Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I began volunteering with First Graduate earlier this year as a writing coach for a student who will be submitting his college applications soon. From the moment I was invited to volunteer I could see that First Graduate’s staff were well organized and thoughtful in their engagement with prospective volunteers. I truly appreciated that all of my questions were answered thoroughly and clearly before I began my volunteer work. The writing coach training I attended was well presented, and all follow-up communications with the staff have been prompt and helpful. I look forward to continuing my volunteer involvement with First Graduate in the months ahead.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I have volunteered with First Graduate for over a year in several capacities from helping with the annual gala to grading presentations to being an Academic Coach for 7th graders. The staff is well-organized, extremely focused, consistent and make it easy for volunteers to sign up for opportunities. The students are given a wide range of curriculum that I have seen truly help them to succeed in their everyday schoolwork to getting into college. You can see the pride each First Graduate has when being able to say he or she got into the school of their choice - tipping their cap to all of the support gained from the staff, coaches and volunteers. As a volunteer I have felt so inspired and know that I have helped to make a difference in many kids' lives.
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

I volunteered as an Academic Coach last year and it was the best experience I've ever had as a volunteer. The staff is very friendly and helpful, which made it easier to adapt to the role. Likewise, the students are so ambitious and talented that made it great to working with them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

When I retired from teaching and moved from Maine to the Bay Area of California I was looking for a meaningful volunteer program that was making a difference in the lives of kids who are motivated to improve their future. I found it in First Graduate. The experiences I have had with the students and staff have been rewarding and fulfilling. As a first graduate in my own family I realize how important a college education is to changing lives for the better. I will continue to volunteer and look forward to more success with the First Graduate program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

First Graduate is an amazing organization. The staff is passionate about making an impact and is truly dedicated to each and every student in the program. Being a volunteer with them for the past three years has been incredibly rewarding and I am excited to continue to give my time to them for years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 22, 2010

more

November 22, 2010

I became a mentor in the first class of First Graduate in 2000. My student is close to graduating from UC Santa Cruz this year. I have also been a tutor at various times. It has been a wonderful experience. FG has an outstanding staff and a great group of volunteers. All along as a volunteer I have felt well connected and supported by the program. I never felt overwhelmed or isolated in the experience. I've felt like I'm part of a team sharing the goal of getting my student through high school, into college and now nearly through college. I've been able to talk to FG counselors, teachers, staff and volunteers, share information, get advice and share problems and triumphs. Within the program I was able to develop a strong relationship with my student's parents and family. I have been a lifelong volunteer and had the pleasure of being involved in some very good programs. First Graduate is the best program for volunteer support and satisfaction that I have ever been involved with. I have been very fortunate to have been a part of First Graduate for over 10 years now and I look forward to years to come.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My student has had incredible support from First Graduate from middle school, through high school and now in college. He's been supported through many difficulties and found the opportunities to reach his considerable potential.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More money, more staff, more outreach, more volunteers, more students.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteers can serve as academic coaches or tutors at least once a week for two hours after school. Additional volunteer opportunities include: college advisory coaching, SAT test preparation coaching, college application support, personal statement writing, coaching, career advisory coaching, career day hosting, career panel participant, informational interviewing, mentoring, student evaluating, and marketing, fundraising or event assistance. Volunteer