Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
140 Reviews
1234.978575
Previous | 1 2 3...13 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

What an absolute JOY it was to visit the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary in January. I learned of this extraordinary sanctuary while doing estate planning for my five companion parrots. The moment I stepped foot on the property, I was struck by the beauty of the sanctuary and the peaceful, welcoming environment created for these Ambassadors of the Parrot Nation. I practice and teach the healing arts, and after touring the sanctuary, Pat Norton allowed me to play Native American healing flute for the birds and to participate in serving a client who was relinquishing their beloved male Indian Ringneck parrot to the sanctuary. I listened to joyful calls from a female Indian RIngneck parrot already living at the sanctuary to this new bird, and watched and played the flute while Pat introduced them. It was an amazing experience, as one bird welcomed the other as if she had been missing him her entire life! I witnessed Pat's incredible, comforting Presence and expertise as she talked to the family and the birds, creating for all of us a serene space of transition for family and parrot to a new life. After the family left, I walked the grounds and visited each flight. Then, Pat helped me through my fear of working with macaws by taking me into the macaw flight, and showing me how to feed them almonds. Once I overcame my fear, one by one, these beautiful macaws would land on my arms and take two almonds from my hand or the bucket I held containing these precious treats! I spent many hours at the sanctuary, witnessing the incredible compassion and love Pat, her family, and the volunteers have for all the birds. I left part of me at the sanctuary, knowing I had found the future home of my parrots and me, as my dream is to transition my birds to the sanctuary and volunteer there for the remainder of my life. I became a member of FEBS, and hope to return there permanently as soon as I can relocate. I am helping the sanctuary now by donations, and am so relieved to know that my family of five have the very best home awaiting them at FEBS. I am ever so grateful to have met Pat, whose loving presence and friendship is also helping me through the trials of being the sole caregiver for a family member with a chronic illness. You see, the love and concern Pat has for the parrots also extends to every living Being whose life she touches. She is a fantastic manager and business person, too, with a vision to expand the sanctuary so that more parrots and families like mine can be served in the future. I also participated in a matching funds program, which doubled the contribution I made to FEBS. I highly recommend FEBS as one of the Great Nonprofits in our country, and am deeply grateful to Pat and her staff for the loving work of their Hearts and Hands for our parrot companions.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I met Patricia and the birds at FEBS a couple of weeks ago. I must say how impressed I am with the sanctuary and Patricia's vision for FEBS. I plan to relocate my babies to FEBS in the near future knowing I'm doing the best thing for them. I want them to be birds, to live with other birds, and to be able to fly. I have found the place where I can give them that gift.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2013

more

November 3, 2013

I found FEBS because I was planning a trust for my birds and wanted to feel comfortable in knowing they would be going to a good place should anything happen to me. After reviewing the FEBS website I was so impressed I made a visit to see if it was one of those places that was "just too good to be true".

Well, it IS good and it IS true! I can't tell you how impressed I was at seeing the sanctuary with my own eyes. So impressed that I drive 2 hours one way to volunteer to do what I do at home...clean cages and feed and water birds! But what a wonderful feeling it is to know that I'm doing just this small thing to help these glorious creatures!

Pat, the founder, is a wonderful person with a big heart and an even bigger vision. She runs a tight ship to make sure that the birds are #1 priority in regard to cleanliness, meeting their needs, and letting them live as they should...as flock birds! What a joy it was to see them pairing up to preen, snuggle, and nap.

She also has an acclimation period for newcomers so they get used to new surroundings, sounds, and "meeting" other birds of their own breed before they enter the aviary. It's important to Pat that they experience as little stress as possible during the transition. Now THAT'S a person that knows what she's doing!

If you're thinking about donating to something worthwhile, this is the place. It's as easy as sponsoring one of the birds or you can get the "wish list" and ear mark for one of the many needs of the sanctuary.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be that they are flooded with donations and sponsorships

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

Placing our four beloved Amazon parrots at the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary (FEBS) was the best decision that my husband and I have ever made for our birds. We wanted to ensure that our parrots (two of whom have minor special needs) would always have the best care and environment to ensure their health and happiness long term, especially if they were to survive us or our ability to care for them. Because we have no family member or friend who could care for our birds if we were unable to do so, I began to search for the best avian sanctuary that would accept them when that time came. Several long-established rescues were willing to accept our parrots, but none met all the criteria that are important to us. Then, after a 6-year search, we found FEBS. We soon realized that FEBS offers all the advantages we’d hoped to find for Maria, Gonzo, Lucy, and Bella, and that the environment there is better for them than the best we could provide in our home. We decided to apply for their immediate placement and were grateful that they were accepted for residence there. In July of this year, we transferred our birds to FEBS. With Pat Norton’s advice and guidance, their flight on the airline she recommended was smooth and without problems. We provided funding so that a large outdoor flight cage (21 feet long, 12 feet wide, and 8 feet high) could be built for our parrots, and in that cage, they can really fly! They have many toys to play with and an excellent diet, and they are free to socialize at all times with each other and with four other compatible Amazons who now share their cage. Our parrots receive the medical care they require (an avian veterinarian regularly visits FEBS), and I can see from their current photos that their feather condition has improved since they left our home, probably because of the misting system that FEBS provides and the high humidity in Florida (both of which benefit those tropical birds). We look forward to installing a Web cam in our parrots’ cage so that we can log on and “visit” them at any time. We have great confidence in Pat Norton’s knowledge about parrot psychology, behavior, and care and in her commitment to providing the best environment for FEBS birds. We look forward to her updates about our Amazons, and we remain delighted with our decision to place our parrots at FEBS. If you would like more information about our experience in doing so, please ask Pat for our contact information.

Jane Vail (Mark Vail, husband)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

In early 2013, it became abundantly clear that our beloved 20 year old Yellow Nape was no longer getting the attention she so richly deserved. I was working long hours and my wife worked from home and did not truly have time for Alex who was my bird from the start. I was quite distraught but realized that placing her was best in the long run for all of us. I did not ever want her to be adopted but instead placed in a "sanctuary" where she could live her life with other birds.

I looked all over the country and was so blessed to find Patricia and FEBS. After multiple calls and emails, final plans were made to take Alex to Florida.

I boarded the plane, sitting in the last row against the window with Alex on my lap. She drew quite a crowd! Landing in Orlando, I got my rental car and off to FEBS I ventured. Knowing this was my last time with Alex, I put her on my shoulder (her favorite place to ride in the car), turned up the radio and off we went.

Arriving 75 minutes later at FEBS, I was greeted by Patricia and given a tour. We put Alex in her acclimation cage and I decided I'd better go. I was absolutely overwhelmed with grief! I know, she's just a bird but unless you've had one, you just don't get it.

Over the next few weeks, Patricia kept me updated on how Allie was doing and sent some photos. All good in her getting acclimated to Florida, the other birds, the food, everything. It was amazing to me how Patricia had a plan for getting Allie comfortable one step at a time.

About 45 days later, I got additional photos of Allie in the AMAZON Flight with all the other Amazons. She could finally "just be a bird". Incredible relief to me.

There is no better place that Alex could be than FEBS. I'm grateful every single day for the care and sanctuary that Patricia and her devoted staff and volunteers provide. I plan on going to visit over the holiday! Thank you, FEBS!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 23, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 10, 2012

My much loved Blue and Gold now lives at Pat's sanctuary. Hardest decision ever made but the best one ever made too... He loves it there. He is free to fly and now has a girlfriend mate. I don't h... more

July 23, 2013

Three years ago I brought by Blue and Gold Macaw to live at the sanctuary. I have visited a few times and he is happy, content and, I think, in love.... I could not have picked a better place for my beloved bird and knowing he is happy makes me happy. I now donate regularly to Pat's sanctuary as a way to take care of him and other birds that are so kindly adopted by Pat. I hope that everyone understands how hard it is to take care of these wonderful creatures and helps to keep the sanctuary going.

Best Regards,

Nearly New Thrift
Benefiting Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary...

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 10, 2012

My much loved Blue and Gold now lives at Pat's sanctuary. Hardest decision ever made but the best one ever made too... He loves it there. He is free to fly and now has a girlfriend mate. I don't have to worry because I know Pat takes good care of her birds. I will always love him but I know I did the right thing. thank you pat...

