Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
113 Reviews
1234.902655
Write A Review
September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

I started volunteering at the Best Friends Catnippers clinics several years ago. In one day, with the help of donated time of vets, vet techs, vet students, rescue groups and good hearted volunteers, as many as 150 cats and kittens would be sterilized and vaccinated and some would even find foster homes. But that was one day every other month and it was clear that the need for a more frequent clinic was desperately needed. Enter FixNation. Not only will they spay/neuter and vaccinate feral cats for free, but they offer very reasonable low cost services to the general public who just do not have the $300 some vets are asking for a simple, long reaching solution to the problem of over population. I have referred so many people who have come into cat adoptions to FixNation when they otherwise felt they had no options. If you want to help make a difference, donate your time and/or money to this amazing organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them open 7 days a week! Sorry to the staff-I know how hard you work and need days off too!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 9, 2013

more

August 9, 2013

I started feeding a feral cat that showed up in my yard last October 2012... Largely due in part because she was hunting and killing the wild finches and morning doves I would feed in the yard. Once I started feeding her, she stopped killing the birds. In early February of this year (2013), my husband discovered that she had given birth in our shed to a bright orange tabby. As soon as the kitten was old enough, I contacted FixNation, was referred to me by a co-worker who fosters cats.

The staff there are knowledgeable and friendly. They handle the feral mom cat and her kitten with great care. I am very thankful for FixNation and the services they provide both tame and feral cats.

ALL cats, cat owners, fosters, etc... are fortunate that FixNation is available to them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 12, 2013

more

July 12, 2013

A feral mother cat and 3 of her kittens "asked" me for help. I contacted FixNation and they were great. At first I had an attitude about attending the training before getting the traps but I learned so much that I was quickly disabused of it. The trapping went EXACTLY as they said with regards to which one to trap first and what to do once one has trapped them. FixNation even saved the sight of the mother cat who had a 4" dried grass (w/barb -type) blade stuck under her eyelid. I have cared for them over a year. Sadly, in the last few weeks I have not seen the mother cat nor one of her daughter; I think coyotes might have gotten them even though my yard is fenced in. I take comfort in knowing that they did not die of starvation. One of her daughters started to show me affection and she comes in the house for a while most nights. Taking care of them has helped me with not dwelling on my own problems too much. Fixnation snips the right ear a little to show animal control that the cat has been "fixed". Please let other people know this about ferals so people can focus on fixing the ones that have not already been fixed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If someone has gone through the training as I had, that they would allow us to get a trap (ok w/ securing it w/ a credit card) and not re-do the training.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 3, 2013

more

June 3, 2013

Amazing organization! They give you all of the information you need, including training and providing the traps for a successful T-N-R program. I admire all of the work they do!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 1, 2013

more

June 1, 2013

The BEST animal services nonprofit!!! I started working with this group when they were quite small and from the beginning they have been organized, friendly and wonderfully helpful people. I have brought lots of cats in to them for fixing, both pets and ferals, and they do a wonderful job with all of them! With the feral cats, I have never had to pay a dime for them, except what I was willing to donate. And their tame cat services are very reasonably priced. I recommend them all the time to other cat owners. They also provide wonderful training for feral cattrappers and caretakers. You can tell everyone who comes in to their very busy facility loves and respects the work this group does. Everyone is happy and pleasant, even at 7am! And even if you don't do things just as they instructed, they are patient and helpful. A truly wonderful group! They deserve 10 stars!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money to do even more and help them expand into more cities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
April 6, 2013

Wonderful group. These people are doing a great service for cats and the people who tend to the care of feral cat colonies. These people receive A+ from me

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

A unique charity that is like no other in the nation that I know of. They are the single greatest weapon against homeless animals in Los Angeles. The people who work there are tireless in their quest to tackle this enormous problem. Without this group, the city would have countless more homeless cats. They do great work!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 27, 2013

more

March 27, 2013

Well, I fit this category as well as client served and occasional volunteer, in addition to being a volunteer tutor coordinator for an Adult Literacy Program , so I feel qualified to say that Fixnation is
outstanding in its services to feral cats, which would not be possible without its
dedicated volunteers who must indeed have an extremely competent coordinator. I spent some time recently at Fixnation having a feral adoptee chipped and had a chance to observe the smoothness of the intake process especially...I was really impressed with the teamwork of the volunteers in all areas.
I have managed to adopt and house 2 formerly feral cats...and would never have known that part of their history had it not been for the practice of clipping one eartip.
I would love to see Fixnation extend its services to the Northeast Los Angeles Area and Pasadena. There are so many feral cats hiding out in the hills in these areas, coming down to their feeders when the need arises, and so many very low income feeders who remain ignorant of the help they and their kitties could be receiving from Fixnation or a similar service.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 8, 2012

more

July 8, 2012

I have only been volunteering a short while but every time I go there it is very rewarding. To be able to help such a great organization is an honor. FixNation is dedicated to making a huge impact on the cat overpopulation issue and they are doing amazing work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 7, 2012

more

July 7, 2012

FixNation has been an invaluable ally. The veterinarians and volunteers make the humane possible. Over the past few years people have been dumping un-neutered cats when they move out of the neighborhood. The pets become strays; the strays have litters, and soon there's a pack of hungry, un-neutered, feral cats ripping patio furniture and howling in the night. Some of the neighbors wanted to have the cats picked up and euthanized. I fought for a better, more humane, option: capturing, fixing and releasing the cats. I can catch them with my humane traps. But FixNation has my invaluable ally. I couldn't do it without them in this economy. Thank-you FixNation! Bev G./NOHO

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist with the check-in and check-out of nearly 80 cats that are fixed at the clinic each day! Volunteer