Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
12.57895345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Several years ago, this organization used to be amazing... one of the best in its field. Now it is nothing more than the red-headed stepchild that Feeding America no longer seems to care about. They look the other way when FSF fails inspections, loses contracts and fires good people for no good reason.

It is truly sad, but the real people who are suffering is the community, especially in Miami-Dade County. FSF closed the one location that they owned (very smart) & turned their backs on that county entirely. Truly heartbreaking.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Sadly until the people at the top are gone, there is nothing that can be done.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I recently volunteered my time to this organization, and it was the worst afternoon of my life!

Everything is dirty, some people gets favors and products over needy agencies. Even staff are making money by keeping the good products to some agencies. I do not want to go near that place
again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make an open fire and start from scratch

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I guess everything is been said about this organization in the comments below. I can't believe that anybody is still donating one penny to them.

They are losing money, agencies, food donations, etc.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Management

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Terrible comments! Is there any other organization to donate time and money that will not be wasted?

I understand that Farm Share is doing an incredible job fighting hunger in Miami and Broward. This is definitely an option, since Feeding South Florida is a sinking ship.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

OMG!

this organization was a reputable company, but in the last 2 years is been snowballing towards a disastrous situation. No food, half the agencies they used to have, big debt, selling buildings, etc.
All I hear from other donors is how sorry they are for donating money in the past
to this people.
I do not think that my money is been used where is supposed to be used, I just do not trust this organization anymore.
I am sorry, but I do not recommend anybody to donate to this institution.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

All of it

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I worked for Feeding South Florida for two years. I was excited to accept a position with an organization designed to provide such a basic need that's desperately lacking for so many. Unfortunately, I experienced the ugly side of the organization way more often than not. The administration, including the executive director and the director of development, lacked any knowledge of positive leadership or management abilities. This didn't just apply to managing employees, but also the funds and donated foods entrusted to them by the community. Food would go to waste and grant reports were falsified. These two employees are now gone, but according to my friends at the organization and posts here, the current administration has not improved the situation.

I was so relieved to turn in my notice to this organization - to get out of a dishonest situation and move on to work for a reputable organization. I now volunteer with another food bank, and the difference in operations and fund management is night and day. Feeding America seems to let a lot of the issues slide, so my advice would be to donate your time/money to your local food pantry or soup kitchen. Do not support this organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I just went to the website of this organization and I saw that their loss for the year 2012-13 was -$957,985 and the year before was -$1,266,848, and the prior year ALSO A LOSS!!!

Then I looked into their Balance sheet and realized that the money they are using to survive comes from
selling their assets (buildings, cars, etc). That is the only reason that is keeping them afloat...

My advice: Run away as fast as you can from this organization!!!

You can verify this information in their own website

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fresh money immediately.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

It is very suspictious that all the positive comments were written the same day...

I am looking for non-profits to donate my time and some money (as much as I can afford), but after reading these comments, I think this non-profit needs a lot of work internally and externally.

I
relate to the issue of hunger in our community, but it is obvious that this company is NOT following its mission.

I wish you the best and I hope that you can ammend most of the problems you are facing right now.

Unfortunately, i will not be putting any time or money in your non-profit. I think it will be in the best interest of the community to go somewhere else at this time.

I will keep looking for other organizations that provide food and assistance to needy families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would take a serious look to the borad of directors that are allowing all this non-sense.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 11, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 11, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

What a shame! All these negatives comments. This organization used to be a great help for the community, and nowadays it takes 3 MONTHS to become a member, just to realize that they carry no food. The South Florida community is in need of a food bank that provides for the needy. It is time to recognize that FSF is not doing its job and let other organizations step in.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change management

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I come for 3 hours on Saturdays to sort food. Sometimes I bring a group of track friends with me who love the opportunity to help and see that they can easily get food to people. We inspect and sort the food so it can go out safely to people in need. The staff is friendly and truly caring! A great place to make a difference! And definitely go if you need volunteer hours for school!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more water available during sort

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers