Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
71 Reviews
1234.887325
| 1 ... 5 6 7 |
Write A Review
January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

I became "involuntarily" involved in feral cats when a feral colony moved into my property many tears ago. Since then I have been TNR'ing all the cats in my neighborhood. When I discovered FixNation it was a godsend for me, and the many cats I was now trapping with TNR. This organization has now Spay/Neutered nearly 80,000 feral Cats in Southern California alone. This has prevented literally "Millions" of unwanted homeless kittens. Everyone else is mostly "Talk", but Fixnation is the only 5-day a week Feral Spay/Neuter clinic in the country, and their impact on the feral cat communities in Southern California has been nothing less than spectaular. I am extremely proud to volunteer my time to them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

I was a volunteer with the Best Friends Catnipper clinics, supporting their TNR (trap, neuter, and return) program for feral and homeless cats. Since I believe whole-heartedly in the philosophy of TNR, it was natural that when FixNation was established to support the same goals, I wanted to help. I, along with other volunteers, respond to phone messages and emails from both long-tiime clients and new clients-to-be, helping with everything from processing applications, giving information, to explaining our protocols and scheduling reservations for spay/neuter services. Like most non-profits, I'm sure that FixNation would benefit from additional fund-raising activities so that it could expand its services and resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

Before Fixnation I was trapping cats in my local neighbourhood and getting them fixed with my vet. I was paying for this myself and so was limited in the amount of TNR I could do. Also the cats were just getting fixed, they weren't having shots, being flea treated, de-wormed, given fluids or any of the extra treatment that Fixnation provides. I cannot thank Fixnation enough for what they do. I feel compelled to do more as a citizen, because they provide this wonderful service, I feel I should do more and I do. In 2010 I trapped 24 cats at one location. I recently handed over the paperwork to the homeowner - 80% of the cats were females and it hit home how much this one colony would have grown if it had not been for Fixnation. I cannot rate Fixnation highly enough and my trapping friends and I regularly say - "How did we ever manage before Fixnation".

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

Fixnation has been the backbone and major support of my own Cat Rescue and Adoption Group called Krazy For Kats. I began my work in rescue a few years ago when I was called on by a friend to assist a feral cat and her babies in a backyard. It was my 1st experience in working with ferals and while I have had cats before, I was unaware of the extent of the homeless cat population in Los Angeles. When I took the kittens to a local vet and told them about the feral colony in the neighborhood, they immediately had me contact Karn Myers and Mark Dodge to get educated on proper TNR. When I rescued this first feral cat family, I realized that I had a burning desire to work more closely with animals. Karn invited me to volunteer at their free spay/neuter clinic a week later. I was shocked at the amount of cats that were brought in to be fixed! I never knew there were people who actually dedicated their time and energy to help these homeless, starved and often injured cats on the streets of LA! I found that I could no longer turn a blind eye. I was so impressed by the dedication of Karn and Mark that I immediately began to volunteer at their spay/neuter clinics. I started with TNR and then began taking in the baby kittens to place for adoption. While working with Fixnation, my own rescue group was formed and I brought 100's of cats per year to their clinic for medical treatments. I have been with Fixnation from the beginning and watched it grow into the amazing organization that they are. During my volunteer work, I was able to get first hand knowledge on how to take care of the cat/kitten rescues, how to educate the public on spay/neuter in my cat adoptions and become a part of a team of animal lovers that have devoted their time to saving lives. Fixnation has become THE place to go for all rescue workers in TNR. It is also where we refer our adopters for basic medical care with their own cats. The clinic staff and vets are extremely knowledgeable, caring and always there to assist you. Fixnation is one of the GREAT Nonprofits of California and deserves to be recognized on the highest levels. Thank you Karn and Mark of Fixnation for your vision, dedication and love for cats. You are an inspiration to us all! Michele Guzy, Founder Krazy For Kats, Inc.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

FixNation shines like a beacon of hope in the fight to reduce the population of homeless felines in Los Angeles. Thousands of cats and kittens living on the streets count on FixNation to help them stop the over-population problem. These dedicated and caring individuals provide free, full-time spay/neuter clinics for homeless stray and feral cats. They take the time to educate people on TNR, loan out humane traps and offer support and guidance. And its all free of charge for feline ferals. But, they do not stop there. They also provide low-cost, affordable spay/neuter services for tame pet cats. These folks stay focused on their mission, reamin positive and friendly despite seeing an unceasing demand for their services every day, week after week. God Bless Karn and Mark and Liz and all the many folks of FixNation who fight the good fight on behalf of the unfortunate and homeless cats of our city to make a better life for them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

I am writing you about the wonderful clinic for cats, FixNation, which provides free spay and neutering for feral and stray cats, and reduced rates for homed cats. Between FixNation and their monthly CatNipper clinics, they have seen close to 79,000 cats since their creation. I live in and around areas of Los Angeles with a high volume of feral cats. Because of FixNation's existance, my helpers and I have been able to take close to 1500 cats for spaying and neutering to thier clinic from 2007 through 2011. This invaluable service not only helps the lives of thes altered animals. It helps to relieve the emotional and financial burdens of the people who care for them, as well as calming antagonism in certain neighborhoods. The staff and volunteers are incredibly dedicated, thoughtful and professional. They have made an incredible diffference in so many areas in the southland that I deal with( Lincoln Heights, Highland Park, Cypress Park, East Los Angeles, Julian township in San Diego county, to name a few) and I am only one trapper. Please help them to continue this invaluable work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

This is the best Spay and Neuter (S/N) clinic in Los Angeles if not Southern California. They have perfected the process from the moment the cat is brought in to the clinic to when it leaves. New S/N clinics should copy the model for the well being of the cats and the human. For the huge volume of S/N Fix Nation gets through successfully on a daily basis (anyway from 80 to over 100 cats), it is a testament of their professionalism and Veterinary skills. Dr. Creighton rocks. She and all the other Vets will go out of their way to help the kitties even though they are a strict S/N clinic. The Vet techs are also remarkable in keeping everything straight. These people really really care about the feral kitties. Great job Fix Nation!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The neighborhood where there used to be an over population of sick and dying cats and kittens., by having Fix Nation providing free Spay and Neuter, the population is under control and the remaining cats are living out their tough feral life in better condition.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand the model all over the State and Country..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

For sure. Improved my networking skills and gave me a new set of friends.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Darn great!

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

FixNation is an example of what an animal welfare agency should be. They provide spay/neuter services to feral cats at no cost. The positive effect of eliminating the ability of stray cats to breed is huge. It impacts the community, fiscally and ethically by preventing stray animals from re-populating feral colonies with more and more homeless cats. FixNation's value is almost impossible to calculate. First rate vet care available from a dedicated, talented staff dramatically improves the life of every animal that passes through the clinic. They operate on a very tight budget and deserve support (of all kinds) from the public that benefits from their services.

Photos

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

My perspective on FixNation is from the inside looking out, as I manage operations from top to bottom every day. This being said, my bias is tempered by the fact that I always seek fairness and honesty in all I do. Let me say that I am grateful for everyone who has helped make FixNation what it is today, the only organization ever established dedicated to delivering to the community 100% of the resources needed to make TNR effective all under one roof, and fixing upwards of 70 to 90 cats per day, 5 days a week. Seeing all the caregivers, volunteers, staff members, directors and donors who make contributions to us makes me realize that teamwork is transcending and has made FixNation a truly great operation, which we are proud to see has been embraced by Los Angeles so enthusiastically.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

Thanks to the community for embracing FixNation, the organization I and my wife have worked so hard to make a lasting difference and bring about the Day of No More Homeless Cats in LA. Thanks also to all the volunteers, donors and staff for your invaluable contributions. The combination of all the above has created a force unlike any seen ever before, and that makes FixNation the best of its kind. No wonder Los Angeles Magazine rated us the "Best of LA" last year. Seriously, as an insider having sacrificed a great deal to help FixNation, I know what an impact we've made and continue to make, so keep it up everyone!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist with the check-in and check-out of nearly 80 cats that are fixed at the clinic each day! Volunteer