Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

I volunteered as an Academic Coach last year and it was the best experience I've ever had as a volunteer. The staff is very friendly and helpful, which made it easier to adapt to the role. Likewise, the students are so ambitious and talented that made it great to working with them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

I have had a multi-faceted and evolving relationship with First Graduate over the past few years. I started as a pro bono volunteer helping with their use of salesforce for CRM and donor/donation management. Then I jumped in as a volunteer at a number of student events. And now I am a board member. All through the my many year relationship I have been very impressed with the program, staff, and students. The work they are doing is important (I myself was first in my family to graduate) and I am happy to support their efforts. I found the volunteer efforts all very well organized and always felt like I had a significant impact on the students I was working with.
July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

When I retired from teaching and moved from Maine to the Bay Area of California I was looking for a meaningful volunteer program that was making a difference in the lives of kids who are motivated to improve their future. I found it in First Graduate. The experiences I have had with the students and staff have been rewarding and fulfilling. As a first graduate in my own family I realize how important a college education is to changing lives for the better. I will continue to volunteer and look forward to more success with the First Graduate program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

First Graduate is an amazing organization. The staff is passionate about making an impact and is truly dedicated to each and every student in the program. Being a volunteer with them for the past three years has been incredibly rewarding and I am excited to continue to give my time to them for years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 21, 2012

more

December 21, 2012

I have always been impressed by the degree to which First Graduate engages its students and the dedication and strategic thinking exhibited by the organization’s staff. What I feel sets First Graduate apart is the long-term commitment it provides to its students. Not only does the organization help students to succeed academically to make college a possibility, it works with them to realize that opportunity in application process and then continues to provide guidance and support once students are in college. The last portion of this commitment means a lot, particularly at a time when students from underserved communities often struggle at the beginning of their college careers. First Graduate truly makes a difference for many who will become the first in their family to graduate from college.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My first encounter with First Graduate came in 2003 when I was looking for opportunities to tutor high school students in reading and writing. That year of working with the first cohort of students (now all college grads!) as well as the sharp and dedicated staff led me to accept an invitation to join the board. Eight years later, I am as committed to First Graduate as ever! The difference the program makes in the lives of San Francisco youth, their families, and their communities is truly inspring. Because the commitment begins the summer before seventh grade and extends through the obtainment of a BA, staff build trusting and constructive relationships with students and families to help navigate the inevitable ups and downs of the adolescent educational journey -- always keeping the focus on the long view.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 22, 2010

more

November 22, 2010

I became a mentor in the first class of First Graduate in 2000. My student is close to graduating from UC Santa Cruz this year. I have also been a tutor at various times. It has been a wonderful experience. FG has an outstanding staff and a great group of volunteers. All along as a volunteer I have felt well connected and supported by the program. I never felt overwhelmed or isolated in the experience. I've felt like I'm part of a team sharing the goal of getting my student through high school, into college and now nearly through college. I've been able to talk to FG counselors, teachers, staff and volunteers, share information, get advice and share problems and triumphs. Within the program I was able to develop a strong relationship with my student's parents and family. I have been a lifelong volunteer and had the pleasure of being involved in some very good programs. First Graduate is the best program for volunteer support and satisfaction that I have ever been involved with. I have been very fortunate to have been a part of First Graduate for over 10 years now and I look forward to years to come.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My student has had incredible support from First Graduate from middle school, through high school and now in college. He's been supported through many difficulties and found the opportunities to reach his considerable potential.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More money, more staff, more outreach, more volunteers, more students.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteers can serve as academic coaches or tutors at least once a week for two hours after school. Additional volunteer opportunities include: college advisory coaching, SAT test preparation coaching, college application support, personal statement writing, coaching, career advisory coaching, career day hosting, career panel participant, informational interviewing, mentoring, student evaluating, and marketing, fundraising or event assistance. Volunteer