Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
166 Reviews
1234.981935
Previous | 1 2 3...16 |
Write A Review
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

Ever since I first became aware of and involved with Fellow Mortals in 2003, I have seen firsthand what competence and sincere compassion can achieve hand in hand. An enterprise such as FM (and there are others, but far too few and too far between) makes the difference between encountering a wild animal in dire need and *wishing* there was something you could do... and being able to actually do something - with their help. I have had the privilege of partaking in the eventual release of wild birds I had brought to Fellow Mortals for care and treatment, and those were some heartbreakingly joyous moments in my llfe, let me tell you. If you believe that wild animals of all kinds truly are our fellow mortals, individuals as worthy of empathy as you and I, please support those who take that philosophy into living action and make our world a better place in so doing. My world is certainly a better place thanks to FM. Yvonne and Steve and their staff are real people. Real good people. Angels upon the earth, as far as I'm concerned. Let's help FM help us to help those alien familiars we marvel at every day, the ones without civilization and technology. Let's lend them ours in their hour of need, in exchange for what they do for our lives every day. It starts with compassion, but it takes skill and dedication to make a difference. Fellow Mortals has all three and bridges the gap.

Sean Carroll
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

You may never know or have heard of Fellow Mortals until you're in the urgent position of wanting to help an animal and have no idea how. We found Fellow Mortals nearly 8 years ago, after we saw ducklings lose their mother on a busy highway and had no one to turn to. These tiny peeping balls of fluff started a relationship that has continued strong for us ever since for a large variety of animals. Fellow Mortals is a wildlife resource, a leader in healing and care as well as education. They focus on helping the animals first and foremost. Many times it means taking the reins of the critical care required, and sometimes it means education and advice for humans on how best to care for the animal in its wild habitat. It is so evident that their hearts and souls are in their work. Injured and orphaned wildlife seem to find us, and while we can't care for them personally, we are forever grateful for the care and love they receive at Fellow Mortals. The hospital is humble, resources are always tight, and yet each animal gets what it needs for the best chance it can possibly have. I can't describe the feeling that comes with helping something that cannot help itself, and knowing that when the transfer over the counter is made in a little shoebox, or a clothes basket, or a cardboard box, or a blanket, or a pet carrier, the little creature inside that you're helping couldn't have a better chance at getting better. My husband and I will continue to support Fellow Mortals, in our faith in their care of the animals we find, and financially as a way to help in a world that too often loses sight of Nature's innocence and beauty. If you are looking for a charity to support, believe me when I say that you can donate confidently, knowing that your dollars are being spent in benefit of those who need truly need it.
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

Compassionate, Caring, and incredibly professional. I have known about Fellow Mortals for over 20 years, and they have been a godsend to animals I have found countless times!
October 2, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 12, 2011

I have had the privilege of volunteering at Fellow Mortals in the past for about 8 years. It was a life changing experience. The staffs commentment to the animals they care for are amazing. Working ... more

October 2, 2013

They're amazing. The compassion, devotion and knowledge of the wildlife in their care is like no other. I am grateful that I've been able to volunteer when my schedule allows. Every little creature is treated equally from the tinniest mouse to the grand Bald Eagle. Thanks guys!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 12, 2011

I have had the privilege of volunteering at Fellow Mortals in the past for about 8 years. It was a life changing experience. The staffs commentment to the animals they care for are amazing. Working long days everyday of the year they do not stop until every animal has what it needs and more. They are my inspiration.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

while volunteering as well as bringing in injured animals in need of care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing. Except maybe to clone the staff!

August 11, 2013

more

August 11, 2013

A love for all creatures, from the smallest baby mouse to an elderly beaver, is what I witness each day that I volunteer at Fellow Mortals. The compassionate and knowledgeable Wildlife Rehabilitators and interns, work long hours to help insure that each animal that is brought to them has a chance to heal and then be released. The hundreds of animals that are helped each year by this organization are impressive; especially when you consider the time and cost that is required.

Fellow Mortals works hard to educate the public on many wildlife issues. What a person can and should do when they come into contact with an injured wild animal, from the initial phone contact to literature that is given to each person that brings an animal to the shelter, is enlightening. Fellow Mortals is also using Facebook as a tool that is fun and informative.

Fellow Mortals is a wonderful organization doing an amazing job.


More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 11, 2010

Fellow Mortals is a very special place.. When a wild animal or bird is injured there is a somewhere they can go to receive the care they deserve as beings who do not have a voice for themselves. The ... more

August 6, 2013

I have been friends of Fellow Mortals over the past 15 years or so. I have been blessed with the privilege to watch them continue to serve the birds and animals who have a special place to go to heal. These injured and orphaned wildlife critters receive top notch professional medical attention increasing their chance to return to the wild. Giving the wilds ones admitted for care a second chance at life is the #1 priority of the staff and they do everything they can to give the beings the experience of their freedom once more.
Thank You Fellow Mortals for being there for the wild ones who would otherwise not have a place to go. Thank you also for providing such beautiful stories as your writing brings a voice to those who do not have one. Your gift of speaking for the wild ones is truly a treasure. Anyone who is reading this please look up some of the past newsletters where Yvonne and other staff have shared their hearts and touch ours through their words.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Donate more money so they can continue to expand the facility and build enclosures that are needed to bring even more state of the art care for the wildlife admitted here.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2010

