Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I started with First as a mentor to kids that are about to enter high school with the goal of being the first in family to graduate college. Now, over 13 years later, I serve on the board of this great cause and am consistently impressed with the ability to deliver at such a high level to their students. The program is dedicated to help their students choose the right high school, tutor and mentor them through high school, pick a college suitable to their goals, and stick with them through college to graduation. Students who have been through the program have accomplished so much and come back to the program to help mentor younger students towards their goals. The staff, volunteers and the board work tirelessly to improve the program and achieve their goals of more and more students becoming the first in their family to graduate college.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I've been involved with First Graduate for 2 years. Ever since joining I've been inspired by the caliber of students that the organization recruits and the commitment that the staff shows day in and day out. The combination of the two makes for a highly impactful program that changes that lives of students who otherwise may not have made it to college.
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

I initially heard about First Graduate thanks to a friend who had worked with the organization for a few years. He had a wonderful experience, and his stories inspired me to sign up for my first volunteer event. From there I was hooked; I have attended and participated in many First Graduate events, including the Annual Gala, college workshops, Discovery Day, public speaking workshops and more. One of my favorite experiences was hosting a group of First Graduate students at my company for the day - it was so fun to introduce the students to a variety of professions that were possible with a college degree. Today, I feel very honored to be a member of the First Graduate board. The staff and leadership of the organization is first-class, and I am continually impressed with the dedication and passion they bring to their roles. I cannot recommend First Graduate enough!
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

I have had a multi-faceted and evolving relationship with First Graduate over the past few years. I started as a pro bono volunteer helping with their use of salesforce for CRM and donor/donation management. Then I jumped in as a volunteer at a number of student events. And now I am a board member. All through the my many year relationship I have been very impressed with the program, staff, and students. The work they are doing is important (I myself was first in my family to graduate) and I am happy to support their efforts. I found the volunteer efforts all very well organized and always felt like I had a significant impact on the students I was working with.
December 21, 2012

more

December 21, 2012

I have always been impressed by the degree to which First Graduate engages its students and the dedication and strategic thinking exhibited by the organization’s staff. What I feel sets First Graduate apart is the long-term commitment it provides to its students. Not only does the organization help students to succeed academically to make college a possibility, it works with them to realize that opportunity in application process and then continues to provide guidance and support once students are in college. The last portion of this commitment means a lot, particularly at a time when students from underserved communities often struggle at the beginning of their college careers. First Graduate truly makes a difference for many who will become the first in their family to graduate from college.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My first encounter with First Graduate came in 2003 when I was looking for opportunities to tutor high school students in reading and writing. That year of working with the first cohort of students (now all college grads!) as well as the sharp and dedicated staff led me to accept an invitation to join the board. Eight years later, I am as committed to First Graduate as ever! The difference the program makes in the lives of San Francisco youth, their families, and their communities is truly inspring. Because the commitment begins the summer before seventh grade and extends through the obtainment of a BA, staff build trusting and constructive relationships with students and families to help navigate the inevitable ups and downs of the adolescent educational journey -- always keeping the focus on the long view.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteers can serve as academic coaches or tutors at least once a week for two hours after school. Additional volunteer opportunities include: college advisory coaching, SAT test preparation coaching, college application support, personal statement writing, coaching, career advisory coaching, career day hosting, career panel participant, informational interviewing, mentoring, student evaluating, and marketing, fundraising or event assistance. Volunteer