Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
175 Reviews
1234.982865
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
March 1, 2011

I learned about Fellow Mortals two years ago when someone brought an injured killdeer to the public library where I worked. Since then, I have delivered several other animals in need of care to them.... more

October 30, 2014

The staff members at Fellow Mortals are the most dedicated, hard-working, and compassionate people I know. With them, the animals always come first. All patients are given the attention and respect they deserve, whether big or small, furred or feathered. I first went to Fellow Mortals when I found a dead opossum mother with what I thought were two surviving babies. (There were actually seven more babies still tucked in the mother's pouch.) Now I am a volunteer, and I can't imagine a better use of my time. My life is richer in so many ways because of my association with Fellow Mortals. This organization deserves everyone's support, whether it be gifts of time, talent, money, or all three.
March 1, 2011

I learned about Fellow Mortals two years ago when someone brought an injured killdeer to the public library where I worked. Since then, I have delivered several other animals in need of care to them. It is wonderful having this organization in our area where I know every animal can get the individual care and attention it needs to be returned to health. The seven baby opossoms, two rose-breasted grosbeaks, and Swainson's thrush I brought to them would all agree.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the lives of animals saved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them find a way to enlist more volunteers for their cause so that even more lives could be saved.

October 19, 2014

more

October 19, 2014

I first came to fellow mortals with my grand daughters and a little baby sparrow. learned more about them at an open house and became a part time volunteer after that. Thanks to the interaction I've had with them it has been my pleasure to be with them at a beaver release and an eagle release. Through them I have also been introduced to the world of animal rehabilitation. As a result of the people and animals I met I had a fascinating trip through Canada with a fellow volunteer and met Audrey Tournay (now my favorite author) and a myriad of other people and animals. The work they do is priceless. I wish I could do more.
.
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

Why is Fellow Mortals such a trusted and highly regarded organisation in among its many stakeholders? Whether it is the donors who trust FM to spend their money wisely or the members of public who bring injured or orphaned wildlife to them for care and rehabilitation, or the Wisconsin and Illinois community who see them as setting the standard for animal care or the government agencies who look to them for advice and experience…………..I could go on!!

The answer is that the management, staff and volunteers of FM are dedicated to providing the highest quality care to any animal that needs rescued and will work tirelessly to achieve a positive outcome.
October 8, 2014

more

October 8, 2014

Fellow Mortals is an incredible place. Everyone that works there is so passionate and truly love what they do. I am so fortunate to be apart of all the wonderful things that happen there. I have never worked with more extraordinary, hardworking, and dedicated people. The staff strives to make every animal life count, even if there is a slim chance of recovery they do not give up! Know that when you bring an animal to us they are given the best of care and when you support Fellow Mortals though donations you are helping to give a wild one a second chance. Fellow Mortals is truly a great nonprofit!
September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

I have been so fortunate as to volunteer my time at Fellow Mortals. I am humbled to be a small part of such an amazing organization of selfless individuals. Every life that enters the doors of this facility are as equally important as the rest. I have seen first hand the heart and soul that has gone into caring for the injured and abandoned wildlife who have required this care due to 'human' neglect or naivety. Thank you so much for all you do and a huge thank you for allowing me to be a small part of it all!!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 12, 2011

I have had the privilege of volunteering at Fellow Mortals in the past for about 8 years. It was a life changing experience. The staffs commentment to the animals they care for are amazing. Working ... more

October 2, 2013

They're amazing. The compassion, devotion and knowledge of the wildlife in their care is like no other. I am grateful that I've been able to volunteer when my schedule allows. Every little creature is treated equally from the tinniest mouse to the grand Bald Eagle. Thanks guys!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 12, 2011

I have had the privilege of volunteering at Fellow Mortals in the past for about 8 years. It was a life changing experience. The staffs commentment to the animals they care for are amazing. Working long days everyday of the year they do not stop until every animal has what it needs and more. They are my inspiration.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

while volunteering as well as bringing in injured animals in need of care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing. Except maybe to clone the staff!

August 11, 2013

more

August 11, 2013

A love for all creatures, from the smallest baby mouse to an elderly beaver, is what I witness each day that I volunteer at Fellow Mortals. The compassionate and knowledgeable Wildlife Rehabilitators and interns, work long hours to help insure that each animal that is brought to them has a chance to heal and then be released. The hundreds of animals that are helped each year by this organization are impressive; especially when you consider the time and cost that is required.

Fellow Mortals works hard to educate the public on many wildlife issues. What a person can and should do when they come into contact with an injured wild animal, from the initial phone contact to literature that is given to each person that brings an animal to the shelter, is enlightening. Fellow Mortals is also using Facebook as a tool that is fun and informative.

Fellow Mortals is a wonderful organization doing an amazing job.


More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2013

more

August 6, 2013

Fellow Mortals was the first wildlife rehabilitation center I ever worked with. Outside of zoos I didn't realize there were professionals who dedicated their lives to keeping wild or exotic animals healthy. Fellow Mortals opened up my eyes to the many ways everyday people can help wildlife to thrive.

I was an intern at Fellow Mortals right out of undergrad. The volunteer intern experience was hands-on, with lots of animal handling and husbandry duties, caring for baby rabbits, birds, geese, ducks and whatever else came through the doors. The other interns were all dedicated and hard-working, and Yvonne, the founder and director of FM, gives clear directions, makes sure you're comfortable with your duties, and puts in just as many (if not more) hours and effort as her team.

Working at FM has cultivated a lifelong interest in wildlife for me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger! Though I believe that is every non-profit's wish - to be able to expand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2003

August 5, 2013

more

August 5, 2013

Fellow Mortals cares for sick, orphaned, and injured wildlife that is typically in need of care by a human as a result of human actions, and although no one wishes for such instances to happen, when they do, as they inevitably will, there is no place like Fellow Mortals. You can put your utmost trust in that the animal they take in to treat will be given the highest level of care, respect, attention, and dedication to the animal's full recovery. They will give every living creature a chance to make a return to the wild. This is not a day job for the staff, this is their livelihood and passion. I worked for almost a year with the wonderful staff of Fellow Mortals, and not only did I learn how to care for the animals at the facility, the staff were inspiring, they make sure every person that works with them, or drops off an animal, understands the need to care for every living creature that we share our backyards with. Cheers, FM, and keep up the amazing work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

figure out a way for them to make more money, to build more facilities, hire more staff, and help more wildlife.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

July 9, 2013

more

July 9, 2013

I can't remember the date of the first time I took an animal to Fellow Mortals, but I will never forget being so grateful to find out that such a place existed. It is a place where all life is treated equally important, regardless of species. It truly is a beautiful place in a world where life is so carelessly disregarded and blind eyes are turned to suffering. It is a place full of hope, caring and compassion. I have learned so much from Yvonne, founder and licensed wildife rehablitator, who in a busy day, during a busy season, when injured and orphaned animals don't seem to stop coming all day long, will stop to answer a question I have because she knows I care too and am eager to learn as much as I can from her in what little time I have to give. I have seen Jess, a licensed wildlife rehabilitator, trying to piece back together a broken bunny hit by a car, with so much gentleness that to this day when I think about it, it brings tears to my eyes. And just for perspective,, I had been there 11 hours already that day and Jess had been there hours before me and would be there hours after I left. Yet her kindness and compassion and patience never wavered. I have seen Karen, a licensed wildlife rehablitator, give her very breath to bring warmth to a cold baby bird, literally breathing life into him. I have been privileged to see that same baby bird grow and fly free. I have seen all of them at Fellow Mortals ( interns included ) on their "day off" stop in as they were running errands for Fellow Mortals while out taking care of their own. I have seen animals come in so injured that I thought their lives were surely over. I have seen Yvonne, Jess and Karen give them everything they have; time, knowledge, care and compassion to try to give them a second chance. And I have been blessed to be there to see many of them set free, returned to the wild where they belong, made whole again because of the fact that Fellow Mortals exists and because of these people who dedicate their lives to them. I know that every animal that comes in to Fellow Mortals does not make it. But I also know that those who don't are not suffering long, slow painful deaths. They were brought in by someone who saw their suffering and cared. And they are being gently released from their pain by kind hands with as much dignity and respect as possible. I am so grateful to have found Fellow Mortals. They breath life, love and hope not just into the animals in their care but into the world at large. Please help if you can because everyone at Fellow Mortals donates much of their time and every penny counts and is truly needed and appreciated.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help prepare mailings, build squirrel boxes, pick up donated items, help with our fall fundraising event.