Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.791675
Write A Review
October 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

When I first got the phone call I was so worried! My friend told me that his GF and he had an STD and I wanted to know as quickly as possible that I didn't, since I'd long moved on to a new partner, and it had been over a year since we'd had "relations." I came to the Feminist Center's gynecology clinic since I didn't have health insurance and had heard they might have some sliding fees. I asked what I needed to do to get STD checks. I was seen the same day as I made an appointment. Not having to wait days or weeks to be seen made such a difference for my worry.

Since it had been awhile since I'd been tested I wanted the full testing available and hoped it wouldn't cost too much. I also didn't know very much about trych, the STD my friends had. Since the details included my choice not to be monogamous and we live in the bible belt (my friend, his GF, myself, my partner...) I wanted to be somewhere that I wouldn't feel judged.

The nurse and doctor I saw were tremendously helpful, explaining which tests I didn't so much need (no symptoms) and which ones I should really have- annual w/pap, trych test, HIV test, etc. They helped me to feel more educated about protecting myself (i'm already really careful!) and were totally non-judgmental- I'd even say compassionate.

I really appreciated the quality of care and the environment at Feminist Center. The waiting room and the exam rooms were kinda pretty and really clean, the staff seemed dedicated, caring and knowledgeable, and I was only there for about an hour. Before I even left, I was able to get results for the trych test, since it's done using a microscope. I guess it was within a week or so that I called back to get the rest of the results- a clean bill of health and the clinic got a promise from me that I'd return for future services... and tell my friends about the services offered. (interesting fact: they even have a donor insemination program- amazing!!!)

I hope this place does great in the future, and that our community continues to support clinics that serve such diverse clientele and those (like myself at this time) who don't have the support of insurance or lots of money. Thanks to Feminist Center's lovely staff!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...try to convince people not to protest. It was hard to see protestors while knowing I was at a gynecology clinic. It just doesn't make sense to try to keep people from healthcare. What's that about??

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have volunteered with them as an advocate for several years now. They are a great place, provide many services to women, and also coordinate testimony at the legislature when bills come up that would affect women's health. They do an outstanding job with everything, and ever staff person I meet is very warm, friendly, and considerate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe get them a bigger building.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I love FWHC and volunteering there first and foremost because I support all the work they do for people and am happy to be apart of something as wonderful as what they do, but also because FWHC is some what of a safe and comfortable place for me. It feels like I'm bombarded by so much each day that leaves a feminist feeling absolutely drained and FWHC is where I go to recharge my spirit and energy, connect with really amazing women (I have yet to meet any male feminist allies at FWHC, but I know they are there!) and be in a comfortable, safe, and fun environment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hmm...I can't think of anything I'd like to change about the FWHC. It's a pretty amazing place...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I work for Georgians for a Healthy Future, a nonprofit, nonpartisan health policy and advocacy organization focused on consumer health care issues. Over the past several years, GHF has partnered with FWHC on many initiatives related to consumer health, particularly around women's health. I am consistently impressed by the level of expertise, professionalism and dedication to the cause that all members of FWHC exhibit on a consistent basis. They are a wonderful partner who I wholeheartedly would recommend.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them greater resources to help more women.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Volunteering and interning with FWHC not only showed me how important Reproductive Justice and social justice advocacy is, but also the amazing network that exists in Georgia to combat structural inequality. I was so impressed with the way FWHC worked to make volunteers feel like they had an investment in not only FWHC but in the people of Atlanta and Georgia. I was also able to witness the care and compassion they showed for patients and people coming to FWHC for medical services. I wish there were more nonprofs like FWHC around, because their work is truly exceptional.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Someone just asked me to write a review and I can't believe that I hadn't already done it! I donate to organizations that create equality for women. I love this organization because it is all about women's equality. They believe and support women who make difficult life decisions, and they do it without judgment. I think that they help create a community in which we will, someday, be safe.

They do so much with a little money, so I always know that my donation will make an impact. I think that one reason they can do so much is that they have about 300 volunteers working for them!

Feminist Women's Health Center builds young women's leadership so that they can fight for their own rights. They do grassroots community health education in Spanish speaking communities so that women and families can make informed reproductive healthcare decisions. They provide sexual and reproductive health care services in their clinic. And, on a personal note, they have taught this old woman (wise crone) about being more inclusive around gender issues. I like that they are so brave.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their budget!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I was blown away by the kindness and respect offered me by every member of the FWHC I encountered. I was very nervous and concerned about a health issue that could have been quite serious. While I ended up with a clean bill of health, I so appreciated how clearly, specifically, and gently they explained each step of the diagnostic and possible treatment processes. I was made to feel at ease despite the stressful situation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them accept insurance from additional companies.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

As a Board Member, I am so proud of the wonderful work done by FWHC. We offer so many services to such a diverse group of folks and without judgment. FWHC provides much needed services to under-served communities (Transgender persons, latina women, lesbians/single women looking to be inseminated) and advocates for greater access to abortion and birth control for all women. This mix of services and advocacy are vital and much needed in Atlanta and the surrounding area. Thank you, FWHC!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This is an amazing organization with the most dedicated and passionate staff I have seen of all the non-profits and organizations I have worked with. I volunteered both with their outreach program and as a Clinical Intern and both experiences allowed me to get a behind the scenes look at the effort put in by the staff here to support women's interests and rights and ensure that reproductive health services are provided to all. They truly care about the women they serve and, given the fact that they deal with a lot of unreasonable criticism, deserve a lot of credit for continuing to provide the care they provide.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Recruit more volunteers and expand their internship programs!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have always looked up to the FWHC not just for their role in providing reproductive health care to women in need, but for their activism in the local and national community. Part of my interest in reproductive health came from a long painful struggle with Phase IV Endometriosis. My ordeal began with 12 years in pain undiagnosed, 5 surgeries, hormone blocking medication and a complete hysterectomy at the age of 30. Before I made the major choice to have all my reproductive organs removed, I attended a meeting at the FWHC, talked with one of their Doctors who gave me great advise on what my options were. I felt no judgement and took his advise.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers