Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
153 Reviews
1234.980395
Write A Review
April 15, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

What an absolute JOY it was to visit the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary in January. I learned of this extraordinary sanctuary while doing estate planning for my five companion parrots. The moment I stepped foot on the property, I was struck by the beauty of the sanctuary and the peaceful, welcoming environment created for these Ambassadors of the Parrot Nation. I practice and teach the healing arts, and after touring the sanctuary, Pat Norton allowed me to play Native American healing flute for the birds and to participate in serving a client who was relinquishing their beloved male Indian Ringneck parrot to the sanctuary. I listened to joyful calls from a female Indian RIngneck parrot already living at the sanctuary to this new bird, and watched and played the flute while Pat introduced them. It was an amazing experience, as one bird welcomed the other as if she had been missing him her entire life! I witnessed Pat's incredible, comforting Presence and expertise as she talked to the family and the birds, creating for all of us a serene space of transition for family and parrot to a new life. After the family left, I walked the grounds and visited each flight. Then, Pat helped me through my fear of working with macaws by taking me into the macaw flight, and showing me how to feed them almonds. Once I overcame my fear, one by one, these beautiful macaws would land on my arms and take two almonds from my hand or the bucket I held containing these precious treats! I spent many hours at the sanctuary, witnessing the incredible compassion and love Pat, her family, and the volunteers have for all the birds. I left part of me at the sanctuary, knowing I had found the future home of my parrots and me, as my dream is to transition my birds to the sanctuary and volunteer there for the remainder of my life. I became a member of FEBS, and hope to return there permanently as soon as I can relocate. I am helping the sanctuary now by donations, and am so relieved to know that my family of five have the very best home awaiting them at FEBS. I am ever so grateful to have met Pat, whose loving presence and friendship is also helping me through the trials of being the sole caregiver for a family member with a chronic illness. You see, the love and concern Pat has for the parrots also extends to every living Being whose life she touches. She is a fantastic manager and business person, too, with a vision to expand the sanctuary so that more parrots and families like mine can be served in the future. I also participated in a matching funds program, which doubled the contribution I made to FEBS. I highly recommend FEBS as one of the Great Nonprofits in our country, and am deeply grateful to Pat and her staff for the loving work of their Hearts and Hands for our parrot companions.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I needed a safe and as close to natural setting available for my parrot and Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary was perfect. The intake process of bringing my bird to the sanctuary, learning what the quarantine process was, and then seeing the aviary he would be joining was great.

I came to
visit several weeks later and my bird was doing great! The aviary is large and open with plenty of room to fly, play with the other birds and toys, and be a bird. This is what I wanted for my baby. He also has found a buddy who preens and loves him. I couldn't be happier.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

When it is no longer possible to keep a large parrot in a home the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary is a godsend. Because of bird breeders, many people now own Macaws and other large birds as pets. Oft... more

July 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When we had to give up our male Blue and Gold Macaw, Elvis, three years ago, we found this wonderful sanctuary. Every visit back has confirmed our expectations. The folks at the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary do a magnificent job with their charges. We cannot thank them enough.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012

When it is no longer possible to keep a large parrot in a home the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary is a godsend. Because of bird breeders, many people now own Macaws and other large birds as pets. Often, after many years, these birds become too aggressive to continue as companion animals. That is when the large aviaries and expert staff at the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary come to the rescue. We had to surrender Elvis, our blue and gold macaw, after ten years. We had originally received Elvis as a rescue, and as we had already had another smaller parrot for many years, we felt capable of caring for him. All went well until he reached approximately the age of 18 - our sweet bird became too aggressive to handle. It was heartbreaking for us, but we know he is happy and well cared for. It was very important to us that he would not be up for adoption. These birds live a long time, and there are many of them out there who will need the sanctuary this organization provides.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Yes, my brother, only 3 years older than me, had passed away. He left his two exotic Amazon Double Yellow-Head Parrots (Cisco and Ciara), and a large, wonderful cat that I now call, Chappy. I fostered his parrots for about 7 months, and it was a love affair from the beginning, but at my age then (65) realized they were just too much for me to handle in a way that was the best for 'them'.

