Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.93755
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 6, 2014

more

September 6, 2014

I originally discovered FIV Cat Rescue through the internet. I had found a FIV Cat, and I had no idea of what to do with him. All I know, is that the vet that checked him over told me, if you take this animal to a shelter, he will immediately be put down. FIV cats quickly are euthanized. I could NOT and would NOT do that, as his life literally depended on it.
I contacted Frankie Kargas an original founder of the organization, who generously gave her time, advice and helpful suggestions on what/how to take care of him. Because no one else or no other organization could take him in, we decided to adopt him, despite having 3 cats already. She coached me on how to bring him into our home, with 3 other cats (non FIV)! Without her help, it wouldn't have been possible.
I started getting to know Frankie little by little, and decided to help her in any way I could. I learned more about how much she does, her painstaking and often heartbreaking efforts to help Trap, Neuter & Return these beautiful animals. I am learning more and more all the time, and any and all of my efforts to help her to save lives and educate people, is probably the most worthwhile venture I have ever embarked on! God Bless FIV Cat Rescue.
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

I discovered FIV cat rescue when i adopted a cat and found out that he is FIV positive. I'm living on the other side of the world, in Estonia, and they still found time to give me advice and their support when i needed it the most.
I really appreciate their work and i'm really grateful for all
that they are doing.
Big hugs, you are wonderful!
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

I originally was introduced to FIV Cat Rescue through a friend who previously had told me about the organization and how helpful the Founder, Frankie Kangas was. I had adopted a FIV cat some time ago, and needed some information. Frankie, was extremely helpful, provided me with ALL kinds of information and websites that answered a lot of my questions. She helped to educate me about her efforts and about FIV in general. I originally thought FIV for cats was pretty much a “death sentence.” It's not and it also is very different from HIV in Humans – most cats with FIV + just die of old age & seldom die as a direct result of FIV. I also learned about how much FIV Cat Rescue does for the FIV cat population: It educates people about FIV, works with rescuers to find homes through networking, provide a database of rescues taking FIV cats, and works with shelter volunteers to stop the killing of FIV cats in their shelters.
Because she was so helpful with my FIV cat and I was fortunate enough to learn so much more about the epidemic with FIV cats and what can be done to help, I wanted to give back. I am lucky enough to work for a wonderful company that allowed me to volunteer for FIV Cat Rescue and then donate a $1,500 Grant to FIV Cat Rescue to help them in their work. Donations are so important, because they are primarily funded by them. So much of the success depends on how much others care. If you want a rewarding experience, I recommend you donating your time, money or resources to help in this worthy endeavor. HELP make a difference and save lives!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be more active on Twitter, so you could get further exposure for your organization and provide more info about FIV Cats/Dogs. Tweeting reaches out to people all over the world. The more tweets and followers you have the more your message is disseminated.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Thank goodness for this rescue! They have been able to help with many FIV positive cats, and see they get homes!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I learned that the beautiful Siamese stray that I had taken in was FeLV-positive, and was in a panic to find a rescue that could take him. While FIV Cat Rescue was not able to help, they did give me some helpful information. I did learn later that another stray was FIV-positive, but I was able to keep him at home. Had I not be able to keep him, I know that FIV Cat Rescue would have accepted him, and I could have taken him to Ft. Bragg, just a few hours from Sacramento. So many strays in my neighborhood; it's good to know there is a welcoming place for sick kitties.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is an organization that is truly making a difference in our community, and via the internet, across the country. I have learned about FIV and the 'myth-information' that is out there, and am really impressed with the dedicated efforts of Frankie and Oran to stop this, and save FIV kitties from the death sentence that often results when ignorance prevails.

Now that I am fostering FIV kitties and seeing how unique each one is, and seeing the difference they make in someone's life when they are adopted, I feel sure that this is a non-profit that must continue it's work. I encourage anyone who cares about animals to support FIV Cat Rescue any way they can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

FIV Cat Rescue began its very important work by hands on rescue of cats testing positive for FIV antibodies. Recognizing they could not take in every FIV+ cat, they soon began their greater work. That work is to help folks recognize that FiV is not a death sentence. That these cats can live long and healthy lives.

FIV Cat Rescue's website is unparalleled. This site shares the most up to date FIV research, helping to inform and educate other rescues, shelters and individuals, thus saving countless lives. It also serves as a network to help find homes for FIV+ cats.

Kudos for FIV Cat Rescue!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I became an advocate for FIV+ cats about 4 years ago after a devastating personal experience with a sweet stray. I began searching for like-minded folks who passionately wanted to change the way FIV+ cats are perceived and treated. A fellow animal advocate connected me with Frankie at FIV Cat Rescue. We quickly discovered that we had a shared experience of loss through MYTHinformation about FIV+ cats and eventually I began volunteering on projects. Frankie's depth of caring, compassion, and dedication to the mission of helping FIV+ cats and those who are their guardians, shows in everything she does for the organization. I'm confident that the world is a much safer and better place for FIV+ cats today because of the work that FIV Cat Rescue has done, and will continue to do, until the stigma no longer surrounds these very special and greatly misunderstood cats.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

FIV cats can live long and healthy lives if you stay on top of their medical needs, specifically getting them regular dental exams. One of my FIV guys will be 19 years old in April. Don't let exposure to the virus--which is all FIV status means--keep you from adopting a great cat.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

FIV Cat Rescue is a registered nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization of dedicated volunteers located in Northern California. Frankie and Oran Kangas began saving FIV+ cats in 2006. On January 5, 2010 FIV Cat Rescue officially became a nonprofit corporation. Their primary mission is to stop the killing of healthy FIV+ cats and kittens that test positive for the FIV antibodies and educate people about Feline immunodeficiency Virus (FIV). There are so many myths out there about FIV+ cats, so I'm thankful to see that FIV Cat Rescue has an abundance of material about this subject that they share with the public.e

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers