Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.953495
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I learned about Fidos 2 1/2 years ago. Since I do not have a dog, I didn't know how I could help. But as a "dogless handler", I go on visits to Hospitals and Nursing Homes with other volunteers who have more than one dog. Seeing the smiling faces of patients, especially children, is so heart warming. Many times it is hard to get to the patients because the staff and visitors want to pet the dogs; they are important too. Therapy dogs are just one aspect of Fidos. Providing service dogs to help the dependent become independent is inspiring. And a number of these people are young, even 20's, and so happy with their service dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

"I can't" is turned to "I CAN!" with the help of Fidos for Freedom! People whose lives are forever changed with the help of dogs can enjoy an independence that may have been squelched by physical limitations and a lack of confidence in their own abilities. Having an assistance/hearing dog opens doors literally and figuratively. Fidos volunteers come together to train champion teams who face daily hurdles. I find Fidos volunteers to be caring folk from all walks of life, giving of their hearts and talents and time to give others a hand up! I trained several assistance and hearing dogs for Fidos and have a true love and respect for the working dogs, the clients who put their all into preparing for life with a service dog, and a special regard for the many volunteers who are party to making the quality of life better for persons with disabilities. Learn more...call Fidos for Freedom for help...or to volunteer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I have been a volunteeer with Fidos since 2001, when I was a freshman in high school. I started out as a junior volunteer in order to get my community service hours required for high school. I thought it would be a fun way to get my hours and be able to hang out around dogs- little did I know that it would suck me in and keep me around for more than 10 years. My junior year I became one of 2 juniors selected to raise a puppy for the assistance dog training program. After having him for a year I then raised another puppy, and then recruited my dad to take over the responsibility when I left for college. Over the past 8 years I have taken part of raising and/or training at least 6+ dogs between breaks from college and grad school. I also volunteered as an assistant to the Director of Client Services to ensure the clients' process through the training program went smoothly and efficiently. The most rewarding part of volunteering with Fidos is being able to see first hand the differences these dogs make on peoples' lives, and the knowledge that I to have been able to help people in ways I may never even understand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Fidos provided me with my amazing hearing dog Star and continue to work with us to make sure that we remain on top of our game. I can't imagine what my life would be like if they had not come into it. I am a much happier, much more independent person because of them and I have formed long term lasting friendships with my fellow clients, the volunteers, the trainers, and everyone else who is a member of this close knit community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I am a client with mobility impairments. When I applied for a service dog through Fidos for Freedom, I had no idea how much my life would change. Not only does my dog, Tank, assist me in areas of my every day life, he has given me gives me the confidence to go out into the world more often. With Tank, I know that if I need assistance, he is there to give it. We've only been together for 6 months and each day, I learn a little more about him and the ways he can help me continue to be independent. I will forever be thankful to the volunteers at Fidos for all they have done and continue to do for me and the other the clients of their various programs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I am the mother of a child who was blessed to be welcomed into this organization. I have watched the process with awe as he learned all the new things he could do with the partnership of a wonderful service animal. The icing on top were the wonderful, dedicated professionals who donate their time, passion and expertise to ensure that each client gets the best suited animal for their needs. And the on-going support is critical to continue to ensure that the animal helps the client with their needs. I would recommend this organization to anyone who has a need or is looking for somewhere to donate their money to a worthy charitable organization. This is it! Sincerely, Madeleine Beary

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I have volunteered with Fidos since 1998. There is nothing more rewarding for me than doing therapy dog work. The joy that a dog can bring to,someone is just priceless.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I wanted to say thanks to the trainers and friends at Fidos for freedom for giving me oppunity to have lily (hearing/services dog in my life and I feel more freedom and inpendence in my life... Thank you for all my Fidos friend to give me a wonderful hearing/ service dog.... Thanks fir this nonprofit to help other with disability but we are able and more inpendence in our life's with these services dogs... Thank you...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I never dreamed a specially trained assistance dog would do more than alert me to the sounds I could not hear and help me with balance related tasks. Quite frankly, the decision to partner with an assistance dog changed my life dramatically. I'm working again and no longer isolate myself at home as I have an independence and self-confidence to do all the things I felt I could no longer do. Fidos For Freedom, Inc., takes pride in being an ADI organization and I have felt like a valued member of the organization as now - a veteran client. Fidos For Freedom has served to better the lives of people in the Baltimore-Washington area for many years. I'm very excited to be a part of this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 12, 2012

I am a hearing impaired person who lives a fully, more independent and happier life because of the hearing dog, Ellie, that I was matched with at FIDOS for Freedom in 2006.
In late 2005, I applied for a hearing dog at FIDOS. I went through an interview that asked me what me needs were, hearing
a door knock, telephone ring, person coming up behind me, being told I had dropped something, someone calling my name and other sound alarms that I do not hear. I was accepted into the program and did my initial training, first without a dog, and then with various dogs. In March 2006, I was matched with Ellie, my Norwegian Buhund, hearing dog. I was also matched with a FIDOS trainer who would make Ellie work for me.
FIDOS has a well thought out program of making all this work. The volunteers give of their time and hearts to help the clients live a more independent, safer and happier life. Their good work has been demonstrated with Ellie’s behavior many times over the years and the organization is always willing to help me when I ask for it. Although, I have basically been rather inactive for the last four years or so I know that I can depend on them when I have needs.
Ellie has behaved in an amazing way over that time and it is a result of the careful choosing and training that she has received. I tell people that she really isn’t a dog but is my ears. I can take her everywhere, and do so, and depend on her proper behavior and alerting. We have been in theaters, air planes, trains, buses, airports, restaurants, classes, voting lines etc.
I am blessed to live near the FIDOS organization and truly believe that they deserve many awards for what they do for people with hearing and mobility disabilities and for the therapy dog work they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers