Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.181825
Write A Review
February 24, 2015

more

February 24, 2015

My husband had a spinal cord injury and we live 2 hours from the Dallas VA & Fisher House. I cannot tell you how pleased I was with the way I was treated at the Fisher House. Any thing that you could possibly need is provided to you. Food, toiletries, internet, tv, alarm clock, phone, etc. I had three meals a day and snacks, but most of all I was walking distance from the hospital. All the other families there were like family. They all support each other and you hear why they are here. Sometimes when you are feeling down they all gather to give you a boost and a hug. This place is a blessing from God for the Vet's family. Not having to worry about where you will stay and how much it will cost, takes a load off your mind. Thank You Fisher House for a wonderful experience.
November 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am retired military and I recently reached out to the Fisher House for help in obtaining lodging in Houston while my wife is being treated at MD Anderson for Stage 4 Breast Cancer. When I called The Fisher House in Houston the woman on the other end of the line stated " We only allow Veterans to stay here, not their families" and ended the call. I also spoke by phone with the Director at the Fisher House at Eglin AFB near where I reside. I asked him to call his peer in Houston on my behalf. He said that he would. It has been five days....nothing. Why does Fisher House allow house managers to make policy? I am saddened and disappointed at the actions of Fisher House. I will, however, get help for my wife in Texas if I am forced to buy a tent. If I do maybe I'll set up camp on the lawn at Fisher House.
January 17, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 17, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

On July 19, 2009 my son was critically injured in Afghanistan while clearing roads of improvised explosive devices. Fisher House generously paid for my airfare from San Francisco to Walter Reed Army Medical Center in Washington DC, so that I could revisit him after some new medical complications occurred. Thank you, Fisher House.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

March 5, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 5, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

In July 2005, my then husband (who is UK Army) was working with coalition forces in Iraq - he was very seriously injured. Fortunately, he went via Ramstein in Germany before coming home to the UK, and I and my youngest child (only 7 months at the time), were able to visit him there. We stayed at the Fisher House there and it was amazing, the ethos and the surrounds, words cannot truly convey what it meant to me, but I felt supported. Sadly, there was nothing like that in the UK, but it inspired me to try and make that difference as The Fisher House had made a difference for me, hence the SSAFA Norton House 'home from home' project (reviewed in the Fisher House 'Patriot' journal Summer/Fall 2009). It was most certainly a concept worth duplicating and the support it has given to families here in the UK is amazing. A heartfelt thank you from Sue Norton x

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my life, it has left a lasting impact, a feeling that I was supported at a time when I truly needed it, someone cared, and this care which touched me has since touched over 700 peoples lives further in the UK.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

2 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer