Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.815385
Write A Review
November 1, 2014

more

November 1, 2014

Feathered Friends Forever is a scam. It provides money to support their primary business which is selling guns & ammo under the name Birds ' Bullets. The place is filthy and mouse infested. The birds are fed an 80% sunflower diet. There is NO medical care provided for birds. Go and see this place before you send them a dime. You will be sickened
October 16, 2014

more


4 previous reviews - show all
May 29, 2014

After almost 9 years of volunteering I'm still amazed at the things this rescue can do for their parrots with minimal resources. The goal of getting every bird possible into a new outdoor aviary conti... more

October 16, 2014

Feathered Friends continues to expand outdoor aviaries to give permanent resident parrots the best possible environment. This requires a great deal of work by a small staff of volunteer Veterans. Birds are healthy and happy!
May 29, 2014

After almost 9 years of volunteering I'm still amazed at the things this rescue can do for their parrots with minimal resources. The goal of getting every bird possible into a new outdoor aviary continues to expand the facility. Each new aviary is slightly different, gaining new design ideas and custom modifications for the type birds who will be living there. The result is America's largest "flock" of happy, healthy parrots, many of whom were abandoned, abused or simply "dumped" without regard to what happened to them. While finding a loving adoptive home is the mission for each of the parrots here, the reality is money hungry breeders keep forcing more baby birds into an already overcrowded population. If you don't have room in your home for one of these incredible companions, please find room in your heart to make a donation of time or money to help them survive. It's all Tax Deductible.

They also work with scout groups and local school children by providing a safe, fun environment for community service and other projects. So far all the High School Senior projects done at Feathered Friends have resulted in an "A" or better!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more volunteers and more sponsors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2013

Feathered Friends is an amazing place, especially considering the very limited resources available. Birds are all healthy and well fed. Outdoor aviaries are being added to provide a real life flock environment and get parrots out of individual cages.

Seeing the success stories like Dakota
really reinforces the ability of this Rescue to help these endangered/exotic parrots live a better life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more volunteers and funding to finish outdoor aviaries faster!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

Feathered Friends Forever (.Org) is America's largest nonprofit Rescue and Sanctuary caring for over 1300 endangered/exotic birds of all sizes. It is staffed by 3 full time volunteers and a few 'weekend warriors', all unpaid, and provide the best possible care for all the birds under their care. The new outdoor habitats are amazing with running water, large feeders, mist cooling and infrared heat for the winter. Just watching the parrots in these aviaries makes all the time spent well worth it. The young volunteers really get a chance to learn about these beautiful birds in a safe environment. The newsletter is now written by some of the resident parrots and gives you a "bird's eye view" of what goes on there. Sign up, go visit, volunteer or sponsor a bird!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2010

Absolutely the best in the nation. 21 outdoor aviaries, birds are all happy and healthy. Staff there is great with visitors! Admission is by Donation and it's tax deductible. If you're ever in the Augusta, Georgia area visit them. It's only about 5 miles west of Ft. Gordon.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

many ways. Most important is learning proper ways to handle and care for these beautiful exotic parrots.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find ways to get more public exposure (PSA's, TV and media coverage) and get the word out that they need financial Help!

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the love you get back from each bird you work with!

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

all unpaid working because they love parrots, not profits.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

really expand so all 700 plus birds could have their own big aviary and life long care could be guaranteed.

Ways to make it better...

they had a pest control company volunteer to kill all the ants.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

lack of funding since it's all private donations. They don't get federal, state or other support like dog/cat shelters receive.

One thing I'd also say is that...

Ron Johnson deserves recognition for his tireless devotion of 12 years to make sure every abandoned parrot has a loving home.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

The folks that run Feathered Friends Forever are very caring towards the birds they take in. They have worked very hard to build outdoor houses for the different species that are weather appropriate for all year. They are always looking ahead anticipating their needs.
October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

Birds can be VERY MESSY but the companionship is out of this world! Please HELP!
October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

My experience with FFF was last winter when I spent a few months volunteering to help care for the birds. I stayed on the premises and got to see and help with the daily operations. The birds in their care are from many walks of life. Some are given up by people who have had various reasons of not being able to care for them any longer. FFF takes them in and provides a great home and care. They are allowed to be birds with the ability to fly in outdoor aviarys designed for their comfort and well being.
Ron and Tammy as well as the other full time volunteers are in tune with the needs of their charges. They do a great job and deserve the help and support of the public. My stay there was enjoyable and rewarding.
This non-profit is the largest exotic bird sanctuary in the US and depend solely on the donations of good Samaritans and bird lovers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 4, 2014

more


5 previous reviews - show all
October 19, 2013

I have been a volunteer at this rescue for more than 4 years and am continually amazed at the progress from year to year. Improved flights, better feeders, better water supply (continuous flowing foun... more

October 4, 2014

This is the largest Parrot Only Rescue in the entire U.S. There are currently more than 1,500 Parrots in residence here. Also, this is the only known Rescue that allows our fighting forces a place to care for their Parrots when they go on deployment and reunite with them when they return to the States. Most of the Parrots are in outside flights where they can be "birds" .
October 19, 2013

I have been a volunteer at this rescue for more than 4 years and am continually amazed at the progress from year to year. Improved flights, better feeders, better water supply (continuous flowing fountains) also heat for the winter cold, wind breaks, misting system for summer heat, etc. I have a Cockatoo that has been here for over 10 years and he is so happy that I would never want to take him away from all this.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find some way to increase donations so even more could be done to improve the conditions here by making more outdoor flights to allow the birds a measure of freedom like they so richly deserve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

Each new flight that is built has new features to make life better for the Parrot Residents. They have heat, cool, running water, winter wind walls, etc. To see the Parrots play and interact with other Parrots is just too cool!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2011

This is the largest "Parrot Only" rescue in the United States. It is currently home to more than 1,100 parrots that are in need of a place where they can be "a bird". There are new flights being built all the time as donations permit. Current style is to modify a double carport with the inclusion of water fountain, trees for climbing and hanging out on, feeders that are always full of delicious food items and protection from the elements in the form of misting systems to retard the heat, splash pool for bathing, heat for the cold weather, and wind breaks for keeping the chill down to endurable levels for them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Having 2 birds that have been here for several years due to my moving for work purposes I can see that they are well fed, happy as can be and couldn't dream of removing them from this environment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to secure better funding on a more even footing as well as get more volunteers for this very rewarding work.

June 12, 2010

I was moving quite often due to work, living in a travel trailer and had little room to allow both my birds to be with me. I sent my Moluccan Cockatoo to the Rescue 6 years ago. He has always been properly taken care of and has recently been placed in the new Cockatoo flight where he is so happy that I would never consider taking him back out. He has so much fun there. I also have a Goffins Cockatoo that I placed there Christmas of 2008. She was so glad to see me, when I arrived a few months later, that you would have thought she hadn't seen me for a year or more! She is inside where I play with her a little every day. Overall I would have to say that to the best of my knowledge there is no other "Rescue" that does as much for the birds and where so long as you support your bird, it will be there if your circumstances ever change to allow you the chance to have your bird in your home again.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

that I live and work at the Rescue since retiring.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 3, 2010

I have 2 birds at the rescue. 1 has been here for 5 years or so, the other one has been here for about 1 1/2 years. Both are healthy and happy being cared for and well fed.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

having brought birds here and seeing them thrive with the excellent level of care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

seek ways to make more people aware of the good work being done here and find a way to get more funding, or at least more consistant funding.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

seeing the level of care and concern for the birds well being.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

outstanding! They have all been most helpful and courteous.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Achieve the goals of its' founder and make this the best Parrot Rescue on the planet!

Ways to make it better...

there were more volunteers to help with some of the larger projects. And more funds donated to allow the projects to be done sooner.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

lack of sufficient funding to allow things to move along faster.

One thing I'd also say is that...

I feel strongly enough about the work that is being done here, and am such a lover of the parrots that when I retired I moved here to assist in whatever way I was capable of in order to take some of the load off the owner/operator of the rescue and others

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

FFF is where I learned the most about birds. The place was very easy to find, even though I know some still have trouble finding it. Thankfully they made new beautiful signs with arrows!

The staff was very knowledgeable about every bird there, I always had questions to ask and Ron or
Bob always knew the answer!

The birds all have a different past, but now have a forever home at FFF. I hope bird rescues will some day be federally funded like other house hold pets soon(dogs and cats).

If you get a chance to go, Please go and bring treats! But please make sure you ask how to properly feed those treats before you do!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move the rescue to California, so the people on the west coast had a bird rescue closer to home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

A lot of outdoor aviaries for Parrots of all breeds and sizes.
Attention to detail when it comes to designing and building the newest habitats which all have natural flowing water from a huge aquapontics system, misting systems and IR heating lamps to ensure proper temps. during the winter
months.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Eliminate all the unused building materials and piles of junk scattered throughout the property to give this place the professional appearance it deserves.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

Feathered Friends Forever provided my daughter a sanctuary to heal by volunteering with the birds. The people that run FFF are non judgemental and it is a great place to help out. They would look after her bird when we would go on trips to NJ to visit our family there and we always knew they would take very good care of her. There are so many needs that can be met by helping defenseless animals and this bird rescue is helping thousands of birds live out their natural lives in a wonderful environment. Go out and volunteer here! I highly recommend it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

send them more money so they can continue to do what they do best!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Like a strong table has 4 legs to hold it up Feathered Friends Forever has 4 pillars of strength to keep it going-Big Bird Ron, Tammy, Larry and Bob. The success is because of the daily endless hours of work, energy and expertise put forth by these 4 and the continuing help from organizations and individuals with their work, donations or both.
If you would like to see beautiful Parrots you could get a plane ticket to south America, Australia and New Zealand at a lot of expense to "Hope to get a glimpse" of some Parrots or you could come to this Rescue to have a guaranteed enjoyable visit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more individual teenagers and adults to volunteer and get to really know these birds as they do their family pet and perhaps that would kick off a whole new direction in life and make new friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers