Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

Fire Wagon Hockey is a true volunteer organization, My husband and I have been involved for many years with this organization and continue to help out even though we don't have kids involved any more. We love to see the new people at the club as well as the old timers... Fire Wagon Hockey also gives back to the community in many ways and it makes the members of the club proud to be part of it..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

Firewagon Hockey is truly a local, all volunteer, grass roots organization dedicated to giving back to the community it serves. Youth hockey is at the heart of the organization, but that gives rise to its core principals of community, sportsmanship, and responsibility. Firewagon preserves the belief that hockey is a game, and tries to spark each player's passion for the game, hoping for life-long sport. The organization supports local charities and all players and parents are encouraged to donate their time and resources throughout the year, not just the hockey season. Playing hockey is a lifestyle and Firewagon Hockey makes it feel like a close community, creating memories that will last long after the last game is played.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

Fire Wagon Hockey has grown to be a part of our life and will be a lasting memory for me and my family forever. Fire Wagon Hockey has allowed all three of my sons to play hockey and establish long lasting friendships. The orginazation has been built on people working together as volunteers to get things done, with very strong success. They have strived to instill values in our kids to want to give back to future generations to come. Altough my kids have since moved on, I will always cherish what Fire Wagon has done for my family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

Fire Wagon Hockey not only helps the boys and girls within it's program but helps the whole community from Food Bank to local High Schools. They are always helping where help is needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

Fire Wagon Hockey has provided an experience for my three boys that they will cherish and remember forever. They have developed excellent character by being members of the club, made friends they will have forever, learned to be part of a team win or lose and learned a little about hockey in the process. The only negative experience is that it will have to end one day for the boys as players. The leadership of the organization has created a family fun atmosphere that makes you want to be a part of it and contribute. The effort made to keep it affordable are appreciated. Fire Wagon Hockey has also proved that you don't need to pay coahces to have good coaches; you just need the right coaches who coach for the right reasons. Other organizations should take notice on how Fire Wagon Hockey does it right.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

Fire Wagon Hockey has been a great influence on my 2 sons. They have met a lot of nice people with similar interests and many have been positive role models. I believe we will be members of this organization for many years to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

Truly an exceptional organization that promotes physical fitness, self esteem and espirit de corp among children and yound adults through the sports of ice hockey, fiigure skating, ice dancing and other ice skating activities. The staff is first rate, putting the student and his well-being and development first over any other aspect of these games, including winning. Fire Wagon Hockey is unique offering these programs in a not-for-profit setting, in which its programs exist in a for-profit world. And yet Fire Wagon excels over such for-profit organizations!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

Great club, Great people, Great Organization....We have been a part of the club for years. Great familly focused organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

Fire Wagon Hockey is the parent company of The Yellow Jackets Hockey Club. My sons and neice have played for the Yellow Jackets for a very long time, even back when it was a spring only organization. It is a 100% volunteer based organization, and has many very dedicated individuals who give countless hours of time for the good of the kids (which is the reason that we can keep our fees low, amongst the lowest in northern Illinois, due to the volunteerism). It's very family based as well. Everyone there cares about what is best for the children who skate for the club. It is also very "charity" based, with all events we hold having a component of service imbedded in them (whether it be a food drive for the local food pantries, raising money for Northern Illinois Special Recreation Association (NISRA) or the Susan G. Komen Foundation for Breast Cancer Research). People roll up their sleeves and jump in to help when they can. My son decided to play for Yellow Jackets when they first became a year-round program, knowing that he was going to stop playing in a highly skilled league and go into a fledgling program but he never changed his mind nor regretted his decision. We have been very happy to be a part of the Yellow Jackets organization from the beginning, and I am proud to be associated with this fine group of people. My son has gone on to play very competitive hockey and hopes to play in college as well. He has very fond memories of his days at the Yellow Jackets.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

The time I have spent with Fire Wagon Hockey has been extremely rewarding. Not only have I met some great families and made great lifelong friendships, I get very gratifying experiences with hundreds of young girls and boys. While having fun helping these great young lives developed I also get to teach them about servantship. This organization takes time out several times each year to raise money and food for several area food pantries. We hold an annual family skate night where we invite the NISRA (Northern Illinois Special Recreation Association) families. This has proven to be very rewarding to everyone who participates. Most of the proceeds from our annual golf outing are donated to NISRA. Teaching strong values to young people then watching them put those values into action is a phenomenal experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers