Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.873025
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
October 2, 2013

I have been working with a FISRT team for 10 years. We get young 9th graders who know very little about robotics, design, building, tools, etc. When they graduate as 12th graders, they have a huge head start on their college peers.

I have had seen several students win full 4-year
scholarships to college based upon their FIRST experience. There are dozens of colleges offering FIRST scholarship.

FIRST changes lives! These children are our technological future.

To learn more, visit their website at FIRST dot org. Also, do a youtube search and see some fantastic videos.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

I started volunteering with FIRST in 2008 as an assistant coach. I became a head FRC coach in 2010 and started an FTC team in 2011. The impact FIRST has had on our students is immeasurable. I have watched the kids grow from wide-eyed freshmen to true leaders and professionals. Time spent with FIRST is very well spent, and I plan to continue serving FIRST as long as I can. Personally, I have changed since starting with FIRST. I find myself regularly doing community service now, and I like it! FIRST is an amazing experience for the students, coaches, mentors, and sponsors!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See if FIRST can work out a cheaper registration cost for FRC. The cost may be prohibitive to many schools, which is a shame since it's such an amazing experience.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

My husband and I became involved with FIRST in 2009 when our son was looking on the web for academic challenge. The experience has been irreplaceable ! Now we are running a nonprofit for several FIRST robotics teams and mentoring. FIRST builds successful, confident, and bright students for our future workforce. The students become better problem solvers, team players, and learn a variety of skills. This skills include machining, programming, electrical, CAD, pneumatics, designing, and following a timeline. Because of the success of the students that have been through our FIRST program, we continue our mission even though our son is in college. Seventeen students have graduated with FIRST skills from our team and received $799,000.00 in college scholarships. THAT IS SUCCESS! All of them credit FIRST for their choices that have made. It doesn't end there, once graduated, they continue by finding other teams and programs so they can continue to mentor. It is a wonderful cycle that encourages giving back to your community. I know from experience, once you get involved you get hooked on FIRST.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help teams find funding to help continue their FIRST programs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

A family friend had mentioned that there was this FIRST group built around STIMs, (I did not know what the meant), but I knew that it was robotics and my one boy was very interested. So, I supported it and then became immersed in this amazing culture. We had worked together in another creative thinking team competition and that really creates an environment for the kids to come up with ideas, learn how to articulate their ideas so the team can understand their ideas and then bring it to life in the CAD program, and then physically. I am in my second year of mentoring. My other son has joined a team in his age group and I was am still blown away by the things the kids create and the "Gracious Professionalism" demonstrated by them and everyone in this program. I am still overwhelmed that a little over two years ago, I had no idea it even existed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

I decided to donate to FIRST after interacting with some of the kids at the local farmer's market. They were all very knowledgeable about the robot, how it was built, and the plans for the team. The local team (MARS) invited me to their weekly practice, and I've been hooked as a mentor ever since. The program really gives these wonderful kids a great outlet for their intelligence and creativity, and I enjoy the opportunity to assist them. I was in different gifted/magnet programs and schools as a child, but this is so much more advanced than any of the programs I was ever exposed to. I see FIRST doing a great job, and I'm happy to devote my time to it, even though I don't have any kids.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I became involved in the FIRST organization 6 yrs ago when my son joined his school robotics team as a Freshman. One of the most impressive things we have witnessed is how these kids do not hesitate to help other teams during competitions. They compete against each other yet they are there without hesitation when one team is having trouble and needs assistance. They cheer for one another and pick each other up when they are down. Thanks to FIRST my son learned what real team work means and learned how to be a leader. These are life lessons and skills that will help take him through his personal life and his career. He is now in Mechanical Engineering at the University of Cincinnati and landed a co-op position at an engineering firm thanks to the skills he learned while being a member of FIRST ROBOTICS Team 279.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

I am entering my second year in the FIRST Robotics. This started with me and some friends deciding to start a team. As one thing led to another, we went from three members to a little under twenty team members trying to solve the problem using only the tools we owned and the kit of parts provided. We had a large amount of help from many teams as well as the FIRST workers themselves. In the end we won the rookie inspiration award and almost every team member is back this year with more first year kids with us. It has helped us with our education by teaching us teamwork, responsibility, and helping your fellow teams in their time of need. This is a life changing program that I am ecstatic to be a part of.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

i joined FIRST as a parent of an enthuiastic High School Freshman. It wasn't long before I, as an engineer, realized the amazing opportinities that FIRST provides. You cannot get closer to a real life engineering experience, not even on many internships and college coops. The program also goes way beyond engineering and provides opportinities in marketing, programming, graphics and automation design, and many more. This is now my third year on what was a rookie team. My younger son has joined and my husband provides IT consulting services. There is another aspect I must mention. Unlike many competitive activities, FIRST encourages Graceful Professionalism. Teams are encouraged to teach and assist other teams. Even though the competition is fierce, everyone is helpful and everyone that succeeds in even getting to competition can be proud of their accomplishments. We had a graduating Senior with 2 years of FIRST experience and one year of LabView get selected as a Freshman at Carnegie Mellon to work with Graduate Students on a Lunar Robotic Rover project.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to make FRC less expensive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

This is my fifth year as a FIRST Mentor and coach. I am also an educator. There is nothing else like FIRST in the schools. Why is FIRST important? I could tell you all about the need for STEM education or the need for programmers or the way that FIRST gets kids passionate about STEM but that would only make it a good program. What makes FIRST great is the ability to provide kids that would not be successful in other extra curricular areas the chance to really shine. My heart melts every time I see one of my robo kids cheered on by others in the school because of what they have done and are able to do. Robotics provides a connection to the school for kids that might not be connected.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide enough funding to make the cost of participation cheaper.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

This is my 4th year as a mentor for a FIRST FRC Team in Western PA. My role on the team was created because our school started a new team and my son was part of this. However, this is now my second year without my son being on the team. He graduated high school and is at a university that is #3 for Mechanical Engineering in the US. I keep coming back because the program enables students with many different skills and abilities to work on a STEM related project as a team and succeed. I have students on the team that have autism, ADHD, learning disabilities, the highest GPA's and the lowest GPA's, those who will not continue their education beyond high school and those who will create the next biggest thing, all working together. What program can incorporate all of that and still turn out a team of winners? It is FIRST Robotics. I am not an engineer or technical person. I am a nurse by trade. The Pittsburgh Regional Director and its program provides guidance and assistance to our team so that we can succeed!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers