Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.936515
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 16, 2014

more


4 previous reviews - show all
May 29, 2014

After almost 9 years of volunteering I'm still amazed at the things this rescue can do for their parrots with minimal resources. The goal of getting every bird possible into a new outdoor aviary conti... more

October 16, 2014

Feathered Friends continues to expand outdoor aviaries to give permanent resident parrots the best possible environment. This requires a great deal of work by a small staff of volunteer Veterans. Birds are healthy and happy!
May 29, 2014

After almost 9 years of volunteering I'm still amazed at the things this rescue can do for their parrots with minimal resources. The goal of getting every bird possible into a new outdoor aviary continues to expand the facility. Each new aviary is slightly different, gaining new design ideas and custom modifications for the type birds who will be living there. The result is America's largest "flock" of happy, healthy parrots, many of whom were abandoned, abused or simply "dumped" without regard to what happened to them. While finding a loving adoptive home is the mission for each of the parrots here, the reality is money hungry breeders keep forcing more baby birds into an already overcrowded population. If you don't have room in your home for one of these incredible companions, please find room in your heart to make a donation of time or money to help them survive. It's all Tax Deductible.

They also work with scout groups and local school children by providing a safe, fun environment for community service and other projects. So far all the High School Senior projects done at Feathered Friends have resulted in an "A" or better!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more volunteers and more sponsors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2013

Feathered Friends is an amazing place, especially considering the very limited resources available. Birds are all healthy and well fed. Outdoor aviaries are being added to provide a real life flock environment and get parrots out of individual cages.

Seeing the success stories like Dakota
really reinforces the ability of this Rescue to help these endangered/exotic parrots live a better life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more volunteers and funding to finish outdoor aviaries faster!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

Feathered Friends Forever (.Org) is America's largest nonprofit Rescue and Sanctuary caring for over 1300 endangered/exotic birds of all sizes. It is staffed by 3 full time volunteers and a few 'weekend warriors', all unpaid, and provide the best possible care for all the birds under their care. The new outdoor habitats are amazing with running water, large feeders, mist cooling and infrared heat for the winter. Just watching the parrots in these aviaries makes all the time spent well worth it. The young volunteers really get a chance to learn about these beautiful birds in a safe environment. The newsletter is now written by some of the resident parrots and gives you a "bird's eye view" of what goes on there. Sign up, go visit, volunteer or sponsor a bird!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2010

Absolutely the best in the nation. 21 outdoor aviaries, birds are all happy and healthy. Staff there is great with visitors! Admission is by Donation and it's tax deductible. If you're ever in the Augusta, Georgia area visit them. It's only about 5 miles west of Ft. Gordon.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

many ways. Most important is learning proper ways to handle and care for these beautiful exotic parrots.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find ways to get more public exposure (PSA's, TV and media coverage) and get the word out that they need financial Help!

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the love you get back from each bird you work with!

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

all unpaid working because they love parrots, not profits.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

really expand so all 700 plus birds could have their own big aviary and life long care could be guaranteed.

Ways to make it better...

they had a pest control company volunteer to kill all the ants.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

lack of funding since it's all private donations. They don't get federal, state or other support like dog/cat shelters receive.

One thing I'd also say is that...

Ron Johnson deserves recognition for his tireless devotion of 12 years to make sure every abandoned parrot has a loving home.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

This charity goes "above" and far "beyond" to help their "guests" that live there on site.

As for us - the guests who visit - we are taught so very much about these exotic birds, spend time visiting, assisting with simple duties as needed, and try to support financially whenever
possible.

They do NEED so many more monetary and other donations though and I'd like to add this to my review as some people just have NO idea of the cost it takes to care for over 1400 (+) different species of birds. It is my hope that more will join in support and / or visit to learn more and simply enjoy a wonderful outing!
October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

The folks that run Feathered Friends Forever are very caring towards the birds they take in. They have worked very hard to build outdoor houses for the different species that are weather appropriate for all year. They are always looking ahead anticipating their needs.
October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

They help unwanted and abused parrots by rehabilitation and rescue. Parrots are a neglected casualty of the pet trade. We need more organizations like Feathered Friends Forever.
October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

This group is a great bunch of people who care very much for their Feathered Friends. Job well done.
October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

Birds can be VERY MESSY but the companionship is out of this world! Please HELP!
October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

My experience with FFF was last winter when I spent a few months volunteering to help care for the birds. I stayed on the premises and got to see and help with the daily operations. The birds in their care are from many walks of life. Some are given up by people who have had various reasons of not being able to care for them any longer. FFF takes them in and provides a great home and care. They are allowed to be birds with the ability to fly in outdoor aviarys designed for their comfort and well being.
Ron and Tammy as well as the other full time volunteers are in tune with the needs of their charges. They do a great job and deserve the help and support of the public. My stay there was enjoyable and rewarding.
This non-profit is the largest exotic bird sanctuary in the US and depend solely on the donations of good Samaritans and bird lovers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

This nonprofit does work for the abused and unwanted pet birds that no one wants. It fits a unique need in the community, and should be recognized for its great work.
October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

Never fail to impress me. Birds are very messy UNLESS you have a caring group to keep it sanitary and bird and visitor friendly.
See them about 2 to 4 times a month and always there is a professional caring air about them.
Worth your time and support for sure.
October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

Absolutely amazing bird rescue! It makes me feel so happy knowing so many birds are safe and loved!
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers