Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.966675
Write A Review
October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Everyone, from the top to the bottom,works very hard 7 days a week to make sure this food
bank runs smoothly. It is amazing to see how many people it takes to run a food bank. it is
gratifying to know that we have helped people who are hungry to be able to set food on the
table for
their familes.
Don and Janice Brennan

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

our changes for improvements is hard to say as we are stockers and food pick-up helpers, so we do not know all the things done on the administration end but I know that there is always food on the shelves for the hungry. Maybe a meeting once in awhile so we can get an overview of everything. Don and Janice Brennan

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved in this food bank for around 3 years. We serve the community and do a great deal of good. The thing that most people don't get to see is the growth in our young volunteers. I have seen many young people come to get thier credits for high school graduation. A lot of these young people stay long after they have thier credits. These kids grow into caring adults in front of my eyes. I can tell that they will be involved in some type of community program for the rest of thier lives. Our food bank is here to feed people, and we do a great job of that. The extra is that we are growing and promoting the next generation of caring and commited adults in our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see a volunteer sharing program where our young volunteers could see more of the non-profits role in America and we could help more young people develope the ethic, morales and responsibilities that we promote.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We love that the Edgewood Fish Food bank gives my son and I the opportunity to give back to the community. We value the people we get to work with and love the commitment the church has made by building and supporting the community center and food bank. The city of Edgewood and East Pierce county are stronger because of their faithfulness and care.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My family has been loosely involved with the edgewood fish food bank for years. Two years ago my daughter needed community service hours, so she and I volunteered one saturday morning, and we never stopped. The community outreach and overwhelming compassion of each person involved at Fish exemplifies the necessary Christian response to a broken world: The physical needs of the clients are met with dignity, and the relationship between the clients and volunteers is warm and genuine. The core members at Fish have a commitment to be the hands of Christ to anyone who has need. In a very simple and profound way Fish food bank simply answers the call to "feed My sheep."

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to proclaim the name of Christ. I understand the difficulties but it is so rare to find a simpler example of His mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

well think about it without fish and its many volunteers how many people would be without at least a meal. I help at edgewood all of the volunteers are great. I also pickup from other fish food banks and they are great as well. it takes many to help many.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to get more companys to hold a food drive. like one company for each month. I have been at edgewood wa. for almost 4 years

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteer at the Edgewood Foodbank. It is amazing how many people it takes to make this operation run. It has shown me there are many great giving caring people left. Kate who runs it spends so much time at work and on her own personal time. Dale is so wonderful with everything he does. This is just a really great place helping the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing. It is a well run unit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteer weekly at the FISH foodbank in Edgewood. I am impressed with the thoughtfulness of the director. She is always concerned about her volunteers as well as her clients.

The foodbank is always a warm welcoming place to everyone. Volunteers are appreciated at this foodbank.


I know many of our clients really appreciate the foodbank. Some come from far away because this is their favorite foodbank.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

FISH Food Banks provides a critical service to local communities. I became aware of FISH via the Food Backpacks 4 Kids, where we work together in a partnership role for the greater Key Peninsula Community. As a volunteer Board member for both the FISH Food Bank and the Peninsula Community Foundation (parent to the Food Backpacks 4 Kids program), I have intimate knowledge of the focus on service and love to the community actively demonstrated by FISH daily.

The FISH Food Bank is managed very efficiently and is totally dedicated to its mission to provide
food and more for individuals in need with compassion, dignity and respect.. I serve the FISH Food Bank with pride and am honored to be associated with this non-profit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 9, 2010

I have worked with several non-profits in the Pierce County area but becoming involved with FISH Food Banks of Pierce County has been a great learning experience. The work they accomplish with less t... more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I joined the board of FISH through a friend who thought my past board experience could be useful to the organization and I will admit I did not know much about the organization. It took me a very short time to realize the scope of the work and the huge demand on the very small staff.

I am
so proud of FISH and the service they provide to our community. The fact that 98% of the work is completed by proud "volunteer's" many who have dedicated their time for years really says it all. Once you have witnessed the need and how kind and generous our volunteers help these individuals you will never doubt the value of FISH.

Feel free to go to our website and learn more about this powerful community resource.

Barbara Reed
Board Member

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to let more people know about the work and how they too can be involved.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 9, 2010

I have worked with several non-profits in the Pierce County area but becoming involved with FISH Food Banks of Pierce County has been a great learning experience. The work they accomplish with less than 5 paid employees is remarkable. FISH has developed and supported a large volunteer base that is committed to the mission of feeding people with dignity. The volunteers carry out their task with great pride and are as reliable as any paid staff. I am very proud of their accomplishments and commitment.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Visiting the various food banks and sitting through the reporting of the volume and need at monthly board meetings.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find ways to support the organization with more staff support.

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Great group of people, well organized, truly enjoyed my time with all of them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes come to mind.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help repack donated food and stock shelves, greet clients and assist them with selecting their food Volunteer