Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
1234.981485
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

Our journey begins with being reunited with one of our treasured friends who we met over 20 years ago, not knowing how our lives would be reconnected. Findingbalance Founder Constance Rhodes vision to help, heal, educate those striken with many forms of eating disorders, addictive compulsions, identity issues and more has given LIFE to my wife who has battled Anorexia & Bulimia for over 35 years to most recently dead without hope and the fight to live. Because of Findingbalance we are encouraged daily from the unconditional love, support given through this ministry. When Constance offered to fly to my home with her team to minister and bring life and hope to my wife not knowing the outcome we would face together, truly examplifies the commitment, passion Findingbalance has to healing, wellness and completion. Today through the Leadership of Constance my wife is alive and in treatment getting back what was lost and creating a pathway to Live Life once again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Begin to Partner with those who share the vision and grow this ministry to the next level. Begin to ask for donations support $$$$ from corporate companies who catch what the mission truly is. Begin to expand Partnerships in faith based organizations to allow for larger exposer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

I am not quite sure how I got hooked up with FINDINGbalance, but I am so very thankful for this organization. Monday through Friday, I get an email that refocuses me by asking the right questions.. down to the very core of me.I have been struck by Constance's insight and ability to challenge me without condemnation more than once, and my heart/ mind are being changed, one day at a time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not much as of right now! :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

Finding Balance is an amazing organization and to my knowledge the only organization in this space with more video content than any other organization in the country regarding body image issues, eating disorders, self worth, and self value. Finding Balance also has curriculums for small groups to help with daily, weekly, and monthly accountability.

I think Finding Balance should be a nationally recognized organization with representation and small groups in every state.

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Finding Balance has been such a blessing to me. I first heard of the organization 2008 when was looking for resources during a difficult time in my life.... I was very excited to find people/info that encouraged me and strengthened my relationship with God. Through the different options, videos, guides and groups, I have enjoyed utilizing Finding Balance... And especially the Hungry For Hope conferences.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Findingbalance found me at the lowest point in my life. I was desperate, alone, and dying in the grips of my eating disorder. With my health on the line, I sent an email to Constance Rhodes seeking help and prayer. Within just a few days, she replied in an email enriched with not only guidance and resources, but compassion and empathy. Her one simple act showed me that I was no longer alone, and that I actually had a life worth fighting for. Following our first interaction, I was able to attend a four month long inpatient treatment stay to find freedom from my eating disorder. I graduated from treatment in February, with my creativity bursting at the seams. Findingbalance gave me an arena to let my words from the heart be published and read by others with similar struggles. I found companionship within the realm of recovery, something I had heard of but never experienced myself. I found myself finding meaning in my new life without an eating disorder. In short, Findingbalance helped me find ME-who I am, Alyee, alive and thriving....and a worldchanger set free!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I found Finding Balance prior to receiving treatment for bulimia. I was hopeless and searching for encouragement. I think I typed in something about how God views women with eating disorders. A few clicks later, I found a whole page of printable truths through FB's True Campaign. It was an answer to prayer and planted a seed of hope inside of me that grew eventually to courage. It is so Christ-centered and does not focus only on eating disorders. FB is a website that promotes healthy body image, habits, and freedom through Jesus. It is so unique and helpful to many people. So thankful!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Google.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

It has encouraged me to look to the Lord as my Helper. He is ultimately the only one who can heal my heart. I think there is a big disconnect sometimes between our relationships with God and ourselves. In treatment, I focused on finding myself so much that I sometimes forgot the piece of me that longed to be known by God. This organization reminds me daily via Facebook or Twitter that recovery is about living fully for my Savior.

May 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I found Finding Balance at a time when I needed it most. I am so grateful for an organization that is addressing issues that most women struggle with: self-image and our constant desire for thinness. FB revealed to me the lies I had been believing through media about what beauty means. Not only did my definition of beauty change, but my obsession with thinness was revealed as a control in my life. I am now able to see myself the way that God sees me which is bringing me freedom. I am so glad that the experts at FB are speaking out and helping folks just like me see the need to break out of the thin cage and find freedom in Christ - just the way He designed it to be. It is an organization that is shouting out the truth to an issue that plaques so many of us. I am eternally grateful!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 23, 2011

more

March 23, 2011

I started attending a FINDINBbalance "Gathering" in February of 2010 and have kept going back every week since! Fb offers a unique support for women of all ages and stages of recovery from disordered eating and body image issues. The weekly video messages by Fb founder Constance Rhodes and other special guests are always Christ-centered, meaningful, and encouraging. Participating in Fb's programs has been a life-changing experience for me, and I have watched as it has been life-changing for my fellow group members as well.

FINDINGbalance impacted me so much that after a volunteer meeting this February, I approached Constance about a job opportunity with Fb. After a short, totally God-led series of events, I became Fb's first-ever Program & Development Manager. In fact, I just started this week! Now, I get to give back to the organization that helped rescue me from certain darkness. I kid you not, I am tearing up as I write this - God is so, so very good.

I am so grateful that this resource exists! Thank you Constance and Fb for all you've done - I only hope my contributions to this organization can help others the same way I have been helped.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Finding Balance has been the single most helpful resource throughout my recovery from chronic dieting, binge-eating disorder, and obsession with self-image.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish there were Finding Balance Gatherings all over the country. Every major city should have this volunteer-based resource available! Community is crucial when it comes to recovering from disordered eating.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

Internet & Word of Mouth

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 11, 2011

more

March 11, 2011

Finding Balance has been a key component of my aftercare and continued recovery from anorexia. When I first discovered their website, through a desperate Google search for, "body image distortion," I was mesmerized by the depth, wisdom and practical help provided by their experts. Video clips and articles addressing actual women's questions fed my soul, giving me courage and a sense of identity. The Finding Balance blog has often addressed my exact feelings; the contributors are transparent about their struggles.
I have sought many means of continued support for my recovery after inpatient treatment. Finding Balance has been the most well-rounded and consistent source of support that I have found.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Finding Balance has encouraged me in re-learning to feed myself, to moderate exercise and to appreciate my body.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

May 25, 2010

more

May 25, 2010

FINDINGbalance is an amazing organization that reaches out to women who have struggled with food, dieting, hating their body, and so many other insecurities. There is no other organization quite like it that offers a faith based no-diet approach to changing the way you feel about your body and yourself. The 12-week small group curriculum opened my eyes and completely changed the way I viewed my body. It helped me to break free from the world of disordered eating after years of bingeing to dieting, to obsessive excercising then not exercising at all, creating a cycle of gaining and losing weight until I hated my body for the struggle it put me through. Constance's raw honesty and empathic way of speaking the truth about our unhealthy thoughts and habits helped me to break free from the control that food and my body held over me. The website allows me to stay connected and find support and encouragement through the hundreds of videos and blogs from people all over the spectrum of body image and eating issues. This organization is so helpful on the pathway to freedom from being controlled by your eating and body issues!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping me break free from my eating issues and love my body and finally feel confident and beautiful. I've learned how to truly "find balance" by taking care of myself through healthy eating and exercise but not letting that rule my thoughts.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Contact colleges, churches and counselors and let them know about our tools.Have coffee with influential people and a) educate them on the vast numbers of people struggling with eating issues and b) let them know what we're doing.Edit, encode and upload our weekly FINDINGbalance Gathering videos.Record and produce a weekly podcast.Do a web search and compile resources for us to refer recovery-seekers to.