Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
121 Reviews
1234.611575
| 1 ... 4 5 6...12 |
Write A Review
December 10, 2012

Feed the Children has been such a blessing to our ministry. On a number of occasions we have partnered with churches and given away the pre-boxed food and toiletry items. Feed The Children has always been wonderful to work with. This ministry enables us to carry out our mission in our hometown.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

Feed the Children has been an extremely valuable resource to The River Fund New York in fulfilling our Mission “to feed and empower those we serve to move beyond the lines of poverty.”

Operating for the past 21 years, our small volunteer-based organization has been fighting hunger in
dozens of New York City communities via our Client Choice Food Pantry and Mobile Programs. Going beyond Emergency Food Assistance and Hunger Relief, we help needy families with children and seniors through Nutritional Education, Income Support and a wide range of Benefits-Access Outreach services.

Of the more than 140,000 beneficiaries we serve annually, at least 40% are children—a key focus-demographic of our organization. As such the support we receive from Feed the Children is extremely valuable and completely “on point.”

In the aftermath of the recent superstorm “Sandy” that ravaged several areas of Queens and Brooklyn, The River Fund New York was, in many instances, the very FIRST food provider to get into the areas hardest hit by Sandy—setting up in minutes and serving substantial quantities of ready-to-eat foods to the residents. We were so well-equipped to handle this situation because for 18 of our 21 years of service, The River Fund New York has been operating the ONLY mobile pantry program in New York City, taking care of extremely needy families in New York’s most desperate communities—which gives us quite a depth of experience and well-practiced teams.

Coordinating with Members of Congress and other officials with access to the best and most up-to-date information, within 36 hours of the storm, we were first on the ground. In addition to being there first, we also recognized the importance of bringing in baby supplies to the people in these hard-hit locations. This included diapers, infant formula (of all kinds and for every age), baby bottles, special vitamins for pregnant and lactating mothers and children vitamins. We took care of more than 10,000 families in this way (of which some 34% had small children).

In this hour of need, Feed the Children rose to the challenge of helping us replenish substantial quantities of critically-needed items—24 pallets of material ranging from baby food and diapers to Clorox bleach and other cleaning supplies that were absolutely vital in the post-Sandy clean-up effort.

Our partnership with Feed the Children continues to make an enormous difference in the lives of New York’s most needy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My name is CB Beckwith. I have been the Vendor and Transportation Coordinator for Riverwalk Food Ministry located in Texas for the past 18 years. We have been with Feed the Chrildren, Inc, (FTC) for 18 years and have grown with them. Very sad to have to say our food ministry has just closed November 30, 2012 due to fininacial issues, but, I wanted to share how mportant FTC has been to the growth of this ministry. We have a food distribution every Tuesday morning that feeds approxumately 250 to 300 families weekly, (approxmately 50,000 annually). Without FTC we could not have continued to grow and feed the amount of people we have fed. Whether it is food, clothes, medical items, drinks, sheets, toys, coats and mittens we have always had a large crowd of people who need these items. The staff of FTC is very friendly, courteous and helpful and will assist you with whatever needs you have. As soon as they educate or train, If you will, us as the client how to handle all the paperwork getting it back to them in a timely manner certainly helps everyone invovled to get the job done. I have enjoyed working with FTC and wish them continued growth and success in doing the Lord's work in feeding the children. Thank you.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2012

more

Review from CharityNavigator
1 previous review
May 22, 2012

I run a troop support group in the OKC area which has been helped by Feed The Children on several occasions. I also worked with Feed The Children as a volunteer many, many years ago. In both cases, ... more

December 1, 2012

I first worked with Feed the Children back in the last 80's after my husband was killed in a car accident. Doing volunteer work was how I got out of my depression. They were great then and they are great now. Currently, my husband and I run a non profit in the OKC area and FTC have helped us on numerous occasions. They have donated product to help fill the care packages we sent out to troops in harm's way. I recommend Feed the Children as an organization with a heart for helping others.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012

I run a troop support group in the OKC area which has been helped by Feed The Children on several occasions. I also worked with Feed The Children as a volunteer many, many years ago. In both cases, my experiences have been nothing short of stellar. Feed The Children is a compassionate, caring organization of loving, dedicated people determined to meet the needs of the community....many communities. They have donated both money and goods to my agency, The Hugs Project, in order that we might help more military personnel both here and aboard. I have nothing but kind words for Feed The Children. We feel very blessed that they are home based in OKC.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

Review from CharityNavigator
1 previous review
May 23, 2012

My Name is Rick Rivera, my wife and I oversee our churches "Storehouse Ministry" we serve people in need in the north orange county area. Feed the Children has been a wonderful resource for our minist... more

November 30, 2012

Feed the Children has been a wonderful resource for our organization. Our Storehouse ministry distributes food to the north orange county community. Feed the children has enabled us to provide food and goods to single mothers, homeless and working poor. We deeply appreciate this organizations help in our mission to provide for those in need.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2012

My Name is Rick Rivera, my wife and I oversee our churches "Storehouse Ministry" we serve people in need in the north orange county area. Feed the Children has been a wonderful resource for our ministry. They have provided us many types of goods, which we then distribute to the community in need through our church's ministry. We provide food and goods to single mothers, senior citizens, homeless, working poor and the unemployed in our area. The need for this type of help is very high, and thanks to Feed the Children we are able to help.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

Feed the Children provides food, medical supplies, books, and household supplies at no cost to our Food Pantry to help our region's most desperate families. We are truly blessed to be associated with them and are grateful for all they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

My name is Alma L. Martinez, and I am the President and Founder of Amigos Sin Barreras/Friends Without Barriers, a non-profit organization serving persons living with HIV/AIDS. We have been fortunate to receive food items from Feed the Children, thus helping us feed over 500 men, women, and children living with HIV/AIDS. Their have been very helpful in responding to our needs, and our contact has been Ms. Ronda. She is wonderful!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

New Beginnings Christian Church has been helped by Feed The Children for years we recently gave 35 pounds of food too eight hundred familys in Kern County. FTC has helped us meet the needs of thousands of hurting and hungry people.I want to thank FTC for years of support and thank you that have supported this great non profit feed millions. Pastor Troy

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Feed the childrens is a great support for our program and with their help we can help the most needy in our city, thank you for your great help and support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 17, 2011

miracles ground intercessory prayer Homeless and prison ministry inc. is an organization that is committed to helping the poor and the needy. Through feed the children we are able to fulfil our missio... more

November 29, 2012

Feed The Children is an outstanding non profit organization that helps other organization like us to grow. Through their generous donations of food and numerous gift in kinds we were able to upgrade from ordinary food pantry to a major free food distributor to other food pantries and other organization that cater for the needy in New Jersey and New York . Everyday I pray for them. My God will continue to bless FTC and their workers and prosper them as they continue to help other organization grow from minimum to maximum in Jesus name.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 17, 2011

miracles ground intercessory prayer Homeless and prison ministry inc. is an organization that is committed to helping the poor and the needy. Through feed the children we are able to fulfil our mission. Their generous donation is amazing. we get truck loads of different kinds of items like juice, can goods, cream/lotion, clothes, water, medical supplies, furniture, office supplies, books, toiletries etc. without charging us like other agencies. feed the children has been a blessing to us. sometimes we give out cases of juice and energy bar to indvidual families. As a result we are able to meet the needs of more than 2,500 famillies/week. Our agency is now the best and the largest food pantry in Newark, NJ because we give out more products. May the God Almighty continue to strengten feed the children and reward them for the good work they are doing.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They are very organized and professional. they treat people equally. no partiality. Also generous.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

assist client-served financially. It has been extremely difficult for us to fund our program in terms of transportation and warehouse. I wish we can get financial assistance from the feed the children. or help us to get grant. we have been struggling to get grant to run the program without result. And unless somebody help us the struggle continues. pls help us. we are sinking in debt

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Distribute food to families during our food drops; help assemble food and personal care boxes at one of our distribution centers.