Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
77 Reviews
1234.89615
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

Fixnation has been the backbone and major support of my own Cat Rescue and Adoption Group called Krazy For Kats. I began my work in rescue a few years ago when I was called on by a friend to assist a feral cat and her babies in a backyard. It was my 1st experience in working with ferals and while I have had cats before, I was unaware of the extent of the homeless cat population in Los Angeles. When I took the kittens to a local vet and told them about the feral colony in the neighborhood, they immediately had me contact Karn Myers and Mark Dodge to get educated on proper TNR. When I rescued this first feral cat family, I realized that I had a burning desire to work more closely with animals. Karn invited me to volunteer at their free spay/neuter clinic a week later. I was shocked at the amount of cats that were brought in to be fixed! I never knew there were people who actually dedicated their time and energy to help these homeless, starved and often injured cats on the streets of LA! I found that I could no longer turn a blind eye. I was so impressed by the dedication of Karn and Mark that I immediately began to volunteer at their spay/neuter clinics. I started with TNR and then began taking in the baby kittens to place for adoption. While working with Fixnation, my own rescue group was formed and I brought 100's of cats per year to their clinic for medical treatments. I have been with Fixnation from the beginning and watched it grow into the amazing organization that they are. During my volunteer work, I was able to get first hand knowledge on how to take care of the cat/kitten rescues, how to educate the public on spay/neuter in my cat adoptions and become a part of a team of animal lovers that have devoted their time to saving lives. Fixnation has become THE place to go for all rescue workers in TNR. It is also where we refer our adopters for basic medical care with their own cats. The clinic staff and vets are extremely knowledgeable, caring and always there to assist you. Fixnation is one of the GREAT Nonprofits of California and deserves to be recognized on the highest levels. Thank you Karn and Mark of Fixnation for your vision, dedication and love for cats. You are an inspiration to us all! Michele Guzy, Founder Krazy For Kats, Inc.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

This is the best Spay and Neuter (S/N) clinic in Los Angeles if not Southern California. They have perfected the process from the moment the cat is brought in to the clinic to when it leaves. New S/N clinics should copy the model for the well being of the cats and the human. For the huge volume of S/N Fix Nation gets through successfully on a daily basis (anyway from 80 to over 100 cats), it is a testament of their professionalism and Veterinary skills. Dr. Creighton rocks. She and all the other Vets will go out of their way to help the kitties even though they are a strict S/N clinic. The Vet techs are also remarkable in keeping everything straight. These people really really care about the feral kitties. Great job Fix Nation!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The neighborhood where there used to be an over population of sick and dying cats and kittens., by having Fix Nation providing free Spay and Neuter, the population is under control and the remaining cats are living out their tough feral life in better condition.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand the model all over the State and Country..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

For sure. Improved my networking skills and gave me a new set of friends.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Darn great!

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

I started volunteering for Fixnation almost two years ago because I believed in their mission, and they responded promptly to my email! I'm always amazed how many nonprofits don't do such a simple thing. I have worked with scheduling and customer service, cleanup, small fix-it jobs around the clinic, and with art. Twice a month, I create new promotional art for the bulletin board in the lobby, and have also worked with Fixnation to create fine art cards to thank special donors. This is a great group of people doing really important work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 11, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
December 11, 2011

FixNation is the answer to the prayers of countless feral cat caretakers! It offers free spay & neuter services for stray and feral cats allowing caretakers to fix entire colonies at no cost to the individual - which would have otherwise been financially impossible! Because of FixNation thousands and thousands of cats will be fixed and the cycle of multiple litters of homeless kittens born on the street will be stopped. FixNation is providing an extremely valuable service to the LA community and surrounding areas - improving the lives of cats & colonies and working toward the day when there will be no more homeless pets!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 9, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
December 9, 2011

I "found" FixNation in January 2009 after three feral cats "found" our backyard. I truly had never heard of feral cats much less how many of them there are. We fell in love with these three and knew they should be fixed. FixNation responded to me nearly immediately, taught me how to trap, LOANED me traps, and provided FREE fixing for them. I found it all hard to believe! They helped me give these three little guys an even greater shot at better lives than me simply providing food. Then some more cats showed up, and FixNation helped me take care of all of them as well. One day while waiting for my cat to be brought out for discharge after surgery, I had a chance to watch the staff BUSTING THEIR BUTTS. I thought they might like some volunteer help, and sure enough they did. I've been there for just under a year. To this day it still amazes me to watch the passion and dedication these folks have to their cause. At work every day Monday through Friday at 6:45 a.m.??? Barely pausing for some lunch??? Going home HOPEFULLY by 5:00 p.m. so they can come back and do it all again tomorrow??? These people are inspirational, and I am so glad I am able to contribute.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist with the check-in and check-out of nearly 80 cats that are fixed at the clinic each day! Volunteer