I began an intensive research on what would be the best environment for them regarding a new home: Try to find someone to pass them over to, or surrender them to a bird sanctuary! I talked with others I knew that had parrots, and I GOOGLED for sanctuaries across the USA. I found several, a couple in California, one near the east coast, and two in Florida. After reading about them, and making contacts with some of the sanctuaries, I decided - WITHOUT A DOUBT - the best place for them was the FLORIDA EXOTIC BIRD SANCTUARY (FEBS) in Wesley Chapel, Florida (currently).

As I talked with Patricia (Owner/Founder, and Avian Veterinarian) of the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary I realized this was the best place for any domesticated parrot. From the time we pulled into the driveway at the FEBS we were immediately greeted by a volunteer and Patricia. -- My parrots were both very, very keen on all the sounds of all the many, many parrots (380) already residing at the sanctuary. -- We transferred Cisco & Ciara into a large 'holding' cage (that they had waiting for them) located in the holding area. Then, we were given a thorough tour of the sanctuary.

FEBS is a wonderful, non-for-profit organization, that truly understands and cares for the needs of these beautiful birds. This sanctuary does now allow the bird to breed, nor do they sell or adopt out any of the birds; the parrots will live out the remainder of their life socializing with other parrots of their kind; feeling free and able to actually 'fly' as they were naturally meant to live. All of the parrots that are surrendered to the sanctuary are gently cared for by the staff and volunteers.

I surrendered my brother's parrots (Cisco & Ciara) to the sanctuary in November 2013 and I plan to visit them maybe this Fall 2014. I am hoping they will remember me, and I cannot wait too see how they are getting along, if they have grown, and how happy they are now . . . socializing with other Amazons and feeling free!

I cannot find the best words to express how I feel about the sanctuary that Patricia has founded, from her love of birds / exotic birds, and from her keen awareness of the need for such a sanctuary.

Barbara Spanknoble, Lenexa, Kansas

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of any changes . . . but I know that changes are in place for enlarging the sanctuary, and for building more and larger aviaries for each parrot group. It will be wonderful!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

A year ago I made the most difficult decision I've ever had to make in my 5 decades of life. I had raised my greenwing macaw from her hatch date, February 2003. We were bonded or so I thought. At age eleven she started displaying signs of sexual maturity and was becoming increasingly aggressive towards me. Greenwings are pretty much one person birds so I was the only one that could handle her without getting bit, but as I said, she was becoming dangerously aggressive, jealous of the other animals and my husband. On top of that, taking her to the vet for the quarterly wing clipping and beak grinding was starting to grind on my guilt. What was I doing to this poor creature? She was a bird with natural bird instincts and here I was trying to domesticate her. That's when Pat Norton swooped into my life on the internet, and cooed those magic words, "We allow your bird to just be a bird." Like I said, it was the hardest thing for me to let go of a creature that I thought that I would have forever. But Pat Norton's kind nature, the existence of the sanctuary and it's volunteers not only made my decision easier but possible. I still miss my bird, but a simple phone call or texted picture dries up whatever tears I may shed. I made the right decision and the best choice for my bird. I am so glad that I found FEBS!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be able to move in with my bird! The place is amazing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My very good friend, Dude, a 20 year old miligold macaw, has been in the compassionate and capable care of FEBS since late 2011. He is thriving there and has even become paired with a very cute, he tells me, Blue & Gold female macaw. As a retiring veterinarian, I searched and researched situations that would allow Dude the future he deserved, even though he could not follow us into our next life chapter. I am forever grateful for the extraordinary commitment the FEBS staff and volunteers make to assure birds like Dude a 'forever' home when it is most needed. I also am thankful for the other caring donors who make the continuation and expansion of this good work possible.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

