Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
123.9411845
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

FINCA is more than poverty eradication because it help many people include my family to have independent lives and in deed FINCA help Micro,Small, and medium enterprises(MSME) in my community,
Through FINCA my government and non- government help to exploit opportunity in my
country.

Thank God for create people who have good idea of start FINCA. GOD BLESS FINCA,GOD BLESS TANZANIA


I have nothing to offer to FINCA but GOD BLESS YOU ALL
October 21, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

A few years ago my husband and I had the privilege of being escorted by a staff member of FINCA International to three micro-lending community groups when we were in Otavalo, Ecuador. We attended two different meetings and talked with group members about their projects and their participation in the FINCA micro-lending group. We also visited several of the projects: a sewing collective, a chicken project and a pig raising project. The pride and energy of the participants was palpable. The success of these - mostly women -entrepreneurs and the influence they gained both within their families and in their communities addressed important social issues of gender equality as well as economic issues.

My husband and I returned home to the US feeling proud to be supporters of FINCA and motivated to continue our support.
October 19, 2014

more

October 19, 2014

FINCA is about changing lives, building hopes for a brighter and better future. FINCA loans has touched the lives of many Afghan families, it has enabled Afghan entrepreneurs to create job for them and their surroundings.

FINCA loan has brought hopes to the families and children of some of
those families to go to school now and see the future colorful.

Thank you
FINCA
October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

When so much government aid can go astray it's great to know that money (from FINCA) is getting into the hands of the people who can really use it to transform their societies one small step at a time.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Loaning ambitious people money to build their own roads out of poverty makes sense to me. I like to hear about women being able to see their creativity and drive benefit their families. That's what we like to do. I think FINCA does a good job of getting money to the right people.
April 30, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

April 30, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

A number of years ago I did extensive research on the impact various approaches have to cyclical poverty and global population growth, both of which I consider to be root cause factors in many of our challenges. Empowering small primarily women based businesses in a disciplined approach to business is perhaps the single most efective way of impacting things. FINCA's structure makes it very difficult to compare to other microlenders. While FINCA was once in a class all by itself, I cannot fault those who choose Accion instead. I still prefer FINCA because their approach not only fuels individual entrepreneurs, it also sets up what are in effect micro business management schools in the form of its local micro banks. Also, for those that are troubled by FINCA's overhead expense numbers, these are distorted much in the same way Accion's are. Both organization have umbrella organizations, and then local arms that are structured as separate entities. So for both, the overhead percentage of the umbrealla is grossly distorted upward. If you look at them on a consolidated basis, both are running around 95% +/- 1% of their funds going to their charitable purpose. IRS form 990 does not reflect this. So FINCA will continue to get my very strong support. I only wish I could give them more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I guess I would like to see something done to make them more visible in the search results returned by Google and other search engines, espeically when keying in such obvious search strings as "micro lenders rated." FINCA is quite dramatically better than its visiblity would suggest.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 4, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I have read the reviews and I too do not want to donate to a charity where the CEO and board members receive way too high compensation.

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 9, 2012
15 people found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
15 people found this review helpful

93% of donations goes directly to clients, providing micro-loans, primarily to women. Plenty has been written recently about unscrupulous microfinance organizations who tempt people to overextend themselves and then squeeze them dry. FINCA's rate for in-arrears more than 30 days is a very conservative less than 1.5%, of which less than 1% is eventually written off. In addition to the individual loans, FINCA's model is to build village banking organizations wherever they lend, with more and more of the lending done by locals over time.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 13, 2012
15 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 13, 2012
15 people found this review helpful

Like others on this review, I agree that the administrative costs, particularly for the director, have become excessive. I'd been giving for the last three years, but will refrain from giving more until they get these costs under control. Also, why pay board members?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 25, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 25, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

I haven't donated to FINCA since I saw a financial statement several years ago. FINCA's administration appears to be quite fat. The admin expenses are high, the Executive Director's salary is very large, and at least one board member (founder J. Hatch) is paid a very large salary for part time work. I'd prefer to have my donations more efficiently leveraged in a leaner organization. Now that micro-finance is an established development technique there a number of more efficient alternatives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers