Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.966675
Write A Review
October 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have a facebook page, Motton for Mayor, that is about my FIV cat. I was searching to connect with other pages about FIV. I opened the FIV rescue page. I was extremely impressed with the information. Then on the page was a picture of a cat named Salsa. I fell in love. I contacted Frankie and asked about adopting her. I wanted another FIV+ kitty. She did a through investigation into my background and cat care. My references were called and my vet. Salsa then traveled from FT. Bragg CA to Houston. We both have a mission: educate the public that FIV is not a death sentence. This is an amazing shelter that adopts out cats to only loving homes.
October 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a foster mommy to FIV positive kittens. Frankie was very helpful in educating me on my options for these kittens. She was also very quick with her responses! I appreciate all she does to help these poor misunderstood babies!
October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We were going to adopt a fiv kitty named cowboy but we have 3 other cats one of which is not very accepting of other cats since we are over 3000 miles away in North Carolina and had no other home for him if it didn't work out we had to put his best interest first and not adopt him. Frankie was super helpful through the whole process. In the future we hope to adopt from her rescue. Please check them out if your planning on getting a cat or kitten, they are incredible people and will go above and beyond to help you get the perfect new family member.
October 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Frankie Kangas and FIV+ Cat Rescue are simply awesome!
Frankie went way above and beyond helping me find the purrfect FIV+ young cat to be companion to my existing FIV+ cat spanning the whole country. I even had offers from other countries. There is so much ignorance on this subject and SO
many wonderful FIV+ cats out there desperately needing loving forever homes. I strongly urge everyone to support her and her efforts to educate others that FIV+ cats are not carriers of death and most live the same long, healthy, loving lives as any other cat. Her organization is deserving of far more praise and accolades than I can express! My Sinbad and Mattea are profoundly grateful!
September 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I discovered FIV cat rescue when i adopted a cat and found out that he is FIV positive. I'm living on the other side of the world, in Estonia, and they still found time to give me advice and their support when i needed it the most.
I really appreciate their work and i'm really grateful for all
that they are doing.
Big hugs, you are wonderful!
September 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 20, 2013

Thank goodness for this rescue! They have been able to help with many FIV positive cats, and see they get homes!!!! more

September 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Thank goodness for them! They have given great advice regarding my own three FIV+ cats and with those I foster. I adore Frankie and everyone!!!! Invaluble!
March 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Thank goodness for this rescue! They have been able to help with many FIV positive cats, and see they get homes!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I learned that the beautiful Siamese stray that I had taken in was FeLV-positive, and was in a panic to find a rescue that could take him. While FIV Cat Rescue was not able to help, they did give me some helpful information. I did learn later that another stray was FIV-positive, but I was able to keep him at home. Had I not be able to keep him, I know that FIV Cat Rescue would have accepted him, and I could have taken him to Ft. Bragg, just a few hours from Sacramento. So many strays in my neighborhood; it's good to know there is a welcoming place for sick kitties.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I contacted FIV Cat Rescue this past summer when I was trying to find a home for an FIV+ kitty. Frankie went out of her way to provide options for us and even arranged for transport for our kitty to get to his new home if we needed it. I can't praise Frankie and FIV Cat Rescue enough! It's a great group doing wonderful, much needed work! Thank you FIV and Frankie for caring so much about our kitty friends!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This group is wonderful. They tried to assist me in every way possible and kept in constant contact with me by email and phone. I highly recommend them and will pass on their info to other rescues here in Sacramento.

Frankie takes a personal interest in all her cats up for adoption and
educates the owners about FIV which is very very helpful.

There is nothing like it here in Sacramento or nearby.

Sammy was adopted today 2/15./13.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My husband and I oversee a shelter for feral and abandoned cats. Since 2004 we have taken in many cats and have saved many lives. A few years ago I rescued an adult Siamese cat that was diagnosed with Feline Leukemia and Feline immunodeficiency virus. The attending veterinarian told us the cat needed to be put down. I waited 30 days and had the cat retested and the results were NO Feline Leukemia and positive FIV. Since the cat appeared healthy I thought there was no reason to follow the veterinarian’s advice to euthanize the cat. However I had limited information on FIV and I began searching for answers for my list questions. I was referred to Frankie Kangas, Founder and Executive Director of FIV Cat Rescue.

Frankie answered all of my questions quickly and professionally. The FIV cat rescue educated me on the cause, treatment and taught me how to save cat lives. I receive monthly newsletters that keep me up-to-date with information concerning this cat disease. Because of the help that I received from Frankie I was able to educate others as well as adopt FIV positive cats into loving homes.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers