Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
71 Reviews
1234.887325
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 22, 2013

more

November 22, 2013

I started volunteering for the Catnipper's clinics which reminded me of a big mash unit. Tents and lots of volunteers and row and rows of kitties in traps to be spayed and neutered. I was just in awe of all the people that would show up those early mornings bringing in cat after cat to be fixed.

Thank God for Fixnation as we trappers are out there every week. I have helped so many people that love and care for cats just as much as I do. I know at Fixnation the kitties will get the royal treatment needed before being released, and I don't know what we would do, if we did not have Fixnation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Open more Fixnation's!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 8, 2012

more

July 8, 2012

I have only been volunteering a short while but every time I go there it is very rewarding. To be able to help such a great organization is an honor. FixNation is dedicated to making a huge impact on the cat overpopulation issue and they are doing amazing work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 7, 2012

more

July 7, 2012

FixNation has been an invaluable ally. The veterinarians and volunteers make the humane possible. Over the past few years people have been dumping un-neutered cats when they move out of the neighborhood. The pets become strays; the strays have litters, and soon there's a pack of hungry, un-neutered, feral cats ripping patio furniture and howling in the night. Some of the neighbors wanted to have the cats picked up and euthanized. I fought for a better, more humane, option: capturing, fixing and releasing the cats. I can catch them with my humane traps. But FixNation has my invaluable ally. I couldn't do it without them in this economy. Thank-you FixNation! Bev G./NOHO

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2012

more

May 21, 2012

I wasn't a "cat person" before, until I noticed there was a feral cat living outside my house. I began feeding her and soon I noticed she was pregnant and she also had a very bad eye infection. When she had the babies I took all of them to the vet and he recommended keeping them inside the house so I could give mom her medication. He also said he could fix all four cats (mom and the kittens) but of course he would charge a lot of money. I couldn't afford that since I already had two rescued dogs at home. I began searching the internet and found FixNation. I got in touch with Liz Cava (a wonderful person) and she helped me. Mom was fixed first and when the kittens were old enough they were fixed as well. I felt such a relief. I fell in love with the kittens, so I kept them, but since I continued feeding mom outside, more cats started coming to eat. With the help of FixNation, I've been able to trap 15 more cats. They loaned me the traps; were kind enough to keep rescheduling appointments whenever I could not trap any cats and Liz would reply to all of my e-mails. The office staff is very kind and understanding. I really don't know what I would have done without FixNation. Plus, I discovered that cats are wonderful creatures that deserve caring. I'm really grateful for everything that they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 2, 2012

more

April 2, 2012

"I got into into trapping 10 years ago by helping caretakers of various sites to get their strays fixed. These caretakers usually were old ladies without traps, transportation or money to get the cats trapped and pay for the surgery. When Fixnation was set up in 2007 I was able to expand my efforts by having more traps available and not having to pay for the sterilization. I also started to maintain a small trap depot for them in Pasadena thus shortening the trip for trappers in my area. Local volunteers now come to my house for the traps and training but still take the trapped cats to Fixnation in Burbank. Many caretakers and trappers share stories with me about their colonies and all express the same relief that there are no more kittens born in their colonies and the fixed cats thrive and are more healthy. Vicious fights between males stop and the females are no longer pursued by males. FixNation has become essential to our community for the good work they are doing in limiting the expansion of feral cats. I find the staff committed and often going beyond the call of duty to help. I feel good being a volunteer for them. Alice B."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 12, 2012

more

February 12, 2012

I have worked with countless nonprofits, both for animals and humans. I know of no charity more worthy than Fix Nation. What's best about FN is that they promote REAL solutions to the overpopulation of cats in our nation. Instead of simply rescuing, FN promotes a long-term solution which is the spaying and neutering of cats. They make it available to everyone and for all cats. This helps the thousands of cats that are currently homeless but more importantly PREVENTS the suffering of millions and millions of cats by fixing the cats now alive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 27, 2012

more

January 27, 2012

My heart broke two years ago as I witnessed two tiny kittens in my apartment building so hungry that they were eating a black plastic bag. I knew I had to do something about this endless cycle of misery for homeless cats having kittens that they could not feed. After making inquiries from different cat charities, I was refered to FixNation. They are totally dedicated to the cause of humanely reducing the feral cat population of Los Angeles via their Trap Neuter Return program. I have managed to somewhat stabalize the colony in my area through TNR and keep a regular eye on the cats remaining by giving them food and water. The job that the Karn Myers and all the volunteers at FixNation is not glamarous but they are at it Mon to Fri working hard to help stray cats at their excellent facility. Thank you Fixnation for giving hope to people like myself who can with your asssistance do something for these poor creatures.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

Hello there, first off I want to thank Karn, Liz and the staff at Fix Nation. Have you been to the Lancaster pound or SPCA lately? They are so overcrowded that they put down the feral cats within three days, the tame cats are put down within 5-7 days. Put down as in destroy/killed, some unwanted/ no longer loved, no room for helpless cat/kittens (yes kittens too) that some careless/irresponsible person BROUGHT to the shelter. Yes these animals are either picked up or an individual brings them there. There's thousands that meet an untimely death in the shadows, without free/low cost spay/neutering programs that Fixnation provides, there would be thousands more. I've brought in 10 feral cats, and I would not have been able to afford to do it without them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the amount of feral cats

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

gave me some peace of mind that I'm doing something good

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

very usefull

January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

I became "involuntarily" involved in feral cats when a feral colony moved into my property many tears ago. Since then I have been TNR'ing all the cats in my neighborhood. When I discovered FixNation it was a godsend for me, and the many cats I was now trapping with TNR. This organization has now Spay/Neutered nearly 80,000 feral Cats in Southern California alone. This has prevented literally "Millions" of unwanted homeless kittens. Everyone else is mostly "Talk", but Fixnation is the only 5-day a week Feral Spay/Neuter clinic in the country, and their impact on the feral cat communities in Southern California has been nothing less than spectaular. I am extremely proud to volunteer my time to them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

I was a volunteer with the Best Friends Catnipper clinics, supporting their TNR (trap, neuter, and return) program for feral and homeless cats. Since I believe whole-heartedly in the philosophy of TNR, it was natural that when FixNation was established to support the same goals, I wanted to help. I, along with other volunteers, respond to phone messages and emails from both long-tiime clients and new clients-to-be, helping with everything from processing applications, giving information, to explaining our protocols and scheduling reservations for spay/neuter services. Like most non-profits, I'm sure that FixNation would benefit from additional fund-raising activities so that it could expand its services and resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist with the check-in and check-out of nearly 80 cats that are fixed at the clinic each day! Volunteer