Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.961545
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 11, 2012

Fidos is a wonderful volunteer organization.I have been a volunteer for over 11years and have participated in most of their programs in some roll. The people I have met are genuinely dedicated to thei... more

June 28, 2014

Wonderful volunteers, great dogs. constant in the community for >25 yrs . Clients treated as part of family and offered support before, during and after placement of assistance dog. Therapy Dogs visit community and love everyone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help with more financial contributions to fix their leaky roof.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 11, 2012

Fidos is a wonderful volunteer organization.I have been a volunteer for over 11years and have participated in most of their programs in some roll. The people I have met are genuinely dedicated to their mission and spend countless hours working with dogs, clients and the general public, all to improve someone's life with these special dogs. My favorite comments from audience members after watching a demonstrationn were "the dogs never barked and all got along with each other, and did exactly what you wanted !! Do you drug them??? " Of course NOT, these dogs prove that love and consistant good training make dogs a valued member of the society whether working for a disabled client or cheering a lonely widow in a nursing center.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 27, 2014

more

May 27, 2014

Fidos for freedom always help others with service dogs... I am proud to be a client at Fidos...
Thank you Fidos for help others and etc... ;)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help others and make things better and help other people or clients to be match with a service animals

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

My husband and I started volunteering for Fidos For Freedom about 6 years ago. We had, to begin with, 2 standard poodles with marvelous temperments that we thought would make great therapy dogs. I also had a dream for my male standard to be able to breed and donate puppies back to Fidos to be trained as service dogs. So far, one of the puppies is almost ready to be matched with a client, 2 are at the Federal prison, and the 2 puppies are with puppy raisers. We remain so thankful to Fidos For Freedom's trainers, puppy raisers, therapy dog program, and all the wonderful dedicated volunteers, who make lives of those they touch so much better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I have been a volunteer with Fidos for almost 3 years and am working with my second therapy dog. The are a wonderful caring group that provides service dogs for little money and our visits to hospitals and care facilities are wonderful. A great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have been involved with the organization since 2001 after the rest of my family got involved in various capacities from being a Jr Volunteer to the Jr Coordinator and Board Member. I can say from the office staff, to all the trainers, and all the volunteers are some of the best, and most devoted I've seen. It is amazing to see the effect a trained service dog has on the life of somebody who needs one. I'm proud to be a volunteer for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 12, 2012

I currently serve as a puppy raiser for FIDOS. It's a tremendous community! I raise and socialize a puppy for 9-12 months and then release it back into the program for its formal training. I have volunteered in a variety of non-profits, but this experience by far has been one of the best.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I learned about Fidos 2 1/2 years ago. Since I do not have a dog, I didn't know how I could help. But as a "dogless handler", I go on visits to Hospitals and Nursing Homes with other volunteers who have more than one dog. Seeing the smiling faces of patients, especially children, is so heart warming. Many times it is hard to get to the patients because the staff and visitors want to pet the dogs; they are important too. Therapy dogs are just one aspect of Fidos. Providing service dogs to help the dependent become independent is inspiring. And a number of these people are young, even 20's, and so happy with their service dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

"I can't" is turned to "I CAN!" with the help of Fidos for Freedom! People whose lives are forever changed with the help of dogs can enjoy an independence that may have been squelched by physical limitations and a lack of confidence in their own abilities. Having an assistance/hearing dog opens doors literally and figuratively. Fidos volunteers come together to train champion teams who face daily hurdles. I find Fidos volunteers to be caring folk from all walks of life, giving of their hearts and talents and time to give others a hand up! I trained several assistance and hearing dogs for Fidos and have a true love and respect for the working dogs, the clients who put their all into preparing for life with a service dog, and a special regard for the many volunteers who are party to making the quality of life better for persons with disabilities. Learn more...call Fidos for Freedom for help...or to volunteer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I have been a volunteeer with Fidos since 2001, when I was a freshman in high school. I started out as a junior volunteer in order to get my community service hours required for high school. I thought it would be a fun way to get my hours and be able to hang out around dogs- little did I know that it would suck me in and keep me around for more than 10 years. My junior year I became one of 2 juniors selected to raise a puppy for the assistance dog training program. After having him for a year I then raised another puppy, and then recruited my dad to take over the responsibility when I left for college. Over the past 8 years I have taken part of raising and/or training at least 6+ dogs between breaks from college and grad school. I also volunteered as an assistant to the Director of Client Services to ensure the clients' process through the training program went smoothly and efficiently. The most rewarding part of volunteering with Fidos is being able to see first hand the differences these dogs make on peoples' lives, and the knowledge that I to have been able to help people in ways I may never even understand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I have volunteered with Fidos since 1998. There is nothing more rewarding for me than doing therapy dog work. The joy that a dog can bring to,someone is just priceless.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers