Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.962265
Write A Review
September 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

I am a client with mobility impairments. When I applied for a service dog through Fidos for Freedom, I had no idea how much my life would change. Not only does my dog, Tank, assist me in areas of my e... more

September 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been with Fidos for a little over 3 years. I came to the organization to receive a mobility, service dog. I didn't realize that I would be gaining so much more.

I very quickly felt that both the clients and trainers cared about me as a person as well as a client. There is a
definite family atmosphere at Fidos! I have developed some amazing friendships that will last a lifetime. In many organizations, it is difficult to find people who care as much as my friends at Fidos, but any time I've needed anything, summertime is there.

Because they care, the volunteers put an incredible amount of time and energy into their work there. Most have full time jobs and families, but still give us their all.

I've been matched with my dog, Tank, since February 2012. Since then, my life has changed immensely! I am able to live on my own and go out alone because Tank is there to help me. I'm back in college, taking a class, coaching a basketball team, volunteering at church, and other things I haven't been able to do in years.

I now volunteer wherever I can at Fidos so I can help others the same way I have been helped by others. I owe my independence and increased confidence to my Fidos For Freedom family!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 12, 2012

I am a client with mobility impairments. When I applied for a service dog through Fidos for Freedom, I had no idea how much my life would change. Not only does my dog, Tank, assist me in areas of my every day life, he has given me gives me the confidence to go out into the world more often. With Tank, I know that if I need assistance, he is there to give it. We've only been together for 6 months and each day, I learn a little more about him and the ways he can help me continue to be independent. I will forever be thankful to the volunteers at Fidos for all they have done and continue to do for me and the other the clients of their various programs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have just started training with Fidos and already my life has changed for the better in ways I couldn't have imagined. The volunteers are beyond helpful and understanding and truly take a special interest in each of their clients as well as the dogs that serve them. I can't say enough about the dogs themselves either! They all have such sweet personalities and you can tell that the trainers recognize and bring out the best in each dog. I am really excited to have Fidos as a part of my life. It feels like a second family!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

When I started losing my hearing, I found Fidos for a Freedom. They gave me a hearing dog. They care a great deal about the clients and dogs. My life was changed for the better when they gave me Alice. the organization is run by an awesome group of people. They have an incredible therapy dog program and participate in the DEAR program. Grest organisation and I highly recommend them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them money to expand and continue the good work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

I never dreamed a specially trained assistance dog would do more than alert me to the sounds I could not hear and help me with balance related tasks. Quite frankly, the decision to partner with an ass... more

May 28, 2014

Fidos For Freedom gave me independence. Having invisible disabilities meant that people could not tell by looking at me that I was deaf and had a balance disorder. I had trouble coping at work and rarely left the house for anything other than "must have" errands. After being matched with a hearing/balance assist dog named Chloe, I am no independent again. I can run errands, work, and I went back to school and am completing my doctorate. More importantly I found a "family". The trainers love people AND dogs, and work hard to make sure each match is successful. The volunteers and clients are all "community minded" and work hard to make a difference in the lives of others. Fidos For Freedom has made a permanent impact on my life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 12, 2012

I never dreamed a specially trained assistance dog would do more than alert me to the sounds I could not hear and help me with balance related tasks. Quite frankly, the decision to partner with an assistance dog changed my life dramatically. I'm working again and no longer isolate myself at home as I have an independence and self-confidence to do all the things I felt I could no longer do. Fidos For Freedom, Inc., takes pride in being an ADI organization and I have felt like a valued member of the organization as now - a veteran client. Fidos For Freedom has served to better the lives of people in the Baltimore-Washington area for many years. I'm very excited to be a part of this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 27, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

I am the mother of a child who was blessed to be welcomed into this organization. I have watched the process with awe as he learned all the new things he could do with the partnership of a wonderful ... more

May 27, 2014

My son was matched with his service dog about a year and a half ago. His life has been immeasurably improved by this organization and their incredible work. Everyone that we have met at this organization has a laser focus on helping individuals with disabilities to improve their lives. They are selfless, dedicated volunteers who go way above and beyond in their work. And they do this with love and humor and you become a part of their family. I have never been a part of any organization that works so hard to improve the lives of others. If I could I would volunteer all my time helping them in any way possible.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 12, 2012

I am the mother of a child who was blessed to be welcomed into this organization. I have watched the process with awe as he learned all the new things he could do with the partnership of a wonderful service animal. The icing on top were the wonderful, dedicated professionals who donate their time, passion and expertise to ensure that each client gets the best suited animal for their needs. And the on-going support is critical to continue to ensure that the animal helps the client with their needs. I would recommend this organization to anyone who has a need or is looking for somewhere to donate their money to a worthy charitable organization. This is it! Sincerely, Madeleine Beary

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 13, 2012

I have been a client at Fidos since the 90's (that is a long time). I have received two hearing dogs from this organization that has become my family. If it was not for this great non-profit I would not be living independent and would be afraid to do things on my own. I have been proud to represent them both locally and nationally.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 13, 2012

I am an adjunct professor at Coppin State University. I asked Sharon Tucker and Tommy to come speak to my class about the importance of service animals and organizations like Fidos For Freedom, Inc. The student were engaged and curious about Tommy's skills. They also gained an important insight regarding facility accessibility. I look forward to inviting Sharon and Tommy to my class each semester.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Fidos provided me with my amazing hearing dog Star and continue to work with us to make sure that we remain on top of our game. I can't imagine what my life would be like if they had not come into it. I am a much happier, much more independent person because of them and I have formed long term lasting friendships with my fellow clients, the volunteers, the trainers, and everyone else who is a member of this close knit community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I wanted to say thanks to the trainers and friends at Fidos for freedom for giving me oppunity to have lily (hearing/services dog in my life and I feel more freedom and inpendence in my life... Thank you for all my Fidos friend to give me a wonderful hearing/ service dog.... Thanks fir this nonprofit to help other with disability but we are able and more inpendence in our life's with these services dogs... Thank you...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 12, 2012

I am a hearing impaired person who lives a fully, more independent and happier life because of the hearing dog, Ellie, that I was matched with at FIDOS for Freedom in 2006.
In late 2005, I applied for a hearing dog at FIDOS. I went through an interview that asked me what me needs were, hearing
a door knock, telephone ring, person coming up behind me, being told I had dropped something, someone calling my name and other sound alarms that I do not hear. I was accepted into the program and did my initial training, first without a dog, and then with various dogs. In March 2006, I was matched with Ellie, my Norwegian Buhund, hearing dog. I was also matched with a FIDOS trainer who would make Ellie work for me.
FIDOS has a well thought out program of making all this work. The volunteers give of their time and hearts to help the clients live a more independent, safer and happier life. Their good work has been demonstrated with Ellie’s behavior many times over the years and the organization is always willing to help me when I ask for it. Although, I have basically been rather inactive for the last four years or so I know that I can depend on them when I have needs.
Ellie has behaved in an amazing way over that time and it is a result of the careful choosing and training that she has received. I tell people that she really isn’t a dog but is my ears. I can take her everywhere, and do so, and depend on her proper behavior and alerting. We have been in theaters, air planes, trains, buses, airports, restaurants, classes, voting lines etc.
I am blessed to live near the FIDOS organization and truly believe that they deserve many awards for what they do for people with hearing and mobility disabilities and for the therapy dog work they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Disability Education, Office Assistance, Public Relations, Fundraising, and much more! Volunteer