Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.933335
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
February 12, 2014

more

February 12, 2014

Several years ago, I volunteered as a camp counselor for FertileGround, and truly, my time spent there changed the course of my professional and personal life. Bearing witness to the incredible love, passion, and dedication both Robert and Jawaya put into their organization, and more importantly, those they served, cemented my decision to attend medical school with a specialization in global health.

Beyond the clinical aspects of HIV/AIDS, my time spent with FertileGround taught me that the best, most successful therapies (for any condition!) were simply those of love, confidence, and acceptance.

Through fun team-building activities, lessons, and mealtime conversation, the campers were able to forget the troubles plaguing their world: stigma, poverty, and illness. These troubles were replaced with laughs, smiles, and encouragement. Within the few days the children spent at camp, a safe-haven was formed. This was a community without judgment and without worry.

This safe space, the friendships formed, and the education provided at these camps was truly invaluable to the camp participants, and incredible for me to witness.

As a camp counselor, it was my job to combat stigma and social inequality through the provision of love and confidence, and I can only hope that I impacted the lives of the campers in even half the way they have impacted mine.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Grant them more access to funding to allow them to continue the amazing work that they do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 3, 2013

more

December 3, 2013

3 years later, I continue to draw and reflect on my experiences volunteering for Fertile Ground in my own public health work. I volunteered with Jawaya and Robert at the Red Cross Hospital and as part of their camps for children. As a volunteer, I could see that all of their activities directly impact the children and caregivers involved, and witnessed firsthand the benefits of Fertile Ground's efforts. Their mission is strong and the children are at the core of everything Fertile Ground does. It is such a great organisation, that sustains hope and growth in a desperate situation. I would love to see their reach expand to its full potential in future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I had a life changing experience whilst volunteering as a facilitate for Fertile Ground. I was part of a team that's focus was merely giving back and through this it opened in such a positive way. I am really grateful to be a part of such a amazing organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I had an amazing experience volunteering for Fertilieground.. I went on a camp where we helped kids between the ages 5-16 years old, living with HIV. helping them understand the virus in a way that kids know best with playing games and doing obsticle courses and fun things.. it was great learning from the other directors and kids even. there have been many other outings like teaching them how to ride bicycles and to paint etc.. this is one organisation i will continue to support for the rest of my life and my kids one day would follow in my footsteps.. its such a great feeling giving back to my community and watching how the kids have grown up and teaching the ones younger than them what they have learned over the years. I always talk about fertileground and what a great job they are doing improving our country from small beginnings.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

i wouldnt make any changes but would like more support and sponsors from other organisations and companies..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

We met Robert and his volunteers at the Rheumatology Clinic at the Red Cross Hospital during one of our visits. My 12 year daughter was invited to join the Cape Argus Race in March this year. Sonja participated and my husband ride along to motivate and assist her. This was the first event after Johan's mitral valve replacement. Most of the children participating came from dis advanced communities and had the opportunity to forget their challenges for one day and just have fun. The founders made sure there were bicycles, helmets, shirts, water bottles and shade for the participants. They ride with the children to motivate and assist where there was no family to join. Sonja is so proud of her first ever bicycle race and the medal that she received.

Robert and his team is a great asset at Red Cross Hospital, as we often have to wait for long periods before we can see the doctors. Our Fertile Ground make it fun waiting by playing games and having conversations that interest the older children.

I've seen the organization actively involved in mobilizing the youth of our country and specifically the children with chronic, rare and dreaded diseases

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see more people involved in this organization as they need hands to do the work and give opportunities to these children. Some of them have no family and has to look after themselves from a young age. The numbers of potential clients are more than one can imagine.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I met the founders of Fertile Ground, Robert and Jawaya Shea in 2008, while leading a group of my University of Illinois students on a tour of the Cape Town area. I was very impressed with their vision for the organization, and commitment to strengthening and empowering children through both physical health and emotional well-being. I returned to lend child development expertise to the Fertile Ground philosophy of also strengthening parents and supporting strong parent-child relationships as an important enabling factor for good mental health and positive social choices. This organization has so positively impacted the lives of many, and Robert and Jawaya, as well as their staff, just continue to pour energy, time, professional knowledge, and creativity into Fertile Ground's development and outreach. Fertile Ground provides a wonderful, supportive, empowering, and life-changing foundation to the children and families it touches!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I started volunteering with Fertile Ground in 2012 at the residential camp after meeting the Directors through a government-coordinated youth development programme. It was an amazing experience being around such beautiful souls who were willing to share and learn. The parents could not stop smiling when they saw their children playing en enjoying life like there was no tomorrow. So after the camp I decided to spend more time at the clinics volunteering. I remember the comments of the parents after the camp, some were in tears because they never thought that disabled kids could play games with able-bodied children, and to be included without any discrimination. At home children are kept in their wheel-chairs. It changed the way everyone at the camp perceived children living with disabilities. I felt like crying this year when we were not able to host another camp in the Easter holidays because there was not enough funding to support another camp at that time. But when we told them that they could participate in the cape Argus Cycle Tour instead as Robert had managed to secure a donation of bicycles, and everyone wanted to know about the dates of the cycle tour.
I enjoy every moment of my time with fertile Ground and the work we do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is a great need for funding to support more camps and to provide a stipend for volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I met the founders of Fertile Ground on an HIV/AIDS awareness -raising march in Houtbay in 2005. At that time the organisation was being registered and the first camp was planned for December. I really liked the concept of helping children learn to take charge of their own health and immediately signed up as a volunteer.The first camp had 25 child participants, 20 youth counselors, 5 parents and some youth from California. It was fantastic! The camp was so much fun and the health messages were integrated into the fun activities. Doctors and nurse s also came out to the camp. When I saw how it changed children's feelings about themselves and their health status, I was committed. I was elected as a Camp Director as I had several years experience working in a youth development program. I have been involved in every one of the organization's activities and know very well how it changes lives.The effects are long-lasting and life-altering.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization needs more funds and proerty so that mpore camps can be held and more children and families can benefit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Children with chronic, life-limiting and life-threatening illnesses often need to be hospitalised for long periods. Being in a strange environment with unfamiliar people, away from their loved ones and their own environment is known to have a detrimental effect on children's emotional, social and even physical development. Play therapy is recognised as a therapeutic approach that helps children communicate in their own way and at their own level.The play therapy Robert and the volunteers and interns engage in with children is a fun way to help children develop. Indeed, they are more likely to be compliant because it is non-threatening yet therapeutic. Additionally, families can engage in these activities at home so it gives the family and child control over the child's development.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more more volunteers and interns so that more children can benefit from Fertile Ground projects.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My experience with Our Fertile Ground is limited to the bike world, but I can say unequivocally that I support their efforts and I trust in their mission. We donated bikes so that the Fertile Ground kids could participate in a Cape Town bike ride fundraiser. What a great idea by Robert - have the kids raise funding toward their own program by engaging in such a healthy and uplifting activity as an organized group bike ride. The kids were exposed to the best of the cycling world - its spirit, its community, its generosity, its camaraderie - and they felt the personal pride not just of completing the ride, but of making a real and positive contribution back to Fertile Ground. I'm very much looking forward to working with this organization more in the future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer with Fertile Ground,Volunteers, Fund Rasiers, Grant Writing, Networking. Volunteer at our Clinics, Day Camps, Residential Camps. UPS assemble boxes too South Africa of clothing, school supplies, sleeping bags, tents, games, puzzles ,toys, first aid kits. Towels, tooth brushes, B&B or Resort complimentary toiletries.Volunteer with Fertile Ground, If you wish to be trained as a camp counselor you must be at least 16 years old and be enrolled in high school or a post secondary school institution. Counselors must commit to undergoing training, spending the entire week at the residential camp and participate in day outings once a month. Most importantly, you must enjoy working with children and be open to being exposed to the hardships surrounding poverty, illness and stigma. You must be able to focus on the spirit of the camp and engage children, youth, families and communities in ways that help to empower their lives.Please contact us if you are interested.www.ourfertileground.org Volunteer