Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.966675
Write A Review
November 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I didn't know much about cats with FIV. Until I took a stray into our local no kill shelter and was later told he was FIV+. They made it sound very grave and that he would not likely find a home. I had promised him that he would be ok and I wouldn't let anything happen to him and I meant to keep my word! I began to research FIV and in doing so came across Frankie and FIV Cat Rescue. I learned FIV is not a death sentence, or at least should not be one.
Thanks to Frankie, I was able to pull Moz from the shelter and take him back home. About a week later we got a call from the Humane Society that the initial test they gave him was a false positive and he is NOT FIV+. I was pleased that he is healthy but either way, he is a wonderful cat that deserves to live out his life regardless of his FIV status. Thank you Frankie for helping me save Moz and for educating me on FIV+ cats!!
October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Frankie eduacting about FIV is a major contribution to everyone working and living with cats! Her knowledge is impressive. If you consider to adopt a cat, please read her page and then re-consider, i.e. adopt a FIV kitty.
I've been involved in cat rescue for 17 years now here in Germany. We do
take FIV cats and we also place them on a regular basis. 99% of these cats lived to old aged and died of age or whatever old cats get: renal failure, cancer etc., but __not__ of FIV. So - keep up the good work, Frankie!!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Thank you, Frankie Kangas, and all of your board members and volunteers who are working hard to not only help FIV-positive cats but also to educate the public as to the facts about FIV as opposed to what Frankie calls "myth-information" on the Internet and everywhere else! I encountered Frankie when our Fix Long Beach volunteers came upon a scraggly Siamese-mix tomcat in horrible condition and found out that he was FIV positive. I contacted a number of FIV cat help organizations, and Frankie was the one who involved herself entirely, not only recommending sanctuaries but also links to her website and other sites that offer information about FIV-positive cats. I gained so much enlightement that I decided to write an article about FIV cats; I quoted Frankie so much that her cyber-ears must have been burning. (Here's a link to the article: http://lbpost.com/life/2000004533-fiv-and-felv-affected-cats-positives-and-negatives .)

Vanilla, which is what we named our protege, is now living in a temporary home while waiting transportation to a sanctuary. Thank you, FIV Cat Rescue and Frankie Kangas, for helping spread the word.
September 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I originally discovered FIV Cat Rescue through the internet. I had found a FIV Cat, and I had no idea of what to do with him. All I know, is that the vet that checked him over told me, if you take this animal to a shelter, he will immediately be put down. FIV cats quickly are euthanized. I could NOT and would NOT do that, as his life literally depended on it.
I contacted Frankie Kargas an original founder of the organization, who generously gave her time, advice and helpful suggestions on what/how to take care of him. Because no one else or no other organization could take him in, we decided to adopt him, despite having 3 cats already. She coached me on how to bring him into our home, with 3 other cats (non FIV)! Without her help, it wouldn't have been possible.
I started getting to know Frankie little by little, and decided to help her in any way I could. I learned more about how much she does, her painstaking and often heartbreaking efforts to help Trap, Neuter & Return these beautiful animals. I am learning more and more all the time, and any and all of my efforts to help her to save lives and educate people, is probably the most worthwhile venture I have ever embarked on! God Bless FIV Cat Rescue.
February 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is an organization that is truly making a difference in our community, and via the internet, across the country. I have learned about FIV and the 'myth-information' that is out there, and am really impressed with the dedicated efforts of Frankie and Oran to stop this, and save FIV kitties from the death sentence that often results when ignorance prevails.

Now that I am fostering FIV kitties and seeing how unique each one is, and seeing the difference they make in someone's life when they are adopted, I feel sure that this is a non-profit that must continue it's work. I encourage anyone who cares about animals to support FIV Cat Rescue any way they can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I became an advocate for FIV+ cats about 4 years ago after a devastating personal experience with a sweet stray. I began searching for like-minded folks who passionately wanted to change the way FIV+ cats are perceived and treated. A fellow animal advocate connected me with Frankie at FIV Cat Rescue. We quickly discovered that we had a shared experience of loss through MYTHinformation about FIV+ cats and eventually I began volunteering on projects. Frankie's depth of caring, compassion, and dedication to the mission of helping FIV+ cats and those who are their guardians, shows in everything she does for the organization. I'm confident that the world is a much safer and better place for FIV+ cats today because of the work that FIV Cat Rescue has done, and will continue to do, until the stigma no longer surrounds these very special and greatly misunderstood cats.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers