Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.962265
| 1 ... 3 4 5 | Next
Write A Review
November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

So about 10 yrs ago, my life fell apart! Literally; My best friend in the world, my husband, passed away from cancer. The last gift he gave me right before he died, was my sweet golden/lab puppy named Max. Max was special from the start and so many friends told me "You should make him a Therapy dog". My vet recommended I go to Fidos For Freedom in Laurel as they did Therapy work at numerous local health care facilities. I figured giving back and focusing on helping others might be the best ticket to my own recovery; so off I went. Once we started visiting the nursing homes, the children's homes, the hospitals and so many other health care places, I began to realize what an amazing organization Fidos for Freedom really is. They not only bring comfort and joy to many many people in health care and residentail facilites; they help the patients, the staff and the families! Then I also found out they train assistance animals for the mobility and hearing impaired. These specially trained dogs are raised and trained and then become the life line for our clients for many years to come. WOW! what an organization; they do therapy dog work; they do assistance dog work; they help people in so many ways all over the Baltimore Washington area. I am proud and honored to be a part of such a special organziation!!! Check them out!! they are open to the public on Wed nights from 6:30pm to 8:30pm and on Sat mornings from 10am to 11am ; you can get a really good doggie fix and see what this great organization does!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 9, 2012

It is an honor to come to work everyday and interact with the dogs, the handlers, and the Fidos for Freedom organization . The dogs have a very positive impact on everyone around them, and It is rewarding to observe the dogs as they mature and learn new skills. The program effects the handlers, too, as they build confidence through practice and patience. The training the handlers receive from Fidos is top-notch. Thank you for gving us the opportunity to help you help others!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I love Fidos' Therapy Dog program. I started volunteering with Fidos in 2005. just after my father died after a long illness in a nursing home. I knew firsthand how important therapy dog visits were, but I didn't know how to get started. Then I found Fidos on the web. Fidos trained me and my dog how to do the best visits. They introduced me to other therapy dog teams and we do visits in groups Fidos is well organized -- they have a huge selection of visits, from Annapolis to Baltimore; from children's hospitals to rehab centers. They do visits at night and during the day. Fidos has a long history of doing therapy visits--there are always experienced volunteers on hand to help newcomers. Going with a team means that we can visit more people and it means that I have emotional support when the visits remind me of my dad. I'm glad to be a part of a group that does such important work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This organization provides so much help to so many people. The dedicated volunteers really make all their programs run so beautifully. Those they help and the dogs that help them are inspirations to us all.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

"Actions and words are the windows through which the heart is seen." And at Fidos for Freedom the hearts are all big and their program is wonderful. I have seen so many people and animals helped by Fidos. It is a very worthy charity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer at Fidos For Freedom for over twelve years. I continue to be inspired by the dedication of the volunteers, whether they are raising puppies, training dogs, taking their own dogs on therapy visits to hospitals and nursing homes, or taking their dogs to help children learn to read. Everyone is doing their part to help people increase the quality of their lives with these special dogs. Every time I see one of our service dogs working with a client and helping them be more independent, it gives me chills. I am proud to be a part of this very special group of people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I became a Fidos volunteer after learning about the program when my daughter joined the junior volunteer program in 2001. My daughter participated in a pilot program, becoming the first junior volunteer to be allowed to become a puppy raiser for Fidos. This introduced me to the Fidos mission of enabling people to improve their quality of life by training dogs to assist them in their normal daily activities. Fidos also has a therapy dog program where volunteers take their dogs to various venues to brighten the lives of the people they visit. I saw that this organization was dedicated to improving the lives of people in the local area through the unique abilities of the volunteers and their canine companions. Over the years, I have performed many activities in support of Fidos. I have been a puppy raiser, vacation home provider, dog trainer, therapy dog handler, and information technology specialist. One of nicest things about Fidos is that volunteers can find ways to match their unique talents with the needs of the organization. All while knowing that they are helping to improve peoples' lives through your efforts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 3 4 5 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers