Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
166 Reviews
1234.981935
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 2, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 12, 2011

I have had the privilege of volunteering at Fellow Mortals in the past for about 8 years. It was a life changing experience. The staffs commentment to the animals they care for are amazing. Working ... more

October 2, 2013

They're amazing. The compassion, devotion and knowledge of the wildlife in their care is like no other. I am grateful that I've been able to volunteer when my schedule allows. Every little creature is treated equally from the tinniest mouse to the grand Bald Eagle. Thanks guys!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 12, 2011

I have had the privilege of volunteering at Fellow Mortals in the past for about 8 years. It was a life changing experience. The staffs commentment to the animals they care for are amazing. Working long days everyday of the year they do not stop until every animal has what it needs and more. They are my inspiration.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

while volunteering as well as bringing in injured animals in need of care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing. Except maybe to clone the staff!

August 11, 2013

more

August 11, 2013

A love for all creatures, from the smallest baby mouse to an elderly beaver, is what I witness each day that I volunteer at Fellow Mortals. The compassionate and knowledgeable Wildlife Rehabilitators and interns, work long hours to help insure that each animal that is brought to them has a chance to heal and then be released. The hundreds of animals that are helped each year by this organization are impressive; especially when you consider the time and cost that is required.

Fellow Mortals works hard to educate the public on many wildlife issues. What a person can and should do when they come into contact with an injured wild animal, from the initial phone contact to literature that is given to each person that brings an animal to the shelter, is enlightening. Fellow Mortals is also using Facebook as a tool that is fun and informative.

Fellow Mortals is a wonderful organization doing an amazing job.


More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2013

more

August 6, 2013

Fellow Mortals was the first wildlife rehabilitation center I ever worked with. Outside of zoos I didn't realize there were professionals who dedicated their lives to keeping wild or exotic animals healthy. Fellow Mortals opened up my eyes to the many ways everyday people can help wildlife to thrive.

I was an intern at Fellow Mortals right out of undergrad. The volunteer intern experience was hands-on, with lots of animal handling and husbandry duties, caring for baby rabbits, birds, geese, ducks and whatever else came through the doors. The other interns were all dedicated and hard-working, and Yvonne, the founder and director of FM, gives clear directions, makes sure you're comfortable with your duties, and puts in just as many (if not more) hours and effort as her team.

Working at FM has cultivated a lifelong interest in wildlife for me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger! Though I believe that is every non-profit's wish - to be able to expand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2003

August 5, 2013

more

August 5, 2013

Fellow Mortals cares for sick, orphaned, and injured wildlife that is typically in need of care by a human as a result of human actions, and although no one wishes for such instances to happen, when they do, as they inevitably will, there is no place like Fellow Mortals. You can put your utmost trust in that the animal they take in to treat will be given the highest level of care, respect, attention, and dedication to the animal's full recovery. They will give every living creature a chance to make a return to the wild. This is not a day job for the staff, this is their livelihood and passion. I worked for almost a year with the wonderful staff of Fellow Mortals, and not only did I learn how to care for the animals at the facility, the staff were inspiring, they make sure every person that works with them, or drops off an animal, understands the need to care for every living creature that we share our backyards with. Cheers, FM, and keep up the amazing work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

figure out a way for them to make more money, to build more facilities, hire more staff, and help more wildlife.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

July 9, 2013

more

July 9, 2013

I can't remember the date of the first time I took an animal to Fellow Mortals, but I will never forget being so grateful to find out that such a place existed. It is a place where all life is treated equally important, regardless of species. It truly is a beautiful place in a world where life is so carelessly disregarded and blind eyes are turned to suffering. It is a place full of hope, caring and compassion. I have learned so much from Yvonne, founder and licensed wildife rehablitator, who in a busy day, during a busy season, when injured and orphaned animals don't seem to stop coming all day long, will stop to answer a question I have because she knows I care too and am eager to learn as much as I can from her in what little time I have to give. I have seen Jess, a licensed wildlife rehabilitator, trying to piece back together a broken bunny hit by a car, with so much gentleness that to this day when I think about it, it brings tears to my eyes. And just for perspective,, I had been there 11 hours already that day and Jess had been there hours before me and would be there hours after I left. Yet her kindness and compassion and patience never wavered. I have seen Karen, a licensed wildlife rehablitator, give her very breath to bring warmth to a cold baby bird, literally breathing life into him. I have been privileged to see that same baby bird grow and fly free. I have seen all of them at Fellow Mortals ( interns included ) on their "day off" stop in as they were running errands for Fellow Mortals while out taking care of their own. I have seen animals come in so injured that I thought their lives were surely over. I have seen Yvonne, Jess and Karen give them everything they have; time, knowledge, care and compassion to try to give them a second chance. And I have been blessed to be there to see many of them set free, returned to the wild where they belong, made whole again because of the fact that Fellow Mortals exists and because of these people who dedicate their lives to them. I know that every animal that comes in to Fellow Mortals does not make it. But I also know that those who don't are not suffering long, slow painful deaths. They were brought in by someone who saw their suffering and cared. And they are being gently released from their pain by kind hands with as much dignity and respect as possible. I am so grateful to have found Fellow Mortals. They breath life, love and hope not just into the animals in their care but into the world at large. Please help if you can because everyone at Fellow Mortals donates much of their time and every penny counts and is truly needed and appreciated.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

Fellow Mortals is a non profit organization that takes care of wild birds and mammals. They operate only on contributions. This group is full of caring people whose first interest is the patient. This is not a "zoo" type that says, "Come see the animals". In fact, only in a very superized enviroment may the patients be seen. In addition to taking care of these animals their mission is to treat and rehabilitate them and release them to a safe wild environment. Fellow Mortals is also educating the public about the care of an injured animal with their educational programs. Please donate as they are deserving of funding in any amount.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

I can't begin to tell you how awesome my experience has been working with the staff/volunteers at Fellow Mortals. They have such love and dedication for animals. I became a volunteer here because I came across an injured blue jay that I thought for sure would die. I called them, left a message and they called me back and told me just what to do for this bird. They speak so calmly on the phone and are full of knowledge, compassion and determination to help the animals. This poor, injured blue jay ended up surviving a serious head trauma, thanks to the great volunteers and staff at Fellow Mortals. I felt the need to volunteer because I thought, that's the least I can do. I have learned so much about orphaned and injured animals, again, thanks to the staff at Fellow Mortals. They are just such awesome people with huge hearts for animals. If you come across any injured animals, call them and they will talk you through on what to do. Thank you Fellow Mortals for all your hard work and dedication!! You are much appreciated!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It taught me so much about orphaned and injured animals on what to do and not do.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I felt good about the experience because I learned so much from them.

April 23, 2012

more

April 23, 2012

"Fellow Mortals" is a great asset to our community. I know those that work there, I've volunteered there and have called them in times of need for an injured or distressed critter. I wish every community could have a group of people like we have to help with wildlife. I can't say enough about the people they are and the service they provide. They are the best! Becky Redell

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 1, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
March 1, 2011

The staff at Fellow Mortals is defined by true compassion, beyond measure. Every wild creature brought to them is treated with respect and utmost care. They truly understand what the animal has already been through and strive to calm and reassure them that they will be cared for. Truly Fellow Mortals is a place of heaven on earth.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

witnessing wild creatures who were hurt and injured return to health

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

February 28, 2011

more

February 28, 2011

Having known Fellow Mortals since before it was "Fellow Mortals," I can say that it has grown from its humble beginnings into the first-class wildlife hospital it is today without losing any of the single-minded devotion to the welfare of its patients that brought it into being. Fellow Mortals has always emphasized the quality of care given to every creature in their charge, and have never been willing to compromise their values for the sake of publicity or some other perceived advantage.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Assisted at the release of two Great Horned Owls, and witnessed the release of the bald eagle, "Liberty." I've also seen a very diverse group of people demonstrate their heart-felt support for this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help the community to understand that the hospital receives no government funding at all, and that it exists only through the efforts of private groups and individuals.

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help prepare mailings, build squirrel boxes, pick up donated items, help with our fall fundraising event.