Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.894745
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

FAPHN provides excellant opportunities for continued education, advanced education, and service to the community. We had the opportunity to assist our Hispanic community OB patients thru a $1000.00 grant FAPHN offers yearly. My co-workers and I assesed the need of diabetic education in our Hispanic clients of which there was an increasing number of Gestational Diabetics. There were limited choices of teaching aids and books available in Spanish. There were teaching obstacles for those clients who could not read. We were awarded the grant and were able to buy books, pamphlets and teaching aids. We were able to prepare a teaching DVD re Gestational diabetes ( including diet thru our WIC dept.) in English and Spanish. This DVD was used in all 3 of our offices in the county. Furthermore, we were able to prepare a take home information package in Spanish. Consequently, we have had good birth outcomes in those high risk patients. Lynda Camomilli

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I have had the pleasure of working with FAPHN during the past two years to promote public health in the state of Florida. Its members hail from around the state, and are the front line professionals assuring the health and well-being of all of the residents of the state. Many have experienced first-hand cuts to their budgets and programs during these difficult financial times, but all work tirelessly to minimize the effects of these cuts on the people they serve. They assist infants and young mothers, make certain that our water is clean, our children are immunized, and our neighborhoods are safe. They come together through FAPHN to share ideas, to support one another, and to recognize excellence in the field. They make a difference every day.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

FAPHN is truly composed of those who care about people. FAPHN members are professionals, who work for public entities rather than for-profit ones. While the members could individually make more money in the private sector, they sacrifice monetary gain for the honor of providing free service to those in need. FAPHN very much needs contributions to further its goals of helping others. There are few other organizations that do so much with so few financial assets. My then-97-year-old mother (who since passed away) was excited to be a speaker at their annual meeting, where she related her experiences working in public health in the early days. Help FAPHN, if you can.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

FAPHN (Florida Association of Public Health Nurses) is a great organization, spreading the word on the importance of public health to improving the health of the citizens of Florida. Its members all share a common interest in public/community health and believe in its' value and necessity. In a time when funds are being cut it is vital that those concerned with the public sector of health care work together to ensure its survival.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

The Florida Assocation of Public Health Nurses is an organization who provides to the community and health agencies information to help make communities medically healthy. It uses many avenues to serve the public. Our organization received a grant from them to improve educational offertings to the local Medical Reserve Corp (MRC). I am proud of the work they do in the state.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 21, 2012

This organization promotes public health nursing and the benefits to the public from the services that they offer. They put their money where it counts--educating nurses both in undergraduate and pos... more

November 10, 2012

This icharity has established itself as organization which promotes nursing and an advocate for all the "little People" often forgotten in the health care system. It helps nurses pursue advanced education, trains existing nurses with the goal of helping them improve their practice.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 21, 2012

This organization promotes public health nursing and the benefits to the public from the services that they offer. They put their money where it counts--educating nurses both in undergraduate and post graduate education. Public health as a speciality in nursing is little understood. The passion and committment of this organization does much tto educate the public and others as to what we would be without this group. My experience is first hand as a former board member and current president-elect. Even tough I have retired,I am committed to continuing the fire and passion of this organization which can be found no where else in Florida.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I have been a member of this group since it was fromed from another PHN group. Having been a Board member at first and now a supporting member, this goup has been a positive influence for PHNursing in Florida. The mini grants given to nurses to work on those small dreams that develop into big changes in people's lives.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

The Florida Association of Public Health Nurses (FAPHN) Is an outstanding organization. I am proud to say that I have entered my second year of membership. The continuing education programs put on each year by FAPHN are exceptional and quite reasonable. They enable public health nurses to network with colleagues from around the state and beyond. I would highly encourage any nurse interested in public health to join this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

FPHN is the voice for Public Health Nursing in Florida. The organization provides continuing education, community service, practice references and promotes community health needs. I attended the annual convention which was well organized and beneficial. The newsletters provide timely information on public health issues.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

This organization of Public Health Nurses exists to improve the health of the public through interventions by expert nurses in the public health field. The meetings are FULL of pertinent information and the quarterly newsletter brims with timely public health nursing topics.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

be trained to assist during community disasters in areas of support to the public health nurses and environmental services