Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.960785
| 1 ... 3 4 5 |
Write A Review
November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

FIDOS for Freedom is a truly inspirational organization. I have a daughter who is very quiet, and knowing that FIDOS has a program geared towards assisting children in developing their reading skills means so much to me. Their programs are truly broad reaching and affect so many aspects of our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Fidos has been an organization that our whole family could volunteer at together. We all have different interests and have found a way to explore them at Fidos. It has been a very positive experience for us all to share volunteering and see the positive results on many levels. We all have learned from our experience at Fidos and have applied that knowledge in many ways. Seeing clients and dog teams succeed and hearing the clients speak of how their service dog has changed their life, seeing people buoyed up in spirit by a dog visit, seeing lagging students improve in their reading skills in a short period of time are all major benefits of our Fidos volunteer experience. In addition we have worked with all kinds of dogs at many different levels of development. All in all we are all richer for our Fido's experience and can feel great having made a difference for many in need. Without a doubt we've received much more than we've given.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

This is an inspirational group who does such wonderful things in the community. I have been especially impressed with the program working with at the Prison where they help train the puppies who will later be service dogs. What an amazing gift to so many in need. As physical therapist this is so crucial for so many of my pediatric patients who are in need of a service dog to help them with their everyday needs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Fido's is an incredible organization. They help so many people in so many ways. They train therapy dogs that go out to hospitals and nursing homes to visit the sick. They train service dogs to help those with disabilities, they run a program at the prison in Cumberland to work with the young dogs for basic training and they have the school program that lets the children read to the dogs to practice their reading skills. These volunteers certainly touch many lives in such important ways.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

I have found Fidos for Freedom to be a great non-profit. I am particularly impressed with their program with prisoners in the correctional institute in Cumberland. They also involved in training service dogs and therapy dogs. It is a program of selfless people reaching out to the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

I joined Fidos as a volunteer 20 years ago. At that time I had two retired racing Greyhounds and both my dogs and I joined Fidos Therapy dog program and visited hospitals and nursing homes. After several years of enjoying the therapy dog work I learned how to task train the puppies and young dogs that would eventually become assistance dogs to help either a person with a hearing loss or a person with a physical disability. This turned out to be the most rewarding experience I have ever encountered. Fidos is like a family. They really care about the dogs and the people. We have a great support system, not only for the volunteers but for the clients that Fidos serves. I can speak from experience since several years ago, I gave up my role as a full-time trainer to become a Fidos client who received a Fidos service dog to assist me with my day-to-day activities. Even after the dogs go home with the clients, if there is ever a training problem, Fidos policy is that we will always be there to help the team!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

My best friend started out with Fidos with therapy dogs. She has been going for so long that some of her dogs have retired but she has kept on and trained new dogs as therapy dogs. I have seen her blossom as a person through her good deeds as a therapy dog handler. Once I went as her guest to the Fidos banquet. Not only was it impressive to hear about all the various programs and services they provide, it was amazing to be around so many well-behaved dogs at one time. There were hundreds of people there and I was one of the few without a dog!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I've done some volunteer work for Fidos and seen them in action. It's so wonderful knowing that a group like this is willing to put in tremendous hours to select and train dogs in the very specialized skills they need to serve as companion dogs. I know how much these dogs mean to the clients who receive them: literally a new life, in addition to greater security and companionship. These dogs help bring many disabled clients out of depression and help them to get out of the home where they would otherwise be confined.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been in the service dog field since the late 1970s, starting the first prison dog program in 1981. I've been personally involved with Fidos for many years, helping them find dogs and going to educational programs with them. This group is by far one of the best service dog organizatons that I have ever come to know about. They are excellent in maintaining high training standard and they give back, starting a prison dog program in Maryland. The Fidos For Freedom team make the experience personal for their clients. They care about them. It is a volunteer group that demonstrates the importance to becoming involved in helping others. I would recommend this organization 100 percent.. not just saying this but really meaning it because I know first hand the good that they have done and continue to do. Sr Pauline Quinn

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

So about 10 yrs ago, my life fell apart! Literally; My best friend in the world, my husband, passed away from cancer. The last gift he gave me right before he died, was my sweet golden/lab puppy named Max. Max was special from the start and so many friends told me "You should make him a Therapy dog". My vet recommended I go to Fidos For Freedom in Laurel as they did Therapy work at numerous local health care facilities. I figured giving back and focusing on helping others might be the best ticket to my own recovery; so off I went. Once we started visiting the nursing homes, the children's homes, the hospitals and so many other health care places, I began to realize what an amazing organization Fidos for Freedom really is. They not only bring comfort and joy to many many people in health care and residentail facilites; they help the patients, the staff and the families! Then I also found out they train assistance animals for the mobility and hearing impaired. These specially trained dogs are raised and trained and then become the life line for our clients for many years to come. WOW! what an organization; they do therapy dog work; they do assistance dog work; they help people in so many ways all over the Baltimore Washington area. I am proud and honored to be a part of such a special organziation!!! Check them out!! they are open to the public on Wed nights from 6:30pm to 8:30pm and on Sat mornings from 10am to 11am ; you can get a really good doggie fix and see what this great organization does!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers