Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.962265
Write A Review
November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

My husband and I started volunteering for Fidos For Freedom about 6 years ago. We had, to begin with, 2 standard poodles with marvelous temperments that we thought would make great therapy dogs. I also had a dream for my male standard to be able to breed and donate puppies back to Fidos to be trained as service dogs. So far, one of the puppies is almost ready to be matched with a client, 2 are at the Federal prison, and the 2 puppies are with puppy raisers. We remain so thankful to Fidos For Freedom's trainers, puppy raisers, therapy dog program, and all the wonderful dedicated volunteers, who make lives of those they touch so much better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I have been a volunteer with Fidos for almost 3 years and am working with my second therapy dog. The are a wonderful caring group that provides service dogs for little money and our visits to hospitals and care facilities are wonderful. A great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Fidos for Freedom uses our church to help train the dogs by bringing them to our worship services to get them accustomed to large crowds. As a pastor in the church, I think the dogs are more observant during the sermon than the people are! These dogs are lovingly trained, and their trainers demonstrate love for people in need by training them. This is an excellent group of people!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Terrific group providing service dogs to those in need at no cost. It's easy to see how many hearts this group has touched by simply visiting them once. Their vast team of volunteers is well organized, talented and committed. They are truly a special group.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My cousin, Sharon Tucker was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis. Our family witnessed the strength and grace that Sharon demonstrated, even while she slowly lost her independence. She was pro-active and sought out Fidos for Freedom, Inc. I accompanied Sharon on some of her training classes where she learned how to work with these wonderfully trained dogs. I saw how she not only re-gained some independence, I saw her engaging with the trainers, other members and the dogs. She learned how to work with her dog, Tommy to do so many physical and social activities. More than anything else, I saw my cousin laughing, smiling, telling jokes, supporting others and developing a supportive circle of friends. Sharon is able to participate in all kinds of family and social activities because of Fidos for Freedom. Instead of despair, solitude and withdrawal from life, I saw the exact opposite. Sharon, my "big sister," mentor and best friend continues to enjoy her life because of the amazing work with Fidos for Freedom. I am so proud of her and so grateful to Fidos for Freedom for assisting her and our family through this most difficult journey; to freedom and independence with dignity. Linda D. Holland, LCSW

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have been involved with the organization since 2001 after the rest of my family got involved in various capacities from being a Jr Volunteer to the Jr Coordinator and Board Member. I can say from the office staff, to all the trainers, and all the volunteers are some of the best, and most devoted I've seen. It is amazing to see the effect a trained service dog has on the life of somebody who needs one. I'm proud to be a volunteer for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 13, 2012

I have been a client at Fidos since the 90's (that is a long time). I have received two hearing dogs from this organization that has become my family. If it was not for this great non-profit I would not be living independent and would be afraid to do things on my own. I have been proud to represent them both locally and nationally.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have been working with this prganization since it's inception. My office provides veterinary care for ALL of the working Dogs and Therapy Dogs. For 20 years every person involved in the organization has been dedicted to raising and training these dogs for people w various disabilities, from complete paralysis to hearing disorders to seizures and more. The amount of time and effort that these voluteers put in is AMAZING TO ME.As a Veterinary Professional, there has never been a time when an animal either in their ownership or in their training has not been brought in as soon as any problem has been suspected. We have been able to p[ractice the highest quality of medicine without any interference from anyone involved with the group.I will give my full support ot Fidos For Freedom for as long as I practive Veterinary Medicine and after that, hopefully I will be able to donate my time to help foster and train dogs. Dr. Bob A Cohn and Dr. Kristine Covert of The North Laurel Animal Hospital

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 13, 2012

I am an adjunct professor at Coppin State University. I asked Sharon Tucker and Tommy to come speak to my class about the importance of service animals and organizations like Fidos For Freedom, Inc. The student were engaged and curious about Tommy's skills. They also gained an important insight regarding facility accessibility. I look forward to inviting Sharon and Tommy to my class each semester.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 12, 2012

I currently serve as a puppy raiser for FIDOS. It's a tremendous community! I raise and socialize a puppy for 9-12 months and then release it back into the program for its formal training. I have volunteered in a variety of non-profits, but this experience by far has been one of the best.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Disability Education, Office Assistance, Public Relations, Fundraising, and much more! Volunteer