Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 1, 2014

more

November 1, 2014

First Graduate is an inspiring nonprofit organization. It has an incredibly passionate and committed staff and an excellent, proven program. I was lucky enough to have some of the students visit my offices on "career day" and it was such a treat to see how engaged and thoughtful even the middle school students were about jobs and college and success. The staff has found a formula that seems to work incredibly well and it's inspiring to be a part of helping such a wonderful organization scale it's impact.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I have been involved with First Graduate for a few years. The Staff is incredibly passionate and committed. The students are provided a thorough and thoughtful progression from 7th grade through college to help them be first in their family to go to college. They students and their families are passionate about leveraging all of the services provided by First Graduate to get into college and avail themselves of a quality education.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

In seventh grade, I became a student of First Graduate. My middle school faced challenges typical of inner-city schools serving low-income kids of color: poor-quality education, gang problems, lack of resources, etc. The First Graduate staff and volunteers truly believed in my abilities and potential, and always encouraged me to reach for the best. Thanks to their guidance, I was admitted to one of the best high schools in San Francisco. I struggled a lot initially, but I always had their support to push me forward and help me become a student who not only excelled in school, but who was carefully preparing for college as well. Four years later, First Graduate staff and volunteers worked hard to guide me through the rigorous college application process. Lots of essay-editing and many questions about financial aid later, I was admitted to all ten of the schools to which I had applied, including Harvard, which is where I ultimately attended. But the support didn't end there! First Graduate staff, and my FG mentor, continued to check up on me throughout my years at Harvard. They provided (and still provide!) me with letters of recommendations to fellowships, grants, jobs, etc. and therefore I have been able to enrich my education even further through meaningful work and travel. I am proud to be a first-generation college graduate and a First Graduate alumna, and am forever indebted to the staff and volunteers for their tireless efforts to help me succeed. My personal mission now is to help other low-income kids of color through education, so that I can share all that First Graduate has given me. My life is a testimony to the effectiveness, organization, and dedication of this comprehensive, life-changing non-profit. This is why I give First Graduate 5 stars!
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I started with First as a mentor to kids that are about to enter high school with the goal of being the first in family to graduate college. Now, over 13 years later, I serve on the board of this great cause and am consistently impressed with the ability to deliver at such a high level to their students. The program is dedicated to help their students choose the right high school, tutor and mentor them through high school, pick a college suitable to their goals, and stick with them through college to graduation. Students who have been through the program have accomplished so much and come back to the program to help mentor younger students towards their goals. The staff, volunteers and the board work tirelessly to improve the program and achieve their goals of more and more students becoming the first in their family to graduate college.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I've been involved with First Graduate for 2 years. Ever since joining I've been inspired by the caliber of students that the organization recruits and the commitment that the staff shows day in and day out. The combination of the two makes for a highly impactful program that changes that lives of students who otherwise may not have made it to college.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I began volunteering with First Graduate earlier this year as a writing coach for a student who will be submitting his college applications soon. From the moment I was invited to volunteer I could see that First Graduate’s staff were well organized and thoughtful in their engagement with prospective volunteers. I truly appreciated that all of my questions were answered thoroughly and clearly before I began my volunteer work. The writing coach training I attended was well presented, and all follow-up communications with the staff have been prompt and helpful. I look forward to continuing my volunteer involvement with First Graduate in the months ahead.
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

I initially heard about First Graduate thanks to a friend who had worked with the organization for a few years. He had a wonderful experience, and his stories inspired me to sign up for my first volunteer event. From there I was hooked; I have attended and participated in many First Graduate events, including the Annual Gala, college workshops, Discovery Day, public speaking workshops and more. One of my favorite experiences was hosting a group of First Graduate students at my company for the day - it was so fun to introduce the students to a variety of professions that were possible with a college degree. Today, I feel very honored to be a member of the First Graduate board. The staff and leadership of the organization is first-class, and I am continually impressed with the dedication and passion they bring to their roles. I cannot recommend First Graduate enough!
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I have volunteered with First Graduate for over a year in several capacities from helping with the annual gala to grading presentations to being an Academic Coach for 7th graders. The staff is well-organized, extremely focused, consistent and make it easy for volunteers to sign up for opportunities. The students are given a wide range of curriculum that I have seen truly help them to succeed in their everyday schoolwork to getting into college. You can see the pride each First Graduate has when being able to say he or she got into the school of their choice - tipping their cap to all of the support gained from the staff, coaches and volunteers. As a volunteer I have felt so inspired and know that I have helped to make a difference in many kids' lives.
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

I volunteered as an Academic Coach last year and it was the best experience I've ever had as a volunteer. The staff is very friendly and helpful, which made it easier to adapt to the role. Likewise, the students are so ambitious and talented that made it great to working with them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

I have had a multi-faceted and evolving relationship with First Graduate over the past few years. I started as a pro bono volunteer helping with their use of salesforce for CRM and donor/donation management. Then I jumped in as a volunteer at a number of student events. And now I am a board member. All through the my many year relationship I have been very impressed with the program, staff, and students. The work they are doing is important (I myself was first in my family to graduate) and I am happy to support their efforts. I found the volunteer efforts all very well organized and always felt like I had a significant impact on the students I was working with.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteers can serve as academic coaches or tutors at least once a week for two hours after school. Additional volunteer opportunities include: college advisory coaching, SAT test preparation coaching, college application support, personal statement writing, coaching, career advisory coaching, career day hosting, career panel participant, informational interviewing, mentoring, student evaluating, and marketing, fundraising or event assistance. Volunteer