This is by far the best bird sanctuary that I have ever actually volunteered at and observed the love and compassion that the owner and president Patricia Northern puts into it seven days a week . She dedicates her life to these beautiful and loving parrots . The birds are like children needing love and care it will bring tears to your eyes all they want is love and to be a bird and that is what they get at FEBS .
Being a parrot owner and on disability I know the love and attention it requires to take proper care of them and some day I may have to place my sweet boy at FEBS . I hope I will be able to care for him through out his life but if not I will have peace in my mind and heart knowing he is in the best hands with pat and FEBS .. It also is expensive to take care of the parrots feeding them and medical attention when necessary and they jump right on it if they need medical care . I don't think most people know what all is involved in taking care of a parrot and the costs that go along with it . If you are looking or thinking about placing your bird I hope this letter helps you make your mind up , as well as donations are always welcome and needed for our feathered children .. Thank you .
Michele P.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Tell the world some way so we can get more money and spoil the birds as much as we can you never can have enough money .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

FEBS is a TRUE sanctuary in every sense of the word. We placed our cockatoo with them because we saw the love and care that every bird receives AND we knew that our bird would never have to leave the sanctuary. None of these birds are "nameless" creatures to any of the staff and every staff member takes time with these awesome birds. Every need is met for every bird. They are fed balanced diets, housed in clean and temperate environments, given regular medical care, and they are LOVED. Patricia Norton is lovingly called "Bird Mother" because she is a mother to these birds...they are all her babies. FEBS, Patricia Norton, and all of the staff are dedicated to the nurture and well being of these magnificent birds.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 21, 2013

Our Blue & Gold Macaw, Tango, was placed with FEBS in 2012. He has blossomed in the outdoor aviary with fellow macaws and is living the life! more

July 11, 2014

Our Macaw, Tango, is a permanent resident at FEBS and absolutely loves it. No more feather plucking and anxiety now that he has a flock to live with!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it even bigger!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 21, 2013

Our Blue & Gold Macaw, Tango, was placed with FEBS in 2012. He has blossomed in the outdoor aviary with fellow macaws and is living the life!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

FEBS provided the ideal answer to our dilemma: What would best meet the needs of our macaw with anxiety issues that we could not alleviate? We adopted Tango from a rescue but after a year realized we were all going to go insane with the screaming. We cared for him dearly and knew that returning him to the rescue was not in his best interests. After some extensive searching, I found FEBS, and it instantly felt right. We made arrangements to take him to the sanctuary in July 2012. The birds are obviously well cared for, and it's the perfect environment. Before my eyes, I saw Tango's dry, peeling beak respond to the humidity by looking black and healthy overnight. We met some wonderful volunteers who were very understanding and sympathetic. We keep in touch with Patricia for updates and recently received the bittersweet news that she can no longer identify him, meaning his feather plucking has ended, and he's fully integrated into the flock. I'm happy for him. It was awful leaving him, and we still miss his antics and "kisses" - but we know he is in a much better place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

Our sweet macaw, Crackers, needed more help and care than we were able to provide for her. To give her up broke our hearts. The really good and professional care that Patricia and FEBS gives her, gives us much hope for her future. Crackers has grown fond of several of the volunteers and is adjusting well, from an "only child" to a riot of over 400 very vocal parrots. Patricia has worked with us to keep us informed of Crackers' progress and we look forward to each visit. We are helping to fund the Special Needs flight aviary for the new property in Hudson, and will truly exhale when Crackers is able to join her new "flock" of buddies and fly and play, and as FEBS advocates, "just be a bird."

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organizational structure is very professional and Patricia and the Board make sound, logical, and fiscally realistic long (and short) -term goals. The volunteers are wonderful. But more well-paid full time employees would be a great addition and give Pat some breathing room! She is 24/7 and we are grateful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Learn about and interact with over 300 Rescued Parrots! Volunteer