Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
1234.82095
Write A Review
October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

My experience with FFF was last winter when I spent a few months volunteering to help care for the birds. I stayed on the premises and got to see and help with the daily operations. The birds in their care are from many walks of life. Some are given up by people who have had various reasons of not being able to care for them any longer. FFF takes them in and provides a great home and care. They are allowed to be birds with the ability to fly in outdoor aviarys designed for their comfort and well being.
Ron and Tammy as well as the other full time volunteers are in tune with the needs of their charges. They do a great job and deserve the help and support of the public. My stay there was enjoyable and rewarding.
This non-profit is the largest exotic bird sanctuary in the US and depend solely on the donations of good Samaritans and bird lovers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

This nonprofit does work for the abused and unwanted pet birds that no one wants. It fits a unique need in the community, and should be recognized for its great work.
October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

Never fail to impress me. Birds are very messy UNLESS you have a caring group to keep it sanitary and bird and visitor friendly.
See them about 2 to 4 times a month and always there is a professional caring air about them.
Worth your time and support for sure.
October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

Absolutely amazing bird rescue! It makes me feel so happy knowing so many birds are safe and loved!
October 4, 2014

more


5 previous reviews - show all
October 19, 2013

I have been a volunteer at this rescue for more than 4 years and am continually amazed at the progress from year to year. Improved flights, better feeders, better water supply (continuous flowing foun... more

October 4, 2014

This is the largest Parrot Only Rescue in the entire U.S. There are currently more than 1,500 Parrots in residence here. Also, this is the only known Rescue that allows our fighting forces a place to care for their Parrots when they go on deployment and reunite with them when they return to the States. Most of the Parrots are in outside flights where they can be "birds" .
October 19, 2013

I have been a volunteer at this rescue for more than 4 years and am continually amazed at the progress from year to year. Improved flights, better feeders, better water supply (continuous flowing fountains) also heat for the winter cold, wind breaks, misting system for summer heat, etc. I have a Cockatoo that has been here for over 10 years and he is so happy that I would never want to take him away from all this.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find some way to increase donations so even more could be done to improve the conditions here by making more outdoor flights to allow the birds a measure of freedom like they so richly deserve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

Each new flight that is built has new features to make life better for the Parrot Residents. They have heat, cool, running water, winter wind walls, etc. To see the Parrots play and interact with other Parrots is just too cool!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2011

This is the largest "Parrot Only" rescue in the United States. It is currently home to more than 1,100 parrots that are in need of a place where they can be "a bird". There are new flights being built all the time as donations permit. Current style is to modify a double carport with the inclusion of water fountain, trees for climbing and hanging out on, feeders that are always full of delicious food items and protection from the elements in the form of misting systems to retard the heat, splash pool for bathing, heat for the cold weather, and wind breaks for keeping the chill down to endurable levels for them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Having 2 birds that have been here for several years due to my moving for work purposes I can see that they are well fed, happy as can be and couldn't dream of removing them from this environment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to secure better funding on a more even footing as well as get more volunteers for this very rewarding work.

June 12, 2010

I was moving quite often due to work, living in a travel trailer and had little room to allow both my birds to be with me. I sent my Moluccan Cockatoo to the Rescue 6 years ago. He has always been properly taken care of and has recently been placed in the new Cockatoo flight where he is so happy that I would never consider taking him back out. He has so much fun there. I also have a Goffins Cockatoo that I placed there Christmas of 2008. She was so glad to see me, when I arrived a few months later, that you would have thought she hadn't seen me for a year or more! She is inside where I play with her a little every day. Overall I would have to say that to the best of my knowledge there is no other "Rescue" that does as much for the birds and where so long as you support your bird, it will be there if your circumstances ever change to allow you the chance to have your bird in your home again.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

that I live and work at the Rescue since retiring.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 3, 2010

I have 2 birds at the rescue. 1 has been here for 5 years or so, the other one has been here for about 1 1/2 years. Both are healthy and happy being cared for and well fed.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

having brought birds here and seeing them thrive with the excellent level of care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

seek ways to make more people aware of the good work being done here and find a way to get more funding, or at least more consistant funding.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

seeing the level of care and concern for the birds well being.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

outstanding! They have all been most helpful and courteous.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Achieve the goals of its' founder and make this the best Parrot Rescue on the planet!

Ways to make it better...

there were more volunteers to help with some of the larger projects. And more funds donated to allow the projects to be done sooner.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

lack of sufficient funding to allow things to move along faster.

One thing I'd also say is that...

I feel strongly enough about the work that is being done here, and am such a lover of the parrots that when I retired I moved here to assist in whatever way I was capable of in order to take some of the load off the owner/operator of the rescue and others

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 4, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 29, 2014

I have been with FFF for two years and I never cease to be amazed. They are strictly 501c3 and no one takes a salary, and they receive no government funding of any kind. They work only on donations.... more

October 4, 2014

How truly wonderful to know that all the birds are truly loved and cared for. We have over 1400 birds and the guys are constantly building new flights. We are a 501c3 and receive no funding of any kind. We rely strictly on donations. It is all about the birds. We find it hard to get grants because most people only think of fur bearing animals and not our feathered friends.
May 29, 2014

I have been with FFF for two years and I never cease to be amazed. They are strictly 501c3 and no one takes a salary, and they receive no government funding of any kind. They work only on donations. The birds are all happy in their flights, flying freely and interacting with each other. Ron's knowledge and caring never stops. We need to get more people to help the birds, as it's all about the birds.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know, Ron is constantly changing and improving things around the rescue as funds allow.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Birds are my passion. And to know that people actually abuse these beautiful creatures angers me to no end. Feathered Friends Forever is amazing. They truly love and care for the birds, their needs are met and then some. I admire Ron because no one takes a salary, it is all done for the love of the birds. There is no other funding except for donations. That's devotion.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

This place. Oh this place! I have never seen such a rescue. They take birds of all ages and stages. They restore the birds dignity. They raise awareness for birds that can outlive their humans by DECADES! They turn their dimes into dollars somehow and they always provide the best of love and care even if it means mangement goes hungry. This is one "rescue" that should really be labeled as heaven. The FIDS as they call them are loved individually for who they are AND as a whole for their species. I have never seen such dedicated volunteers or an owner. Truly a cut above the rest!
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I recently visited this facility and was advised they have 1500 birds spread out in screened carports distributed in a "Breaking Bad" style trailer park. Some cages referred to as flights contained over 100 birds. They are obviously very passionate about the birds, but I'm not sure they are better off in this location. It was not clean and neat, but it would be difficult to keep that many birds and be clean and neat. I would be concerned at the volume of birds, the amount of refuse and the potential for disease. They obtain funds from donors, boarders and volunteers and in kind donations. They do adopt out birds that are potential pets. Some are too aggressive or stressed to make good companions. I would be concerned about the stellar reviews posted on this site as they are not helpful overall in objectively rating this charity. The situation of bird sales in the US is absurd. As with other abandoned and abused pets, please think long term when you consider any pet for your home.
October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

FFF is where I learned the most about birds. The place was very easy to find, even though I know some still have trouble finding it. Thankfully they made new beautiful signs with arrows!

The staff was very knowledgeable about every bird there, I always had questions to ask and Ron or
Bob always knew the answer!

The birds all have a different past, but now have a forever home at FFF. I hope bird rescues will some day be federally funded like other house hold pets soon(dogs and cats).

If you get a chance to go, Please go and bring treats! But please make sure you ask how to properly feed those treats before you do!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move the rescue to California, so the people on the west coast had a bird rescue closer to home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

they take amazing care of the birds, and know just how to find them the right home. the bird picks the owner. its a little like harry potter shopping for a wand. and its the best way to do it. the only thing that caught us off guard was when we adopted our bird, the adoption fee was higher than we expected, but with that many beaks to feed, it is understandable.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers