanctuary which we researched and visited before making our selection. I cannot speak highly enough of Pat and her dedication to the birds. She treats each one as a unique individual. Our bird is now a much more relaxed and happy animal and every time I visit I become more reassured that this was the best decision for him. It is a great place with a dedicated wonderful staff and volunteers. We still miss him but know that he is happy and in good hands.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

These are simply wonderful people! The woman who runs the place is a seemingly tireless advocate for these birds. I visited the place several months ago and it was clean and there were volunteers there taking care of the birds. Many people dont realize that their bird could outlive them. These wonderful people will take your bird and allow it to live out its life in relative freedom. If you love your own bird, you got to love these people. I cant say enough about this organization! Thomas Vaughan

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

Ginny M-I am so happy that I was able to find Pat and FEBS. I was the proud parent of 2 african greys and 4 quakers that I loved dearly when my DR. informed me that I had a serious medical condition and had to give up my birds. I was heartbroken; they were my babies and a huge part of our family. I didn't know where to turn until a friend told me about Pat and FEBS. She invited me to visit- I knew as soon as I met her and watched her interact with the other birds that they would be safe and loved. I've visited them on several occasions and know I made the right decision. People who don't have a bird relationship can't totally understand what wonderful creatures they are and how much they deserve the best of care. I owe Pat a world of thanks for helping me to be able to accept the decision I had to make. I would recommend this sanctuary to anyone who has a bird that needs a loving home for whatever reason.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

I am so happy I found FEBS for my blue and gold macaw. I love my bird so much that I wanted her to have a better life with other birds. She was perfectly happy living with me in my apartment but I felt like she yearned for more. I compared several bird sanctuaries but FEBS stood out because of all the pictures they posted and all the information they put on their website. Also, they have a huge flight cage for the macaws so that my bird can actually fly! I talked to the owner and it was obvious she cares deeply for these birds and I knew it was the right place for my parrot. I drove from Jackson, Ms to Wesley Chapel, Fl with no hesitation. I thought my bird would be scared but by the time I was leaving, she was already playing with her toys. The owner sent me pictures and kept me updated about how my bird was adjusting. It's been almost a year and my bird already has a boyfriend! I can breathe a sigh of relief knowing she is well taken care of. Thanks FEBS!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I searched for years for a new home for my birds. I eventually came accross FEBS and began corresponding with Pat. After a few weeks I decided to drive up to Wesley Chapel and check it out. I was instantly impressed with how much she genuinely cared for these animals and equally impressed that she had turned her entire property into a their sanctuary. After a few months I made the difficult decision to move my Blue & Gold and African Grey up there. I had raised both of them from eggs and had them roughly 17+ years. They were in an outdoor aviary I had built, with plenty of space to move around. Still I wanted more for my caged friends. I wasn't looking for someone to just take over the reponsibility, but rather give them a habitat as close to nature as was possible for a caged bird. The Macaw flight cage is an amazing structure. They are able to fly freely (as they were intended to) and likely have no idea they are "caged" at all. This place is one of a kind, and while I miss them.....I've never regretted my decision. Keep up the good work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

Our family had to make the difficult decision to give up or Sun Conure, Lois. We searched everywhere for the best possible place for her to live how she should and be happy for the rest of her life. FEBS was the only place that we felt comfortable with and could trust. We drove all the way from Texas with her and she was welcomed with open arms by Pat Norton. Since then we have visited once and talked to Pat several times and Lois is doing wonderful! We are looking forward to the next time we see her! Pat and her staff only have the birds best interest at heart and realize what they mean to you and know this is a life long need. Pat and everyone at FEBS are truly doing an amazing thing! We are so thankful!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary is providing an invaluable service to our avian friends. When we had to make the very difficult decision to find a way to re-home our 2 beloved Macaws, Pat Norton set our hearts free when she agreed to take them at FEBS. They are now living free in the flight cage, and we were able to move forward in life knowing they are loved, well cared for, and most important, living a life as close to the one God intended them to live.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

When I met Pat Norton I was very impressed with her knowledge of parrot behavior and her love and commitment to all her adopted "fids" (feathered kids). I have six parrots of my own and after visiting the Sanctuary and seeing parrots flourish in a natural outdoor setting with proper environmental stimulation, I began the construction of my own outdoor aviary. Pat has devoted her life to providing protection for companion birds who, by no fault or choice of their own, cannot help themselves and depend on humans for their care. I would love to see the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary raise the funds to expand, to grow into another natural-Florida destination equal to the Florida Aquarium or the Manatee Viewing Center in Apollo Beach. Please support this wonderful nonprofit organization!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My family and I became interested in FEBS when we realized our large cockatoo was not a happy bird and needed to be around other birds like herself. We discovered FEBS on the internet and after visiting, we placed our pet, Cammy Sue, with Pat Norton, the administrator. That was over two years ago. My daughter and son-in-law go there every other month, taking enough fresh fruits and vegetable to feed all the birds for at least a month. I send food also, from PetSolutions and Drs. Foster & Smith websites. Since I am 73, I have not visited a whole lot, but this bird sanctuary is Tops. The birds are all well fed, their habitats kept clean, fresh water given daily and Pat observes them all on a daily basis. She is trained as a bird vet assistant and has done this for many years. She truly is dedicated to the birds and is a special person proving to my family that her main interests are for the birds and not for herself. In the heat of the summer, misters are set on a timer to keep the birds cool. In the winter heat lamps are used with cage blankets to offset the cold. Presently, the sanctuary is in need of expansion. I hope and deeply pray, that someone with land they don't need in the country, will consisder donating it to the sanctuary. There is a large list of birds waiting to be placed here, but there isn't room for them. Birds from all around the USA are residents now and I LOVE those beautiful creatures. They are so entertaining and tallented.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Learn about and interact with over 300 Rescued Parrots! Volunteer