Fellow Mortals is a very special place.. When a wild animal or bird is injured there is a somewhere they can go to receive the care they deserve as beings who do not have a voice for themselves. The staff at Fellow Mortals treat each wild creature admitted with such deep compassion and the deep respect they deserve. I am always moved in my heart to witness their dedication and devotion to the wild life we all share our lives with. There are so many touching stories that can be told about the many, many encounter's with the spirit of the wild animals and bird's who make their way to the facility for care and rehabilitation. Yvonne is a master weaver of words and her writing is truly a gift to the world. Yvonne has been consistently publishing newsletter's to update and inform the public of the accomplishments, and state of Fellow Mortals as well as generously sharing her experiences, feelings and perspective's through her stories. I am always encouraged to look deeper within myself as I read her words of wisdom and how she shares from her heart.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching the organization grow into their dream step by step.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Pay the staff more and buy the extra needed equipment and space needed for the animal's and birds.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

August 6, 2013

more

August 6, 2013

Fellow Mortals was the first wildlife rehabilitation center I ever worked with. Outside of zoos I didn't realize there were professionals who dedicated their lives to keeping wild or exotic animals healthy. Fellow Mortals opened up my eyes to the many ways everyday people can help wildlife to thrive.

I was an intern at Fellow Mortals right out of undergrad. The volunteer intern experience was hands-on, with lots of animal handling and husbandry duties, caring for baby rabbits, birds, geese, ducks and whatever else came through the doors. The other interns were all dedicated and hard-working, and Yvonne, the founder and director of FM, gives clear directions, makes sure you're comfortable with your duties, and puts in just as many (if not more) hours and effort as her team.

Working at FM has cultivated a lifelong interest in wildlife for me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger! Though I believe that is every non-profit's wish - to be able to expand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2003

August 5, 2013

more

August 5, 2013

Fellow Mortals cares for sick, orphaned, and injured wildlife that is typically in need of care by a human as a result of human actions, and although no one wishes for such instances to happen, when they do, as they inevitably will, there is no place like Fellow Mortals. You can put your utmost trust in that the animal they take in to treat will be given the highest level of care, respect, attention, and dedication to the animal's full recovery. They will give every living creature a chance to make a return to the wild. This is not a day job for the staff, this is their livelihood and passion. I worked for almost a year with the wonderful staff of Fellow Mortals, and not only did I learn how to care for the animals at the facility, the staff were inspiring, they make sure every person that works with them, or drops off an animal, understands the need to care for every living creature that we share our backyards with. Cheers, FM, and keep up the amazing work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

figure out a way for them to make more money, to build more facilities, hire more staff, and help more wildlife.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

July 9, 2013

more

July 9, 2013

I can't remember the date of the first time I took an animal to Fellow Mortals, but I will never forget being so grateful to find out that such a place existed. It is a place where all life is treated equally important, regardless of species. It truly is a beautiful place in a world where life is so carelessly disregarded and blind eyes are turned to suffering. It is a place full of hope, caring and compassion. I have learned so much from Yvonne, founder and licensed wildife rehablitator, who in a busy day, during a busy season, when injured and orphaned animals don't seem to stop coming all day long, will stop to answer a question I have because she knows I care too and am eager to learn as much as I can from her in what little time I have to give. I have seen Jess, a licensed wildlife rehabilitator, trying to piece back together a broken bunny hit by a car, with so much gentleness that to this day when I think about it, it brings tears to my eyes. And just for perspective,, I had been there 11 hours already that day and Jess had been there hours before me and would be there hours after I left. Yet her kindness and compassion and patience never wavered. I have seen Karen, a licensed wildlife rehablitator, give her very breath to bring warmth to a cold baby bird, literally breathing life into him. I have been privileged to see that same baby bird grow and fly free. I have seen all of them at Fellow Mortals ( interns included ) on their "day off" stop in as they were running errands for Fellow Mortals while out taking care of their own. I have seen animals come in so injured that I thought their lives were surely over. I have seen Yvonne, Jess and Karen give them everything they have; time, knowledge, care and compassion to try to give them a second chance. And I have been blessed to be there to see many of them set free, returned to the wild where they belong, made whole again because of the fact that Fellow Mortals exists and because of these people who dedicate their lives to them. I know that every animal that comes in to Fellow Mortals does not make it. But I also know that those who don't are not suffering long, slow painful deaths. They were brought in by someone who saw their suffering and cared. And they are being gently released from their pain by kind hands with as much dignity and respect as possible. I am so grateful to have found Fellow Mortals. They breath life, love and hope not just into the animals in their care but into the world at large. Please help if you can because everyone at Fellow Mortals donates much of their time and every penny counts and is truly needed and appreciated.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 5, 2013

more

July 5, 2013

From my first abandoned duckling over 20 years ago to an injured Canadian Goose just last year, I have brought many wild ones to Fellow Mortals skilled care over the years. Every animal receives top rate medical and species specific treatment. We and our wild animal neighbors are so lucky to have them in our community. Yvonne, Steve and their team of interns, volunteers and vets are the best.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...16 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help prepare mailings, build squirrel boxes, pick up donated items, help with our fall fundraising event.