Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
111 Reviews
1234.90095
Write A Review
September 21, 2014

more

September 21, 2014

I have never had a cat for a pet, but have always enjoyed their personalities and observing them from afar. Our neighborhood has a rather prolific feral/community cat population and after speaking with a person who is fully immersed in feral cat advocacy, I realized I could help. My husband and I went to Fixnation to be trained on how to humanely trap community cats, get them fixed, and return them to the neighborhood to stop their population expansion and to ensure that they have a long, healthy outdoor life free from the stress of mating or nurturing a litter of unwanted kittens. If not for Fixnation, I never would have made the effort, in all honesty. The people and volunteers who work there have been informative, helpful and just great people who always go the extra mile. Love them!!!
-Dolores Thompson
September 21, 2014

more

September 21, 2014

I wanted to make a difcerence in the cat population in my neighborhood, which had exploded in ferals having litters, but didn't know how to start. I called Fixnation and they provided the resources I needed, putting me in touch with others in my area who could offer advice and lend traps. I have brought over a dozen cats to Fixnation. They were kind, compassionate, efficient, and the services were free to me. I have given their contact information to other community members in my situation to receive the resources they need to stop local pet overpopulation.
September 21, 2014

more

September 21, 2014

FixNation really came to our rescue! Three or four years ago, we found out that a pregnant feral female cat had adopted our crawl space underneath our house to give birth to her litter of 5 kittens, 2 girls and 3 boys. Being a cat-loving family, we already had five indoor cats, and there just wasn't enough room for 6 more. So we fixed up the crawl space with a cardboard floor and 4 or 5 kitty beds. We started feeding them the same food as our indoor cats, and the family naturally decided to stay. About seven or eight months later, Mama (as we later named the mother cat) and her two daughters went into heat. We had to do some quick thinking to figure out what to do. We couldn't accommodate any more cats and the thought that Mama may reject her first litter horrified us. We called around to the city shelters but told us they would euthanize them if they couldn't adopt them out. Then somehow my mother found out about FixNation and their trap, neuter and return program that serves to stem the feral cat overpopulation. We found the solution to our problem! The FixNation staff were super friendly and extremely helpful. They explained what to do, gave tips on how to catch the cats, provided the traps we needed, and even spayed and neutered the cats for free. (But we still decided to give a donation anyway). Mama and her family came back and picked up where they left off. They have become very loving outdoor cats and Mama never rejected any of her kittens. She will even rub up against them and vice versa like one big happy family. I am so glad that FixNation was there when this cat family really needed help. There are so many feral cats here in Los Angeles. FixNation is very much needed in our Community. Without their support, there would be much more euthanasia. I found out while visiting there (with Mama) that they also provide low-cost services to family pets as well for those who cannot afford veterinarian fees. They are invaluable to our community!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

Fixnation has contributed enormously to the no-kill mission in Los Angeles. I have been a client from the day they opened their doors and over the years have brought many Community Cats to them to be spayed/neutered. Their operation is extremely well organized, their staff are always helpful and the cats are always treated like gold. They provide a service that our community cannot do without.
Anne Macleod
September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

Fixnation is by far the most incredible organization. They are dedicated to the spay and neuter of homeless cats. Fixnation has spayed/neutered over 100,000 cats preventing unwanted births of many unwanted kittens. The do miraculous work!
September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

FixNation is and has been the leader in helping to decrease and control the feral/homeless cat epidemic that Los Angeles has. Spay/Neuter/Vaccinate and Release is the ONLY solution. I've been working with them ever since they opened and even before that! Thank you for all you do!
September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

I love cats and am not afraid to say it even though a cat gave me my first scar at the age of four and it is still brightly visible on my left hand just behind the index knuckle. My bad for reaching for a kitten in the nest on the third level hayloft of our barn.

I've been blessed with a
few wonderful souls masquerading as cats over the years and now have two rescued house cats. Recently a black feral mother gave birth to four kittens under my house and then took up residence in my backyard. While searching how to manage the situation I found FixNation and decided to take a chance on them. I couldn't be happier.

Being a prior service U.S. Marine, I know engagement, professionalism, and efficiency when I encounter it and that description fits FixNation to a T. Skeptical at first, I found friendly and engaged people providing support with care and concern underlined by efficiency. That makes FixNation the hands-down best organization I have ever dealt with. FixNation is a clockwork operation doing exactly what it professes to do. I appreciate that and encourage their support.
September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

Los Angeles has a huge animal overpopulation problem and FixNation is having a huge impact on "fixing" this problem by offering free and low/cost spaying and neutering for cats. This is a solvable problem and they are doing just that. I've taken many cats in their for TNR for Best Friends and for the Stray Cat Alliance and they do a great job!
September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

My neighborhood had a terrible feral cat problem. Just on my street we had 30+ sick adult cats plus kittens being born every month. Cats were getting hit by cars weekly, cat fights with domestic and feral cats were a nightly occurrence, cats were dying from disease and fleas were spreading everywhere. I didn't know what to do. My friend, Max Ho, a volunteer at Fixnation introduced me to Fixnation. Fixnation was so wonderful!!! They trained me on how to properly and humanely trap cats and loaned traps to me. Fixnation went above and beyond to help these poor cats. One of my neighbors and I, with the help of Fixnation were able to fix and treat the diseases of all of the cats and kittens, set up a colony were the adult cats could live out their lives healthy and safe and we were able to tame and adopt out countless kittens to forever homes. Because of Fixnation we have not seen a new feral cat in our neighborhood for over 2 years.
1. Studies estimate that we have over 50 million feral cats in the US
2. Feral cats in the Los Angeles area (and other areas) live in pain from diseases and injuries and suffer from hunger daily.
3. Untreated feral cats carry diseases, fleas and worms...
4. Humans domesticated the cat so we are responsible to care for them.
5. Our ecosystem cannot sustain such an overpopulation of cats
6. Controlling the feral cat population is not only humane, it is vital.
Fixnation is effectively, efficiently, humanely, compassionately and responsibly tackling and having a huge impact on the the feral cat population problem. I have witnessed this first hand. THANK YOU FIXNATION!!! You are the BEST!!!
September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

I am a Fix Nation donor and client. I brought my rescue kitten there to be neutered and the staff was friendly and very helpful! I have also brought in community cats to be fixed and they are wonderfully caring for these animals that might not otherwise receive the help they need. I know when I make a gift to Fix Nation I am helping community cats and the people who work hard to give them a better life.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist with the check-in and check-out of nearly 80 cats that are fixed at the clinic each day! Volunteer