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 17, 2012

I placed my Sun Conure, Cheeto, with FEBS just this morning. While I am heartbroken that I will no longer have her in my daily life, I am thrilled to have found such an amazing place for her. I 'owned... more

May 9, 2013

It's been less than a year since I took my Sun Conure 'Cheeto' to FEBS. When I made the decision to place her with FEBS I was devastated because I worried she wouldn't be happy--that she would miss me and couldn't possibly live without me. BOY WAS I WRONG! Cheeto is now in a LARGE flight cage with other conures and is doing GREAT! I went to visit her last weekend and she remembered me, gave me kisses, and sat on my shoulder. It was bittersweet but I will never regret placing her at FEBS. Patricia and her staff are truly amazing, they go out of their way to keep you updated on your bird and do everything they can to get other birds sponsored. I'm just happy that Cheeto and all the other lucky birds at FEBS can just be birds.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 17, 2012

I placed my Sun Conure, Cheeto, with FEBS just this morning. While I am heartbroken that I will no longer have her in my daily life, I am thrilled to have found such an amazing place for her. I 'owned' Cheeto for nearly 3 years and she was so irrevocably bonded to me that she would have nothing to do with anyone else. If she was not perched on my shoulder at all times she was screaming and calling out for me. Needless to say this caused problems during the work week and I ended up realizing that my keeping her was selfish. She deserves the kind of care and life she will be getting with FEBS--a life I could never have provided for her. Thank GOD for FEBS! I am so happy to have found FEBS and Patricia.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

Our Blue and Gold maccaw, Lola, had been spending time outside of her cage most of her life until one day she flew off and we had trouble getting her back. After that, she was inside of her cage and seemed to hate that, and so did we. My heart ached for her and I did some research online and found that Florida Exotic Sanctuary was our best chance of providing her an environment that is the closest she'll ever be to her natural environment; however, the idea of not seeing her everyday was sad for me so we started by leaving her there for a week, and then came to visit her, then two weeks up to four weeks. After the trial period she seemed so happy and relaxed, it would have been a sin to take her out of that environment. Thanks to Patty, her patience with us and her love and understanding of these birds we could come to terms with parting with our bird and understand that she needs more than just human interaction to be happy. She can now fly, she is among others of her kind and she is blossoming like she would have never had she stayed in the environment that we were able to provide. Thanks, FEBS! Thanks, Patty!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

As age related health issues became an issue as to how well we could provide a quality social life to Sugar (Mollucan cockatoo) we began our 2 year search for a quality home . After checking adaption ... more

April 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After 2 years of searching and investigating I found FEBS. Several visits reenforced my hopes for a sanctuary that had large flights, was clean, not overcrowded and fed the birds a great diet. I placed Sugar, Mollucan cockatoo, there to have a happy social life with room to fly and never be sold or bred. During my recent visit I was invited into the cockatoo flight where I was instantly welcomed by friendly birds that wanted to perch on me and be stroked. I know without doubt that I've placed my love of 20 years with the finest sanctuary. Bless Pat norton and her dedicated staff

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As age related health issues became an issue as to how well we could provide a quality social life to Sugar (Mollucan cockatoo) we began our 2 year search for a quality home . After checking adaption sites from Florida to Washington state we twice visited FEBS and found it to be a beatifully maintained facility staffed by hard working and very compassionate people under the leadership of Pat Norton. The adapted birds of all species enjoy a life in large flights. Surprisingly in spite of the number of birds, Pat and her staff know each one by name. Sugar was carefully introduced into a large flight with other cockatoos and is now enjoying life as a family member. This was an extremely dificult decision to part with him as we had him from the time he was a 14 gram neonate til now(22 years). It is comforting to know that he will always be fed, cared for and never be sold to anyone as a breeder or pet. Hopefully in the near future FEBS will find a larger property so they can expand their mission.Let us not forget that they need our continued support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I appreciate all the loving work that goes into caring for these amazing, smart animals. Great job!!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...13 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Learn about and interact with over 300 Rescued Parrots! Volunteer