Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.962265
Write A Review
October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

In my three years as a volunteer at Fidos for Freedom, I have had a college-level education in the lives of people with disabilities, service dogs and therapy dogs, and as importantly, in the wonderful people who dedicate their precious time to support this community. That short volunteer time frame has been enough for me to watch a puppy evolve from a fuzzy ball into a fully-functioning service dog to a wheelchair bound client. I've also been moved as an experienced assist dog "transfers" and recovers from the passing of their original client, and begins to beautifully serve a new client. Needless to say, that sort of output from one's volunteer investment warms any heart.

To me, the most fascinating aspect of this organization is that, unlike many similar organizations, Fidos only charges a modest fee to its clients, as opposed to tens of thousands of dollars that some others charge We are able to do this as a result of a very engaged and generous community, and some equally generous breeders.

Being a healthcare professional, I am also impressed with the response of patients to our therapy dogs. As the literature around pets and health continues to expand, the value of this service, wherein we sent teams of therapy dogs to hospitals, nursing homes, college campuses and other situations, increases rapidly. These, too, are all volunteers, dedicated to improving the lives of those in need.

I am honored to be associated with Fidos for Freedom!
RTM
September 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

I am a client with mobility impairments. When I applied for a service dog through Fidos for Freedom, I had no idea how much my life would change. Not only does my dog, Tank, assist me in areas of my e... more

September 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been with Fidos for a little over 3 years. I came to the organization to receive a mobility, service dog. I didn't realize that I would be gaining so much more.

I very quickly felt that both the clients and trainers cared about me as a person as well as a client. There is a
definite family atmosphere at Fidos! I have developed some amazing friendships that will last a lifetime. In many organizations, it is difficult to find people who care as much as my friends at Fidos, but any time I've needed anything, summertime is there.

Because they care, the volunteers put an incredible amount of time and energy into their work there. Most have full time jobs and families, but still give us their all.

I've been matched with my dog, Tank, since February 2012. Since then, my life has changed immensely! I am able to live on my own and go out alone because Tank is there to help me. I'm back in college, taking a class, coaching a basketball team, volunteering at church, and other things I haven't been able to do in years.

I now volunteer wherever I can at Fidos so I can help others the same way I have been helped by others. I owe my independence and increased confidence to my Fidos For Freedom family!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 12, 2012

I am a client with mobility impairments. When I applied for a service dog through Fidos for Freedom, I had no idea how much my life would change. Not only does my dog, Tank, assist me in areas of my every day life, he has given me gives me the confidence to go out into the world more often. With Tank, I know that if I need assistance, he is there to give it. We've only been together for 6 months and each day, I learn a little more about him and the ways he can help me continue to be independent. I will forever be thankful to the volunteers at Fidos for all they have done and continue to do for me and the other the clients of their various programs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 2, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 7, 2012

I began as a Fidos volunteer in 2001. I started because my daughter wanted to be a part of Fidos Junior Volunteer program. The more I saw of Fidos, and the more I learned about its mission, the more... more

July 2, 2014

I have been a volunteer with Fidos For Freedom for more than 13 years. At first, I thought it was all about the dogs, but I have come to understand that it is really about the people.

The people in hospitals, nursing homes, and health care settings who are lonely or in pain or afraid -
Fidos Therapy Dogs visit them and bring the affection and companionship that only a dog can give.

People with disabilities or hearing loss who simply desire a freer, more independent life - Fidos Assistance Dogs bring them all this and more; research indicates that having an assistance dog increases social attraction from other human beings - thus reducing the social isolation that many people with disabilties are subjected to.

The people who freely give their time, their treasure, and their talent - to help small cute puppies become the indispensable life partners they will someday be. The careful breeders who donate one of their special pups to become such a dog out of an abundance of love for their breed and a desire to do good in this world. The people who rescue puppies and understand that it is a very special dog that is now unwanted but can become the most important dog in the world for a person with a disability or hearing loss.

The people who shepherd new clients through the process to become an assistance dog team or who share their lessons, good and bad, about how to be the best assistance dog partner you can be. And of course, the clients themselves. Fidos clients have taught me so much about the resilience of the human spirit, about the importance of never giving up in the face of disease or disability; and about the importance of community.

I am so privileged to be associated with this community, Fidos For Freedom.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them get a new roof for their facility - the current roof has major problems and major leaks

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 7, 2012

I began as a Fidos volunteer in 2001. I started because my daughter wanted to be a part of Fidos Junior Volunteer program. The more I saw of Fidos, and the more I learned about its mission, the more impressed and intrigued I was. That mission is to make a difference in peoples' lives in the Baltimore Washingtion area through hearing dogs, service dogs, and therapy dogs. I saw how dedicated volunteers made a positive impact in the lives of people with disabilities - not because they were paid to do so, but because they wanted to make a difference in this world. So I began to do more. I got involved with the Fidos Therapy Dog Program - Fidos volunteers take their personal pets to nursing homes, hospitals, and other healthcare facilities to bring residents and patients the affection and companionship that only a dog can give. My Pomeranian Mischief was a favorite of people who like little dogs! My next big leap was to join the Fidos Training Department and take a puppy or assistance dog in training into my home and heart. I have either puppy raised or trained at least 10 Fidos assistance dogs! And I became a member of the Board of Directors as another way to share my skills and talents with this organization and the amazing people who are a part of it. What we do still stirs my heart after 11 years - I feel so privileged to be a part of it!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have just started training with Fidos and already my life has changed for the better in ways I couldn't have imagined. The volunteers are beyond helpful and understanding and truly take a special interest in each of their clients as well as the dogs that serve them. I can't say enough about the dogs themselves either! They all have such sweet personalities and you can tell that the trainers recognize and bring out the best in each dog. I am really excited to have Fidos as a part of my life. It feels like a second family!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

When I started losing my hearing, I found Fidos for a Freedom. They gave me a hearing dog. They care a great deal about the clients and dogs. My life was changed for the better when they gave me Alice. the organization is run by an awesome group of people. They have an incredible therapy dog program and participate in the DEAR program. Grest organisation and I highly recommend them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them money to expand and continue the good work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 11, 2012

Fidos is a wonderful volunteer organization.I have been a volunteer for over 11years and have participated in most of their programs in some roll. The people I have met are genuinely dedicated to thei... more

June 28, 2014

Wonderful volunteers, great dogs. constant in the community for >25 yrs . Clients treated as part of family and offered support before, during and after placement of assistance dog. Therapy Dogs visit community and love everyone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help with more financial contributions to fix their leaky roof.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 11, 2012

Fidos is a wonderful volunteer organization.I have been a volunteer for over 11years and have participated in most of their programs in some roll. The people I have met are genuinely dedicated to their mission and spend countless hours working with dogs, clients and the general public, all to improve someone's life with these special dogs. My favorite comments from audience members after watching a demonstrationn were "the dogs never barked and all got along with each other, and did exactly what you wanted !! Do you drug them??? " Of course NOT, these dogs prove that love and consistant good training make dogs a valued member of the society whether working for a disabled client or cheering a lonely widow in a nursing center.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 10, 2012

I have been involved with Fidos For Freedom for over 6 years. I started out as a puppy raiser and have moved onto becoming a board member and treasurer of the organization. I have personally seen how... more

May 30, 2014

Fidos For Freedom is a non profit group that raises/trains service dogs for hearing and mobility impaired folks that we like to think of as extended family. With the time, blood, sweat and tears that we all put into the great results that we get for hearing and service teams, we do become like family......albeit good or not! The work starts when we get puppies or dogs up to 1 yr old donated to us by breeders, rescues and the public. These pups are tested to see if they have the demeanor/personality and stamina that we require for a working dog. They live with puppy raisers, in our prison program and with trainers until they are matched with the clients. It is neat to see that the dogs usually do the matching and when the humans figure it out, it becomes official. I have been part of the group for nearly 8 years now and have witnessed many miracles from our client teams when they move through the crowd someplace and just shine as a team and talk to people as to what having a service dog has done to change their lives.....it changes all of our lives for the better. We also have a therapy dog program that works with schools, libraries, nursing and rehab centers, hospice and cancer treatment facilities. We also do outreach for end of year studying for exams at local colleges and universities on an as needed basis...we always get asked back......the dogs are the heart of our group...the humans just hold the leashes and provide some directions. That is pretty much the way I see Fidos For Freedom.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more money to expand our programs. We would like to be able to further our abilities to handle more PTSD and other kinds of issues. A tight economy has caused us to be very thoughtful about how to spend the wonderful donations that we do receive. We could not do this without our donors, volunteers and dogs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 10, 2012

I have been involved with Fidos For Freedom for over 6 years. I started out as a puppy raiser and have moved onto becoming a board member and treasurer of the organization. I have personally seen how our service dogs have positively changed and influenced the lifes of our clients and their families. The most profound changes I have seen have been to our Inmate trainers in our prison program. I have been a prison dog trainer for 6 years. The inmates involved with training our service dogs in training leave when their sentences are over and become confident citizens re-integrating with society once again. It is rewarding to see the dogs/clients working out in public together knowing that we have given them a basis for success in all areas of their lives. I have found this to be my passion. Unfortunately, it is nota paying job, but one that provides me with enormous satisfaction knowing that I am making a difference in the lives of others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

I never dreamed a specially trained assistance dog would do more than alert me to the sounds I could not hear and help me with balance related tasks. Quite frankly, the decision to partner with an ass... more

May 28, 2014

Fidos For Freedom gave me independence. Having invisible disabilities meant that people could not tell by looking at me that I was deaf and had a balance disorder. I had trouble coping at work and rarely left the house for anything other than "must have" errands. After being matched with a hearing/balance assist dog named Chloe, I am no independent again. I can run errands, work, and I went back to school and am completing my doctorate. More importantly I found a "family". The trainers love people AND dogs, and work hard to make sure each match is successful. The volunteers and clients are all "community minded" and work hard to make a difference in the lives of others. Fidos For Freedom has made a permanent impact on my life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 12, 2012

I never dreamed a specially trained assistance dog would do more than alert me to the sounds I could not hear and help me with balance related tasks. Quite frankly, the decision to partner with an assistance dog changed my life dramatically. I'm working again and no longer isolate myself at home as I have an independence and self-confidence to do all the things I felt I could no longer do. Fidos For Freedom, Inc., takes pride in being an ADI organization and I have felt like a valued member of the organization as now - a veteran client. Fidos For Freedom has served to better the lives of people in the Baltimore-Washington area for many years. I'm very excited to be a part of this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 27, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

I am the mother of a child who was blessed to be welcomed into this organization. I have watched the process with awe as he learned all the new things he could do with the partnership of a wonderful ... more

May 27, 2014

My son was matched with his service dog about a year and a half ago. His life has been immeasurably improved by this organization and their incredible work. Everyone that we have met at this organization has a laser focus on helping individuals with disabilities to improve their lives. They are selfless, dedicated volunteers who go way above and beyond in their work. And they do this with love and humor and you become a part of their family. I have never been a part of any organization that works so hard to improve the lives of others. If I could I would volunteer all my time helping them in any way possible.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 12, 2012

I am the mother of a child who was blessed to be welcomed into this organization. I have watched the process with awe as he learned all the new things he could do with the partnership of a wonderful service animal. The icing on top were the wonderful, dedicated professionals who donate their time, passion and expertise to ensure that each client gets the best suited animal for their needs. And the on-going support is critical to continue to ensure that the animal helps the client with their needs. I would recommend this organization to anyone who has a need or is looking for somewhere to donate their money to a worthy charitable organization. This is it! Sincerely, Madeleine Beary

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 27, 2014

more

May 27, 2014

Fidos for freedom always help others with service dogs... I am proud to be a client at Fidos...
Thank you Fidos for help others and etc... ;)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help others and make things better and help other people or clients to be match with a service animals

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers