Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.65
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
March 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I stayed at the shelter for 2 months with my two children and had a really positive shelter experience. I have stayed in two previously and they really didn't assist me in finding housing, they just gave me more shelter listings at the end of my stay. FESCO helped me and my children get out of the horrible shelter cycle that most families like myself go though and found us a place to live. I am so grateful to the staff, Evelyn, Korri, Clarence and the coordinator Larissa. I recommend this shelter to anyone who is tired of not getting results or proper help. These people really care and make a difference!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I had some free time and had a skill set that I really believed would be valuable to a non profit. I am doing well for myself, so I decided to give back and wanted to do it locally. I did some research on the internet and found this non profit. Small, local, great cause...
I decided to jump
right in and was very excited. After volunteering for about a month, I had mentioned to a colleague about the work I was doing and was very surprised when she was familiar with FESCO and let me know that she worked on their walk a thon's planning committee and was not impressed. She encouraged me to do my research before volunteering any more time or energy to FESCO.
After putting on my detective cap, I learned a few things that did not sit well with me.
I learned that the organization itself is about a $1.1 million organization and their new ED makes almost $100,000.00/ year! ( almost $15K more than the previous ED) Do your math..that's ridiculous. I also learned that almost half of the staff , that work directly with the people they serve, qualify for food stamps themselves because their pay is so minimal.
Understanding that a poer-house ED is worth almost $100,000.000/ a year, I wanted to find out what qualifies this salary.
I found that the ED came from another, similar non-profit, where she was supposedly passed up for several promotions. ( gotta love the internet and staff that will tell all) I do understand that this happens all the time to qualified individuals, so I kept digging. A friend of a friend is a Hayward Rotary member and I found out that FESCO's ED is also a member, so I started asking questions. Seems that the consensus is that she is " a lunatic" and very " narassic" .
My time is valuable and there are plenty of good , deserving non -profits that could all use a great volunteer. I , myself, cannot spend another minute or ounce of energy on a non profit that is led by this ED.
I feel sorry for the people that depend on this non-profit to help them get back on their feet, but between the waste of resources and the reputation of the ED, I will be moving on to the next non-profit.
Please, do your research before volunteering at a non-profit. Their salaries and backgrounds are all public information. Just ask!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I heard that FESCO use to be a good place, well it has not been since Carla Bell and Larrisa Elizondo have been really messing up families lives. I was promised so much by Carla all lies and Larrisa does not know how to do her job. She has no help for homeless families, but just hides never answers her phone or keeps appointment. My family and I were doing okay at Banyan House until I was moved and never had case manager never got any help and they put my things on the street and sent me and my children to the street. FESCO and all of the people that now work there are terrible people. Carla Bell is a thief that took gift cards donated for our children to get school clothes, and larrisa drinks so much she just h ides and is scared for her job, it is too badd that this happened under the watch of Cate Stean too insensitive to care anyway

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 15, 2012

more

February 15, 2012

I'm a single mother who had NOTHING and started giving up hope on everyone and everything that was going on in my LIFE and to make matters worse I became homeless. we had moved into FESCO SHELTER and I thought that maybe this was a place that wasn't going to help me out with the things that i needed help with but BOYYYYYYYYYYYYY was I WRONG!!! I went from having NOTHING to having SOMETHING (MORE THEN I WOULD EVER IMAGINE)...I'm about to get into permanent housing a place for MY KIDS & I to call home. (NO MORE HOUSE HOPING FOR US...) I can honestly say that I am truly blessed to have stayed at FESCO. FESCO is the reason why I able to SUCCEED in life. To all FESCO staff members (ESP. SARAH ) you ALLLLLLL are the BOMB.COM that's including the SHELTER PROGRAM COORDINATOR (LARISSA E.). being at FESCO makes me feel like...I WAS BLESSED WITH THE BEST SHELTER & I'M TO BLESSED TO BE STRESSED...I OFFICIALLY LOVE MY LIFE AND EVERYONE IN IT...I've closed the doors to all the dark days that I've had in life and now I am facing a stable and bright future...MORE POWER TO FESCO SHELTER...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 10, 2012

more

February 10, 2012

I am a single mother with three children and we are only one of the many familys who has experienced loosing our home and becoming homeless. Being in a shelter was something i never expected to have to go through. I was dissapointed and embarrased of my situation, but after meeting the other people here at FESCO, I learned that they were just the same as me. Just because I was homeless didn't make me any less of a person and it's okay to ask for help when you need it. FESCO has helped me accomplish goals that seemed so out of reach when I first got here, but with their encouragement and guidance my children and I have found housing and are ready to turn a new page in our lives. I can't explain in words how thankful I am to Larissa, Sarah, Evelyn, Naomi, Korri, Mr. Clarence, Dinyal, Theresa, and Carla. We will never forget this journey we took with all of you having our back, Thank you FESCO

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 27, 2012

more

January 27, 2012

I am a mother of three daughter and we were going through a rough time, after leaving my husband and our house because he created the situation. as we were begining to falter in hope FESCO came into our lives and gave us strength and hope and courage in many ways.For example,FESCO provided us with a shelter and food as well as providing our basic needs.The staff were very supportive and they encouraged us to not give up and stay strong.They helped us feel like we were in our own home.FESCO gave us warmth and comfort which allowed us to look forward to and gave us hope to have a better life.We appreciate specially to Respected Larissa and Respected Sarah and Respected Clarance.Thankyou FESCO and more power.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 26, 2012

more

January 26, 2012

I stayed at the FESCO Hayward house when I was 8 years old. That was almost 20 years ago, and I still remember the wonderful caring treatment my mother and I received. What they do is wonderful and I am so glad they are still serving needy families in the Bay Area.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

December 2, 2011

more

December 2, 2011

The Rotary Club of Castro Valley supports FESCO by collecting school supplies, sheets/blankets/ toiletries etc. and doing small projects when we can. The FESCO staff are always so compassionate and sincere. They work hard and are mission driven. We are proud to support their efforts.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 2, 2011

more

December 2, 2011

My family and I have been supporters of FESCO for several years. I recently became FESCO's representative from All Saints Church, as a member of All Saints Parish. I have toured FESCO's facilities on 3rd Street and Banyan house I can tell you FESCO does an excellent job of providing help to families both in an extremely organized and loving way. FESCO does more than provide a place to stay; they help people with counseling, resources for housing, and support so they can again become productive members of society, with the tools to succeed. My own mother was once homeless as a child, and it was with the help of a Shelter similar to FESCO that enabled her and her sisters to get back on their feet. I believe FESCO's work and mission is very valuable, taking at risk famiies and helping them again become self-sustaining!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 2, 2011

more

December 2, 2011

I have been privileged to serve on the Board of Directors for FESCO for the past eleven years. During this time, I have personally witnessed the agency's growth, unfailing support, and deep commitment to serving very low income and homeless families with children in our community. One of the biggest differences between FESCO and other shelters is that FESCO not only offers homeless families food, clothing, and temporary housing, it also offers mental health counseling, parenting classes, and links to community resources that lead families to a self-sustaining life. One of the greatest inspirations of my involvement with FESCO is knowing that homeless families with children are able to stay together during a time of difficult transition and move beyond the inequities of our social system. I am deeply grateful for FESCO's dedicated staff and outstanding leadership of our Executive Director, Cate Steane, who strive to fulfill FESCO's mission and vision to end family homelessness in our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers