Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
163 Reviews
1234.98165
| 1 2 3 4...16 |
Write A Review
May 1, 2012

more

May 1, 2012

It was Memorial Day weekend and we were doing yard work when we came upon a young robin who appeared to be having a problem with her wing...we searched on the internet for a animal hospital and came across Fellow Mortals...we called and we were told what to do and to bring her to them. As time went by we wondered how she did....we sent in our request as stated on the form and within a couple weeks we were notified that she did very well and would be released in the spring. Now I know birds come back to their familiar surroundings so I wonder if she's back home now. Thank you Fellow Mortals! Yvonne

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

Last spring we were all getting ready to go out when my 7 year old daughter came to me with a little baby bird. She had found the bird on our back patio. The baby was so tiny she thought it had been a leaf at first. It couldn't have been more than a couple days old. I didn't know what to do at first, but I called Fellow Mortals right away. They did not answer the phone but I left a message explaining what had happened. In the mean time I kept the baby safe in my hand. I could tell it had a little blood on its wing. Anyway, Fellow Mortals called us right back and told us to bring the baby bird in right away. We did that, after wrapping it in some tissue and placing it in a small box. We were so relieved that they were willing to help. A couple weeks later we got a letter back from Fellow Mortals telling us the baby had survived and that it was a Common House Sparrow. It was great news. We will always call Fellow Mortals in the future if we find another animal in need. Thanks. Also, after dropping the baby off my daughter picked out a little puppet from the gift shop and my older daughter bought a necklace made out of a bottle cap. She wears it every day. What a wonderful experience.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

My sister and I were getting ready for a yard sale when I noticed something on a cut branch on the tree. We walked a little closer and seen it was some sort of bird of prey with a injured wing. We got a box and a towel and as carefully as we could, captured it. Called animal control and they said they don't deal with wildlife and they suggested Fellow Mortals. I called Fellow Mortals and left a message, when they called me back they asked if I could also bring baby ducks that were recovered from a sewer drain. I said yes of course! Boy, was that a fun 45 minute drive! Hit a bump, ducks quack/chirp then the bird would poke its head out of the hole in the box. Arrived at Fellow Mortals and handed over all my new found feathered friends. I received a letter about a month later that the bird, a male American Kestrel Falcon, did not make it. The ducks however, were thriving with a foster mom. Without Fellow Mortals, the Kestrel Falcon didn't even stand a chance and the baby ducks would of been euthanized by animal control. Fellow Mortals is truly a savior to a great many fellow mortals that we share this earth with.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

I'm trying to remember which injured animal brought me to Fellow Mortals for the first time, but it was so many years ago, I can't remember. This is proof that Fellow Mortals has been and will always be a wonderful and necessary resource for injured wildlife. The round the clock care that is provided for the rehabilitation of the wildlife brought through Fellow Mortals' doors must be exhausting, but they continually take in more animals without hesitation and do what is needed to make these broken animals whole again. I am not surprised by the tremendous growth of this organization as Yvonne and Steve have dedicated so much of their lives to this cause. I am truly appreciative for everything they do, and the animals are certainly blessed to have them by their sides. Thank you Fellow Mortals!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

A few years ago I took an injured bird to Fellow Mortals - it was laying in our driveway trying to fly and couldn't. They immediately took the bird in and started treatment. They are truly a blessing; I have referred many friends to them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

I can't begin to tell you how awesome my experience has been working with the staff/volunteers at Fellow Mortals. They have such love and dedication for animals. I became a volunteer here because I came across an injured blue jay that I thought for sure would die. I called them, left a message and they called me back and told me just what to do for this bird. They speak so calmly on the phone and are full of knowledge, compassion and determination to help the animals. This poor, injured blue jay ended up surviving a serious head trauma, thanks to the great volunteers and staff at Fellow Mortals. I felt the need to volunteer because I thought, that's the least I can do. I have learned so much about orphaned and injured animals, again, thanks to the staff at Fellow Mortals. They are just such awesome people with huge hearts for animals. If you come across any injured animals, call them and they will talk you through on what to do. Thank you Fellow Mortals for all your hard work and dedication!! You are much appreciated!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It taught me so much about orphaned and injured animals on what to do and not do.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I felt good about the experience because I learned so much from them.

April 23, 2012

more

April 23, 2012

I found a Cooper Hawk who was slightly injured. I called Fellow Mortals and they immediately set up a time for me to bring him up. The staff there are wonderfully friendly and compassionate. They evaluated the birds injuries and immediately began taking care of him. When I requested an update on him, I received all of the information. Double A++++. The world should be like Fellow Mortals

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2012

more

April 23, 2012

Over the last three years, I've been to your place three times. The first time was delivering 3 baby squirrels from my bosses house as mama was killed by a bird. The second was a Canadian Goose that I would see quite often in a pond by a grocery store. When the time came for birds to leave for the winter, this one was left alone. From the help of a large dog kennel and me having a pick-up, we took the trip. This year to my surprise as I opened my front blinds, there was a visitor. This bird had never been here before, so I went through my bird book to find out what was the "norm" and the breed. As I scrambled to find the answer, he/she went next door without me seeing how he/she got there. Turned out it was a Grebe. Upon further and respectful observation, I didn't know if it had a broken wing or something else wrong that I couldn't see. There are predators during the day and night, I didn't want to take a chance that he/she wouldn't be able to defend itself. After putting it in a box, off we went to make the trip to Fellow Mortals once more. Through all three of these instances I had called ahead. All critters were kept warm and protected. I even sang to the squirrels and the Grebe, in order to hopefully keep them calm. Each instance I had no hestitation or long delay from the Angels at Fellow Mortals. This trip is about an hour away from me but each long drive was worth knowing that whatever I brought, would be better off than the circumstances that they came from. Being a huge animal advocate, both wild and domestic, doing these deliveries was just another day of rescue for me. If there's a critter in trouble, they seem to find me. I am truly honored and ready to jump right in to help!! If there were more caring and giving people like myself, a few of my friends and Fellow Mortals, the world would be a much better place for all animals and humans. When my mom or friends find a critter in need, they call me. Keep doing what you're doing and I'll do the same. We are unsung heros but where would nature be without us? Take care. Kenosha, Freebird (nickname obviously)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2012

more

April 23, 2012

"Fellow Mortals" is a great asset to our community. I know those that work there, I've volunteered there and have called them in times of need for an injured or distressed critter. I wish every community could have a group of people like we have to help with wildlife. I can't say enough about the people they are and the service they provide. They are the best! Becky Redell

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2012

more

April 22, 2012

Fellow Mortals is a GodSend they are always there to take care of our wildfife. Without Fellow Mortals there would be no where to bring injured sick animals. Thank You Fellow Mortals for caring so much.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help prepare mailings, build squirrel boxes, pick up donated items, help with our fall fundraising event.