Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.962265
Write A Review
November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I learned about Fidos 2 1/2 years ago. Since I do not have a dog, I didn't know how I could help. But as a "dogless handler", I go on visits to Hospitals and Nursing Homes with other volunteers who have more than one dog. Seeing the smiling faces of patients, especially children, is so heart warming. Many times it is hard to get to the patients because the staff and visitors want to pet the dogs; they are important too. Therapy dogs are just one aspect of Fidos. Providing service dogs to help the dependent become independent is inspiring. And a number of these people are young, even 20's, and so happy with their service dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

"I can't" is turned to "I CAN!" with the help of Fidos for Freedom! People whose lives are forever changed with the help of dogs can enjoy an independence that may have been squelched by physical limitations and a lack of confidence in their own abilities. Having an assistance/hearing dog opens doors literally and figuratively. Fidos volunteers come together to train champion teams who face daily hurdles. I find Fidos volunteers to be caring folk from all walks of life, giving of their hearts and talents and time to give others a hand up! I trained several assistance and hearing dogs for Fidos and have a true love and respect for the working dogs, the clients who put their all into preparing for life with a service dog, and a special regard for the many volunteers who are party to making the quality of life better for persons with disabilities. Learn more...call Fidos for Freedom for help...or to volunteer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I have been a volunteeer with Fidos since 2001, when I was a freshman in high school. I started out as a junior volunteer in order to get my community service hours required for high school. I thought it would be a fun way to get my hours and be able to hang out around dogs- little did I know that it would suck me in and keep me around for more than 10 years. My junior year I became one of 2 juniors selected to raise a puppy for the assistance dog training program. After having him for a year I then raised another puppy, and then recruited my dad to take over the responsibility when I left for college. Over the past 8 years I have taken part of raising and/or training at least 6+ dogs between breaks from college and grad school. I also volunteered as an assistant to the Director of Client Services to ensure the clients' process through the training program went smoothly and efficiently. The most rewarding part of volunteering with Fidos is being able to see first hand the differences these dogs make on peoples' lives, and the knowledge that I to have been able to help people in ways I may never even understand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Fidos provided me with my amazing hearing dog Star and continue to work with us to make sure that we remain on top of our game. I can't imagine what my life would be like if they had not come into it. I am a much happier, much more independent person because of them and I have formed long term lasting friendships with my fellow clients, the volunteers, the trainers, and everyone else who is a member of this close knit community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I have volunteered with Fidos since 1998. There is nothing more rewarding for me than doing therapy dog work. The joy that a dog can bring to,someone is just priceless.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I wanted to say thanks to the trainers and friends at Fidos for freedom for giving me oppunity to have lily (hearing/services dog in my life and I feel more freedom and inpendence in my life... Thank you for all my Fidos friend to give me a wonderful hearing/ service dog.... Thanks fir this nonprofit to help other with disability but we are able and more inpendence in our life's with these services dogs... Thank you...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 12, 2012

I am a hearing impaired person who lives a fully, more independent and happier life because of the hearing dog, Ellie, that I was matched with at FIDOS for Freedom in 2006.
In late 2005, I applied for a hearing dog at FIDOS. I went through an interview that asked me what me needs were, hearing
a door knock, telephone ring, person coming up behind me, being told I had dropped something, someone calling my name and other sound alarms that I do not hear. I was accepted into the program and did my initial training, first without a dog, and then with various dogs. In March 2006, I was matched with Ellie, my Norwegian Buhund, hearing dog. I was also matched with a FIDOS trainer who would make Ellie work for me.
FIDOS has a well thought out program of making all this work. The volunteers give of their time and hearts to help the clients live a more independent, safer and happier life. Their good work has been demonstrated with Ellie’s behavior many times over the years and the organization is always willing to help me when I ask for it. Although, I have basically been rather inactive for the last four years or so I know that I can depend on them when I have needs.
Ellie has behaved in an amazing way over that time and it is a result of the careful choosing and training that she has received. I tell people that she really isn’t a dog but is my ears. I can take her everywhere, and do so, and depend on her proper behavior and alerting. We have been in theaters, air planes, trains, buses, airports, restaurants, classes, voting lines etc.
I am blessed to live near the FIDOS organization and truly believe that they deserve many awards for what they do for people with hearing and mobility disabilities and for the therapy dog work they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

As the Pet Therapy Coordinator at Kennedy krieger Institute, it has been a pleasure working with Fidos For Freedom. Their monthly visits bring joy and comfort to children who are healing from traumatic brain injuries, spinal cord injuries, surgical procedures, and other disorders that affect chidren. The teams help the children feel safe, happy, entertained, and unconditionally loved! This is one of the programs our patients and their families have identified as one of their favorites at Kennedy Krieger Institute.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 11, 2012

Eight years and two months ago I was matched to Ryan, my hearing assistance dog - a beautiful, loving, sweet natured two year old yellow labrador. What a wonderful gift! I thought I knew what I was getting into - in fact I had no idea, I got SO much more! After nine months of training at Fidos I was ready to be matched. At the end of the announcement the words "now the real work starts" were added. It didn't take long to find out how true they were. I had been matched to a dog who had spent the first two years of his life in training to be a hearing assistance dog. We fell in love with each other quickly but Ryan held back - maybe I was another trainer, or a vacation home provider, how long would he be with me - I could practically read his mind as he looked at me from the other side of the couch or his bed. It took a year to finally convince him that he was home for good! In the meantime he was an amazing worker - alerting me to everything he had been trained to help me with - timers, alarm clocks, phone ringing, etc. but also to sounds he decided I should know about - electric kettle going off, toaster popping up, even when something boiled in a pan. It was amazing. After years of burning food, cookies, forgetting to turn the sprinkler off now all I had to do was set a timer and wait for Ryan to tell me when it went off - I could relax on my deck! I could sleep at night knowing Ryan would wake me when the alarm went off - especially important if we had to travel the next morning! In my efforts to make Ryan feel welcome in my home I was not a very good leader so he decided to take charge for a while. I would open the front door and he would charge out. Somebody would come and he would have his nose in the door crack waiting for me to open the door to greet the guest. Where was Fidos in all this? This is where Fidos truly shines! Every step of the way they were there to help me - train ME to work with Ryan, to become a true partnership. Ryan already had the training - he was waiting for me to become his leader. Once we got that straightened out we settled into a wonderful relationship. So many times he has amazed me in what he does for me. One experience we had (which has had many repeats in different settings) happened late one night in an underground parking garage. We had worked late in an office and were the last ones heading out. As we walked to the car Ryan suddenly stopped, jerking the leash. I couldn't imagine why but I remembered the words from training "listen to your dog" so I turned around - Ryan was picking up my keys which I had inadvertently dropped. It's hard to describe how I felt at that moment - I think my love and gratitude to Ryan probably quadrupled in that instant. Over and over again people tell me (at the grocery store, when we walk through airports, just about anywhere we go in public) that Ryan is always watching me, that he holds his head high and proud (obviously loves what he does). Apparently so do I! Ryan is now ten years old, he is slowing down but he still works and most of the time wants to go out in public. He is an excellent traveler - we have traveled to Peru 14 times together, twice to Alaska, to Canada, to England and Europe - he never ceases to amaze fellow travelers with his impeccable manners and sweet nature. For the first three years I had Ryan we lived fairly close to Fidos and would attend training sessions and demos whenever we could. After that we moved away but every year we have returned to Fidos to take the recertification exam. Ryan makes me proud as he shows off all his training as he completes each test. Fidos has very strict requirements about who they place their dogs with, when they feel a client is ready to be matched to a dog, which dog is right for the client, etc. As clients we are impatient to be matched quickly; looking back I realize how important that pre-match training time was. After you are matched you get months of personal one on one training with your dog learning how to go out in public together, how to take care of him/her, getting questions answered. When you finally get to take your dog home you are well prepared - you know the dog's language (commands). Actually sometimes you draw a blank as I did shortly after Ryan came home with me. Before Ryan was allowed to touch his food he needed to hear "paid for." One morning I could not remember the words. Poor Ryan was literally drooling into his food waiting for the command. I was at the point of calling his trainer when I finally remembered it!!!! Fidos has always been there for me. For a volunteer organization they do an amazing service to the community not only in training service and hearing assistance dogs but also with the extensive therapy dog program and educating the community. They definitely deserve to be at the top of the list of non-profit groups!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Judy helped me and my family work with the newest addition of our family which was a 7 month old coon-hound which we rescues from a high kill shelter. When we found out that our 3rd child was due, we needed to be sure that our new dog, Bay, would be able to adjust to the new lifestyle. Judy helped us get Bay ready for the new baby and now the baby is Bay's number 1 priority. Judy has provided us more guidance than we can ever repay her for.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers